We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vine Cottage B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vine Cottage B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 Rowde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed at Vine Cottage for 2 nights towards the end of March. We stayed in the Pink Room which was lovely and comfortable. A lot of thought had been given to what might be needed by guests and it was all there, including a bowl of fresh fruit!
Breakfast was delicious and cooked to order. Best scrambled eggs I have ever had from the house hens. The homemade lemon curd was scrummy also.
Mary and Ben welcomed us when we arrived and nothing was too much trouble for them. They are a font of knowledge about the local area and more than willing to impart their knowledge if you ask. I would thoroughly recommend Vine Cottage to anyone who likes a warm wlecome, comfortable and relaxed surroundings and to be completely spoilt during their stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pink Room on the first floor but there is also a room on the ground floor for anyon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
55
10
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

My partner and I stayed at Vine Cottage B&B for one night on Saturday 17th March. We appreciated being able to book for just one night because many hotels and B&Bs in the area required a minimum booking of 2 nights. When we arrived, the owners Ben and Mary welcomed us personally and made us feel at home straight away. We stayed in the Green Room which was small but quaint with exposed beams on the walls. Despite the age of the cottage, the room was not old fashioned – there was a flat screen TV on the wall and the bathroom was modern with a powerful (although noisy!) shower.

The owners could not do enough to help us during our stay. When we asked about the best places to eat, Ben telephoned the local restaurant and organised a table for us. Mary asked the reason for our visit and when I told her it was to celebrate my birthday, there was a present and card waiting on the breakfast table for me in the morning. This was such a lovely touch. They chatted to us throughout breakfast which made us feel like guests in their home rather than customers for their business. The breakfast was excellent – made to order with eggs from the B&B’s hens and other homemade products such as lemon curd and preserves. The B&B also had a sauna which we could use for no extra cost, but we did not get time.

The B&B is in the centre of the local village, Rowde. It is small and quiet but it has a nice restaurant where we ate – The George and Dragon (tasty but pricey, specialising in seafood) – a few pubs, and a village shop. There was also a series of locks on the river that ran through the village which was an impressive sight and pretty to walk around. We enjoyed feeling like we were in the countryside but knowing that we were not far from Bath (it took about 40 minutes to drive there).

We could not have asked for better hospitality for a relaxing and romantic stay. We would definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dandi_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed here for one night on a 4 day cycling trip - attracted by the prospect of a sauna after a long day in the saddle, which was absolute bliss! As well as the sauna - which is free for all guests to use - the room was big with a good powerful shower, spotlessly clean and very homely. Most of all though - the owners Mary & Ben are so friendly - it felt like staying with friends rather than at a hotel. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bozamund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Lovely, delightful B & B set back in the village of Rowde. Warm welcome and pleasant room.
I was very pleased with this find and look forward to staying again. The room I had...because it was the cheapest for single occupancy was the easy access room on the ground floor adjacent to the front entrance. It was quiet and easy to have a good night's sleep. Whilst some might think as a doble room it was rather small...it had a quaint cottage feel which I enjoyed.

Room Tip: The ground floor blue easy access room is very good for disabled...the shower equally is suitable fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelaurauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

I would highly recommend this well equipped, comfortable and clean B & B. Welcoming and friendly, Ben and Mary make your stay a real treat. Excellent breakfast and nothing is too much trouble, great attention to detail I will be staying again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowde
3.2 km away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#2 of 4 in Devizes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
3.1 km away
The Bear Hotel Market Place
3.0 km away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#4 of 4 in Devizes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
1.5 km away
Avalon Lodge Bed & Breakfast
4.9 km away
Blounts Court Farm
Blounts Court Farm
#3 of 23 in Devizes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vine Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vine Cottage B&B

Property: Vine Cottage B&B
Address: 26 Bunnies Lane, Rowde, Devizes SN10 2QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Devizes > Rowde
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rowde
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,417 - ₹ 7,850
Hotel Class:4 star — Vine Cottage B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet country lane in Rowde, we provide an eco friendly environment without comprimising on quality. Our king room can accommodate a family of 3 with a folding bed. Our twin is on the ground floor. We have freeview TV/DVDs, FREE WiFi and you can also use our sauna and garden. We provide an excellent breakfast with own free range eggs and exclusive to Vine Cottage - "Bens mess". We can also provide vegetarian and gluten free options. Our guest lounge can provide a wonderful relaxing place to sit and meet friends with winter log fires. There is an extensive library for you to help yourself for a charitable donation to the RNLI. We are are proud of our awards, including new for 2015 tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence (5/5) and AA 4 stars + breakfast award. We look forward to adding you to large amount of returning guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Vine Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing