We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Magical holiday in this beautiful cortijo, full...”
other travellers have booked this property
Beautiful location of Finca al-manzil in the Sierra de Montanchez
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful location of Finca al-manzil in the Sierra de Montanchez
Time for a siesta cortijo veranda
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
3 reviews
Beautiful location of Finca al-manzil in the Sierra de Montanchez
Time for a siesta
cortijo veranda
The swimming pool set into the sierra
Great decoration !
Donkey riding on  the finca
Fantastic roof terrace with view of the sierra
Really big sitting room at the cortijo
Gorgeous scenery
Bedroom with roof terrace and views of the magical mountain
The cortijo with peaks of the sierra in background
Lovely dining terrace
Dive into the super pool surrounded by the peaceful sierra
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Montanchez, Province of Caceres, Extremadura

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
caroline...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Magical holiday in this beautiful cortijo, full of character and style”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We spend 2 weeks at the Cortijo of Finca al-manzil at the beginning of May. Already quite hot but the house kept very cool with thick shutters and good insulation. The pool was divine and we spent most afternoons there, evenings under the stars dining outside on the great dining terrace. Kitchen was full of lovely dishes and kitchen ware to make each meal special, lots of cook books too. As to books, there were thousands, a wonderful collection, a nice ipod dock too. We loved staying in this eco friendly house, everything working efficiently with the big impressive photo-voltaic system. The walking and bird watching were a delight. We had breakfast with the azure winged magpies and dinner with the nightingales. Simply a very special holiday with unforgettable memories. Thanks to Pippa and Manfred for all their attention to detail, help and advice, very friendly but discreet, we felt completely private and tranquil in our own little world.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amazing bird watching and the lovely walks
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location Stunning, but challenged by energy supply.”
Reviewed 11 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

July is much too hot to stay here, and that mistake was entirely ours!
The location, setting and tranquility of the large and grand Cortjio property are all amazing! Sadly, however, we did not feel welcome. The continual emphasis on the necessity to use power frugally really impinged on our enjoyment of what was an expensive venue and was mutually exclusive with provision of the digital TV, DVD player, washing machine, pool (with necessary filtration unit) and indoor and outdoor lighting for a large property with 3 double en-suite bedrooms. Not to mention the wifi which is also provided, but which is useless without all the necessary power-consuming hardware accompanying guests interested in using it. The bottom line is that the solar power generation and the power hungry facilities supplied at the house are clearly at odds. The worry of over- using power really did spoil the enjoyment of our holiday and must have been unnecessary since we were only 3 in number, in a property advertised for 6 people. The 1st floor bedroom was exceedingly hot in July and we were requested to limit the use of the fan to about an hour a night. We had to resort to covering ourselves in wet towels in order to sleep! The house notes were not written in a friendly way and offered virtually no local knowledge or recommendations. These notes really do need to be re- written urgently.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, tranquility size of property
Liked least: Lack of power, Luke-warm welcome
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2015
I have only just noticed this review and feel it very necessary to respond. The family of 3 who stayed at the cortijo in July 2014 left some very flattering remarks in my guest book so this review is even more mysterious. They seemed perfectly happy and did not say a negative word about the cortijo or the finca. By the way, as to the reference of an expensive holiday, they did in fact get a discount as there were only 3 and not 6.
We had many friendly chats and provided them with bikes (never actually used as they alway got up so late, of course it was too hot to do anything by 11.00)
I think they were unsuited to a hot summer and not prepared to adapt their timetable to accommodate the climate. A pity that they don't seem to have reaped the full glory of an Extremadura summer, early rising to enjoy the cool mornings, a cool siesta in the afternoon and looking forward to long balmy starry nights.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Reviewed 2 January 2013 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and beauty of the surroundings
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 236
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing