We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful location, cosy cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Spinney Farm Alpacas
Fantastic views
View from the front door
Living room
Kitchen
Bathroom
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bonsall, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Johnsons1...
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, cosy cottage”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed here as 2 adults and 2 children aged 6 and 5 years for a week in the Easter holidays. We wanted somewhere rural and quiet and yet in easy reach of attractions in the area and that's what we got! Perfect for visiting surrounding area. Cottage not large but perfect for a family. Beautifully looked after, clean, well equipped, We were lucky to have lambs running around in the field adjoining the cottage garden. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No Wi-Fi or internet signal at all
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul a
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“comfortable warm and safe”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This barn convertion has been done very well, and the finishes are exelent, its a little bit out of town, so 1.6 miles of single tract road can be difficult when you meet oncoming traffic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Underfloor heating, power shower.
Liked least: no wifi.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bikesanbe...
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“what an idyilic cottage, heaven sent”
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My wife and i traveled with my elderly mother in law, for a three night break, we arrived on the Saturday afternoon at three o clock, others had left the cottage at ten that morning, Norma the owner had all ready told me she had a busy day on the Saturday, not only with the cleaning of the cottage but with the sheep as well, the cottage was spotlessly clean throughout and was nice and warm with the underfloor heating set at a nice temperature. the fixtures and fittings were of a high quality throughout the house, in all honesty we wanted for nothing, cups, mugs, plates, cutlery, pots and pans, iron and ironing board, Henry the hoover if you wished to use it, washing machine it was all there.the location of the cottage is above Bonsal village, sat alone a few hundred yards from the owners farm, its fantastic for walkers, head off in any direction you wish and your in the country side. Matlock, Bakewell, Chatsworth, " to name but a few" are all in easy reach. you can walk to Bonsal and Cromford and Matlock very easily..
we have nothing negative to say about the cottage and its location, we loved it. will go back later in the year and stay a little longer. thank you Norma for the walk around the farm, we all loved it,especially the little lambs.thanks for a wonderful stay in your beautiful cottage. definitely going back later in the year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
81ann
warwickshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage fantastic veiws.”
Reviewed 25 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Did take us a bit to find it but that might have been our tom -tom when we did it was just lovely , and the views , and the peace and quite made it a lovely holiday .Hope to return in the summer to try more walks .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The peace and veiws
Liked least: just never seen no wild life
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARYLOUES...
ESSEX
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation surrounded by beautiful scenery.”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have just returned from a glorious week staying in this beautiful barn conversion. It was spotlessly clean on arrival, my daughters first words were, 'You could eat your dinner in that bathroom sink', that's how clean it was. It is fully equipped with everything you would need & is a home from home.

The renovations have been done sympathetically & to a high standard, making it feel like a home from home. The surrounding countryside is beautiful & the village of Bonsall a joy, evoking memories of days gone by.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing