We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a large family meal”
Review of The New Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Appletreewick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The New Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2017

They catered for our party of 22 expertly. We were having a family meal with some very particular characters and it could not have been better. The service was quick, the food excellent and all the staff were exceptionally friendly.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Chairma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2017

Stopped here for an evening meal with family members. Excellent real ale, complimented by excellent home made food from kind and friendly staff. We would highly recommend this pub to anyone walking past the door or travelling locally to stop in.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdexley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here after our first day walking the dales way - great location pub was a real pub not some manufacturing interpretation of a pub - friendly staff food lovely and plenty of it . Great selection of beers , dog friendly , family friendly .
Rooms were clean , no telly but you are not here to watch telly no hair dryer but to be fair I did not notice , but my wife did recommended will go back for sure

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

8 of us stayed here when doing the Way of the Roses in June 2017 and cannot recommend The New Inn highly enough. Comfy beds at a reasonable price, good food, excellent beer and very friendly staff. We were also very pleased with the secure bike storage.

Room Tip: Book early and call during the pub opening hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

My partner and were staying at masons campsite and walked to the new inn for a few drinks and an evening meal, we walked past the first pub as it was very busy and came to the new inn. We was pleased that we were able to sit outside with the beautiful scenery.
I was perplexed when I went to the bar to get a food menu, I was told that I could order and eat outside but if sat on the other side of the road could only order off the basket menu. I was told that we could not eat inside as they had very large parties booked in which is fair enough. So we crossed over the road to the pub side and went to order off the main menu, when trying to order I was told that I couldn't as fully booked, however I explained that I had been given the menus earlier and told we could eat outside. After asking how many people I was allowed to order. The food did not take long, was home made, a good price and tasted delicious. The waitress / waiter were both very friendly however I did feel unwelcome ordering food. If we weren't camping and in need of an evening meal, we may have not bothered.
Whilst we waited for out food we watched many families and couples come away from the pub disappointed as they were not allowed to eat in our out of the pub as it was fully booked.
Whilst we sat and enjoyed our meal we couldn't help but discuss how many disappointed locals and tourists had walked away between 6-7pm and thought about why this pub was empty and how the management and staff could make it reach its full potential.
On the way back to the campsite we walked past the other pub which was still very busy.
Something to think about I guess in terms of accepting large parties and maximising opportunities, oh and not upsetting loyal locals as you will need them in winter.
Tip for campers / tourists book a table.

Overall would we enjoyed our meal and would visit again and book a table, although not sure I would say the same if we hadn't been allowed a meal.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sarhan001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appletreewick
2.3 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
820 reviews
2.2 km away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
7.2 km away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Black Horse Hotel
Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grassington
133 reviews
6.3 km away
The Devonshire Hotel
The Devonshire Hotel
#2 of 2 in Grassington
141 reviews
9.1 km away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#1 of 1 in Hetton
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn

Address: Main Street, Appletreewick, Yorkshire Dales National Park BD23 6DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Appletreewick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Appletreewick
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a traditional country pub in the heart of The Yorkshire Dales, with 6 newly refurbished en-suite letting rooms. We offer good home cooked pub grub and an excellent choice of ales. Our views are spectacular, making us the perfect haven for escaping the hustle and bustle of everyday life. So pay us a visit and you can expect a warm Dales welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing