We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great modern hotel in a superb location”
Review of The Dukes Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dukes Retreat
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Khandala
Certificate of Excellence
Ubud, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great modern hotel in a superb location”
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We spent two days at Dukes and enjoyed every moment of it - rooms are super clean and modern, views are incredible, service is a little bit slow but friendly. Nice big swimming pool, great open air cafes!

Our favorite part of the resort is their High Point Bar - it's so cozy inside so that you just don't want to leave :) If they add a fireplace instead and some extra decor - it will be a killer!

Food is somewhat overpriced but it's tolerable since everything else is so great.

I would highly recommend this place to all Mumbaikars or Punekars who wish to take a rest from noise and hassle.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DenisDuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RahulKanungo, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, 15 November 2010
Hi Denis

Thanks for your precious time to offer your feedback on the Dukes Retreat A Keys Resort .
We would love to invite you over a drink at the Hi Point Bar . PLease let me know when are you planning your next trip to Khandala.

Cheers !!!

Rahul Kanungo
General Manager
rahul.kanungo@keyshotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    390
    82
    26
    31
See reviews for
355
189
5
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

my husband and i decided to make one last monsoon break to khandala...during monsoons the surrounding destinations of mumbai are amazing.... lush green with cloudy mountains and number of water falls...we selected dukes for the location...which is very nice---our room was bang opposite a great waterfall...but the hotel is not well kept at all....the pool was under repair...we were kept waiting for more than an hour for the room to get ready...the food was just ok....the garden is very untidely kept... and the hotel needs a great renovation....our room was spacious but the furnishing was very basic....the spa is not worth a mention...

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KALPANA003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RahulKanungo, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, 11 November 2010
Dear Madam ,

Thank you for being with us at the Dukes Retreat A Keys Resort . We apologise for the delay in offering the room to you since we have had a few late check out which was the reason for the room not being ready on time and we had to take the Pool under maintenance due to some urgent repair work which was a safety concern .

We made a note of your suggestion on the maintenence of the Garden , food and the same has been taken up with concerned executives . I am sure you will find drastic improvement on these front during your next trip to the Dukes.

We look forward to your visit to the Dukes Retreat and we assure you a comfortable and rejuvenating stay . Please let me know when are you planning to visit us .

with regards

Rahul Kanungo
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

On the crest of a hill with clouds clouding everything around except you, a great retreat from the hustle of the Mumbai city. The beauty is at its best in the monsoons and then the rest is all forgotten. The rooms need an urgent revamp and the chefs also need a bit more training on hand specially on anything other than India cuisine. The gardens also need better gardeners to keep the greens better specially in the rains. But everything else is forgotten when you have clouds engulfing the complete property. The location beats everything and all the properties in the vicinity.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank motwani_manish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RahulKanungo, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, 24 November 2010
Dear Mr. Manish

Greetings from Dukes Retreat A Keys Resort !!!

We thank you for your precious time to offer your feedback on the different aspect of the Resort . It is a pleasure to know that you and family have had a good time and we look forward to your visit in the near future. We want to inform you that the Rooms are renovated and one can enjoy the fantastic view of the Valley from the rooms specially from the Deluxe rooms . With an extended monsoon the weather remain great with rains , mists and clouds . We have also noted your feedback on the arden Maintenance and the same has been taken up with our Chief Gardener and I am sure you will be experiencing a new Dukes during your next visit .

Once again we thank you for patronizing Dukes Retreat and we Look forward to welcome you and your family at the Dukes .

regards

Rahul Kanungo
General Manager
rahul.kanungo@keyshotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Quite easily the best hotel in Khandala - offers excellent food, service and ambience. On a good day it is only 90 mins by car from Bombay. The rooms themselves are excellent with all amenities you can expect from a 5-star. No complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Invidious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RahulKanungo, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, 24 November 2010
Dear Guest

Greetings from Dukes Retreat A Keys Resort,

We thank you for patronizing the Resport and also for your valuable time to offer your feedback on the various aspects of the Resort . It is truly a nice feeling to understand that you have had an excellent stay and we , the Dukes team look forward to serve you and your acquintances in the near future .

warm regards

Rahul Kanungo
General Manager
rahul.kanungo@keyshotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2010

We stayed here for 2 days. We roomed around the place as everything is closeby from the hotel. Rooms were very clean and neat. Food was great. Recommended hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank right97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RahulKanungo, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, 24 November 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for being with us and your precious time to offer your feedback on the Resort. Great to know that you have had a comfortable stay .
We also wanted to inform you that the Rooms are renovated and the new rooms are modern , cheerful and fresh . I am sure you will love them when you visit Dukes again.

Look forward to your visit to the Dukes

Warm regards

Rahul Kanungo
General Manager
rahul.kanungo@keyshotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khandala
3.5 km away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
10.9 km away
The Machan
The Machan
#4 of 67 in Lonavala
866 reviews
4.4 km away
Rhythm Lonavala
Rhythm Lonavala
#5 of 67 in Lonavala
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Zara's Resort
Zara's Resort
#2 of 6 in Khandala
197 reviews
4.5 km away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
2.2 km away
Mystica Resort
Mystica Resort
#3 of 6 in Khandala
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dukes Retreat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukes Retreat

Property: The Dukes Retreat
Address: Pune Mumbai Road, Khandala, Lonavala 410301, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Pune District > Lonavala > Khandala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Khandala
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,150 - ₹ 15,274
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dukes Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dukes Retreat at Khandala is not more than a 15 minute picturesque drive away from Lonavala. The resort is a landmark located 1850 ft. above sea level. Keys Khandala is spread across 11 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, valley-view and the mesmerizing Western Ghats. The property benefits from being set in the lap of the flora of the region and nestles amidst waterfalls, nature trails and winding forest paths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelGuru, MakeMyTrip, Agoda, Yatra and ClearTrip so you can book your The Dukes Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dukes Retreat Hotel Khandala
The Dukes Retreat Khandala, Maharashtra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing