We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Dukes Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dukes Retreat
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Khandala
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
1 review
“location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

acording to me this is very good property i n khandala i visit one day back
my family enjoy there compalete trip at the same time june & july weather is very good

stroy of property :-

this property on hill top u can see all khandala at the same time its on pune express highway
so its very easy to travel any where mumbai or pune u can go from both place but u must stay at list two days at dues than u can enjoy

Room Tip: norath room r very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kuldeepc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor community.

We are delighted to know that you had a memorable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes,
Athena Kaul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    369
    76
    23
    28
See reviews for
328
179
5
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012 via mobile

I had arrived at Khandala from Mumbai with a lady friend for a two day getaway in the first week of July 2012. Its a hr and 45 mins drive from Mumbai and feels like a completely different world altogether. The Duke's Retreat had been highly recommended by one of my friends. Our two days of stay here has attested to the fact. The location of Duke's is one of the best I have seen. Set high in the hills of Khandala, most of the rooms have a breathtaking view of the beautiful and picturesque landscape of Khandala/Lonavala. We had stayed in one of the deluxe rooms which was beautifully designed and had a huge glass window facing the landscape that we literally seemed to be amongst the clouds. The services of this hotel are top notch.. The lovely swimming pool and an open air restaurant deserve special mention. Nothing like dining amongst the clouds and the greenery. There seems to be a problem of frequent electricity outages in Khandala but this hotel has a solid backup available, so no issues there. The GM of Duke's, Athena Kaul, personally interacted with us and took suggestions to make the already fabulous experience better. She deserves accolades for leading such a fine and dedicated team. The only probable downside of the trip was that it came to an end after two days. Will definitely come back here at the next given opportunity.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amitvyas2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community.

Each of us at Dukes are overjoyed to read your heart warming review.Your generous compliments have been shared with the entire team for whom this will be a tremendous source of inspiration. It was indeed a pleasure meeting you and we have shared your suggestions with the relevant teams.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and assure you of our best service and attention at all times.

Best wishes,
Athena Kaul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

Excellent property with the most amazing view in Lonavala / Khandala locality. Wonderful experience with regards to hospitality. All credit to the GM (Ms. Athena Kaul) and her team. Surely gonna visit pretty soon. Cheers !

Room Tip: Deluxe Rooms are the best bet !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community.

All of us are delighted to know that your stay was comfortable. Your appreciation is heart warming and motivates each one of us to scale new heights in our service standards.
I am glad you and your family could take back fond memories of the hotel with you.

We look forward to your return and assure you of our best service and attention at all times.

Best wishes,
Athena Kaul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

The location is the usp. The resort ambience created enhances the experience further. Prompt room service . Only thing that doesn't justify the 5 star like pricing and infact dampens the entire experience is the food and the disorganised service at the open air sitout. Lack of management, no attention to detais in the f & b department. Surely can be improved alot to provide a holistic experience.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community.

We appreciate your feedback and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations in a few areas. We have shared your valuable feedback with the relevant teams in our hotel and assure you of a better experience the next time.

We await the opportunity to welcome and serve you once again.

Best wishes,
Athena Kaul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
207 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

This is probably one of the best locations in Khandala; rooms on the edge of the hill overlooking the table top mountain. Fantastic during rains as you can see the fountain and hills with lush green coatings all around. With the frequent surroundings of thick clouds the place becomes mystic at times. I have stayed in this place both during the rains and winters and those are the ideal times to visit this place. The rooms are nice and renovated with some of the rooms having balcony overlooking the beautiful mountain range.
The restaurant and the bar are nice with good options. The pool is on the top level and though it is small but cute one. One can visit some of the points nearby and adventurous one can go for trekking around.
The staffs are friendly and affable and are eager to help the guests. The place is ideal for 2-3 days vacation in the midst of calm and serene environment. Though the facility looks slightly pricey but worth an attempt for a short leisurely trip.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sghosh1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Dukes Retreat- A KEYS Resort, Khandala!

Thank you for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community.

We feel inspired and proud to read your wonderful review. All of us are delighted to know that your stay was enjoyable. Your appreciation and reccomendation is truly rewarding for each one of us.I am glad you could take back fond memories of your experience.

We look forward to your return and assure you of our best service and attention at all times.

Best wishes,
Athena Kaul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khandala
3.5 km away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
10.9 km away
The Machan
The Machan
#3 of 67 in Lonavala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
4.5 km away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Rhythm Lonavala
Rhythm Lonavala
#4 of 67 in Lonavala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.4 km away
Zara's Resort
Zara's Resort
#2 of 6 in Khandala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
4.3 km away
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
#6 of 67 in Lonavala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dukes Retreat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukes Retreat

Property: The Dukes Retreat
Address: Pune Mumbai Road, Khandala, Lonavala 410301, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Lonavala > Khandala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Khandala
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,325 - ₹ 12,965
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dukes Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dukes Retreat at Khandala is not more than a 15 minute picturesque drive away from Lonavala. The resort is a landmark located 1850 ft. above sea level. Keys Khandala is spread across 11 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, valley-view and the mesmerizing Western Ghats. The property benefits from being set in the lap of the flora of the region and nestles amidst waterfalls, nature trails and winding forest paths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ClearTrip, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Dukes Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dukes Retreat Hotel Khandala
The Dukes Retreat Khandala, Maharashtra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing