We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect destination for all age” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dukes Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Dukes Retreat
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Khandala
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Perfect destination for all age”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Excellent location equipped with inhouse entertainment for all. gym pool and spa. And the spread of buffet is excellent too.The rooms are spacious and has a breathtaking valley view. Overall it is a perfect place for relaxation. It also gives u an access to
Lonavala which is very closeby. A drive in between the valley gives one an opportunity to drop behind the bag of pressure home. overall guys its a home away from home with all the luxury and pamper. so enjoy what r u waiting for book now.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank perfectio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RahulKanungo, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Perfectio

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you have had a comfortable stay and happy with all the services provided during your stay.

Khandala is truly a great experience specially driving through the roads in the old Khandala.

Next time when you are around we will introduce to Veeru who is our guide and he can take you along the terrain to the most remote corners of the Hills where you can enjoy breathtaking view of the Sayahadri range

Look forward to your visit to Dukes

regards

Rahul Kanungo - rahul.kanungo@keyshotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    365
    76
    23
    28
See reviews for
324
176
5
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
146 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Duke's Retreat has the advantage of the best location in Khandala. The rooms are absolutely amazing and well designed. The upkeep is very good and there is no cause for complaint on that parameter.
The larger rooms have a small patio which makes for a lovely place for your morning cuppa or a sundowner. Overall a delightful place to recharge.
The pool is large and nice as is the delightfully located gym for the morning workout. The restaurants have a great view. The staff is helpful but a bit more training would not be amiss.

However, for a resort of this price range, I thought the food quality was awful. They had a wide range of offerings but nothing stood out and more often than not I survived on salads and fruits with some sandwiches to go along. The conference rooms are nice however the systems have not been upgraded to today's times and an improvement here is overdue.

But all in all, still worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunilRShetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RahulKanungo, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Sunil R Shetty

Thank you for your precious time to offer your feedback. We are extremely glad to know that you have had a comfortable stay with us and really liked the rooms and other facilities.

We also made a note of your feedback regarding the food and the same was shared with my colleagues in the Food production department and the menus are revisited. I am sure you will enjoy your meal at the Dukes when you visit us again.

We as a practice do take the feedback of the Group and Mr. Mehta who was the coordinating with us gave us a very positive feedback about the food. Had we know your food preferences, our chefs would have more than delighted to cook for you.

Will be looking forward to your visit to Dukes again and this time we will ensure that you enjoy the food also

Best regards

Rahul Kanungo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

The moment you enter the hotel, at the reception area, you are welcomed by a gentle flow of fresh air. The hotel perched on top of a hill has the most fantastic and exclusive view of khandala which no other hotel here can boast of. In fact the hotel is made in a way, where the entrance is actualy the fourth floor, and all other rooms are located below (similar to the hotels in Simla) rooms are very clean and the entire property is well kept. I loved the pool. All restaurants have a breathtaking view. The food has a wide spread but could defi taste better.

All in all, worth the view!

Room Tip: stay away from rooms 18 series onwards (118,218,318) as they dont offer a great view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zubinnalawalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RahulKanungo, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Dear Mr. Zubin

Greetings from Dukes Retreat.

We thank you for being with us and also for your time to share your feedback about the property.
We are extremely happy to note that you and family have had a very comfortable stay.

We will be looking forward to see you in monsoon when the Khandala is at its best. The rain, mist and the clouds converts this corner of the country into a different place all to gather.

Regards

Rahul Kanungo

rahul.kanungo@keyshotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

I visited for a conference after so many years on 17 March. The rooms had all the charm after so many years. However low on staff, they seem to have hired some uneducated people as waiters . While food was good some funny examples of uneducated waiters. On breakfast, when I asked for milk tea, I was told to call room service. The butter Naan was uncooked at lunch actually made me sick. I had told the server (same who told me to order room service at breakfast) that it was kuccha but almost force served me saying aisa he hota hai. I was getting late hence ate it resulting in sickness.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AjitJoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RahulKanungo, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Dear Mr. Joshi

Greetings from Dukes Retreat.

We thank you for being with us after such a long duration and we are happy that you found the resort facilities to your liking.

We made a note of your feedback on the services being offered at the Duchess restaurant and the quality of bread being served and the same were shared with my colleagues.

Unfortunately it was one of the aspiring hotel management student who attended your request and could not offer the level of service, usually offered by Dukes in normal course and we will ensure that the level of service is maintained in the resort.

I apologies for the same and look forward to your visit to Dukes Retreat.

Regards

Rahul Kanungo
rahul.kanungo@keyshotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Wen I first went to dukes retreat I came across a very very friendly staff his name was Yasser !!! Must say dis man has talent and knows how to define customer service !!! Because of his warm and friendly welcome I planned several trips to dukes but my last and final trip to dukes turned out to be very sour because mr Yasser was on leave and in his absence it was mr. Girish !!! Who do rude and arrogant dat u Wouldnt like to come here again !!! It was a very humiliating experience !!! But the place is excellent wid excellent staff like Yasser except for Mr. Girish !!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alizscool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RahulKanungo, General Manager at The Dukes Retreat, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Dear Mr. Ali

First of all we would like to thank you for your precious time to offer your feedback over the phone and we are extremely sorry for the inconvenience caused to you.

I had personally investigated the same and your feedback was taken up with the concerned Manager.

Since your last visit was on a special day ( 14th February, 2012 ) , the adhoc rate which was offered earlier could not be extended . However we have updated your profile in our system and we will ensure best possible rates extended to you during your visit to Dukes.

Please let me know when you intend to visit dukes again and it will be a pleasure to meet you in person

Once again I apologies for the same and look forward to your visit to Dukes Retreat.

PLease do not miss the opportunity to visit dukes during the monsoon which is a real feast to the eye and heart.

Regards

Rahul Kanungo
rahul.kanungo@keyshotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khandala
3.6 km away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
11.1 km away
The Machan
The Machan
#3 of 67 in Lonavala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
4.5 km away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Rhythm Lonavala
Rhythm Lonavala
#4 of 67 in Lonavala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.3 km away
Zara's Resort
Zara's Resort
#2 of 6 in Khandala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
2.9 km away
The Orchard Resort
The Orchard Resort
#14 of 67 in Lonavala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dukes Retreat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dukes Retreat

Property: The Dukes Retreat
Address: Pune Mumbai Road, Khandala, Lonavala 410301, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Lonavala > Khandala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Khandala
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,255 - ₹ 12,680
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dukes Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dukes Retreat at Khandala is not more than a 15 minute picturesque drive away from Lonavala. The resort is a landmark located 1850 ft. above sea level. Keys Khandala is spread across 11 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens, valley-view and the mesmerizing Western Ghats. The property benefits from being set in the lap of the flora of the region and nestles amidst waterfalls, nature trails and winding forest paths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ClearTrip and Agoda so you can book your The Dukes Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dukes Retreat Hotel Khandala
The Dukes Retreat Khandala, Maharashtra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing