We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay on the spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mayura Gerusoppa Jogfalls
Ranked #2 of 21 Shimoga B&B and Inns
hosur
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Stay on the spot”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

The stay at the above hotel was comfortable, in the sense , that it is situated just few yards before the view point of JOG falls, had good furnitures and furnishings. But it is average because , the food available in the restaurant attached is mediocre and not of much options. More than that there were broken tiles on the roof, and our room was flooded with rain water, luckily, our bed was not drenched. But, can we expect more from a hotel owned by a govt. and the room tariff was as low as Rs.500/night for a double room.

Room Tip: Nothing special. if one wants to stay near the attraction, there is no other option, and, it is bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    99
    38
    8
    7
See reviews for
111
36
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
85 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Jog falls is beautiful. But the hotel is a complete dump. I have seen cleaner public toilets. The best time to visit Jog falls is during Monsoons and that is the worst time to stay in this hotel. There is seepage everywhere. The room was unclean. The bedsheet was wet. The blanket was dirty and did not have a cover neither had they provided covering sheets. There was very strong smell of mould (I caught cold due to the mould when I woke up next morning). There were slugs crawling and climbing on walls and even one on the bed. The bathroom has solar hot water connection (no geyser), which does not work during monsoons. The bathroom was so icky that my 5 year old daughter refused to do potty for two days. The second day we left the hotel (though we had booked for two nights) and went to Shimoga and checked in to a hotel there. The state of the hotel is so bad that I and my wife even talked about sleeping on a bench under the canopies there instead of inside the room.

Room Tip: There are no best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Avinash_blr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

- we were not able to locate the hotel...because it did not look like a hotel...after confirming with many people we realized this "the place" where we are supposed to sleep :(
- very bad landscape..I would say it was like pond of mud
- some how we got the room cleaned as per our need so that we can manage then only we realized that there is black lizard just hanging on roof on top of our bed. How to sleep with hanging lizard on top...but there was no choice
- restaurant: only place hence monopoly. They give the food they want to. No options. Just live with it. Everybody is focusing on making money for themselves.
I would suggest people to look for home stay nearby than staying at this place.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SatKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2008

This is the only clean 2 to 3 star hotel near Jog Falls. It is run by Karnataka State Tourism board. The phone numbers given are of the Tourism board. Email and URL are likely useless.

Normally, you can book the hotel through the Tourism board offices. However, you can walk in at the hotel. The hotel tends to be sold out for the weekends.

Jog falls hotels are all (but one) run by various state agencies. While most run empty, there is no way to get room by walking in. You must make reservations at the city office.

This hotel is an exception. The rate is approx. Rs. 200 per person. Hotel is basically clean with little luxury.

The only other choice is a hostel few minutes away. It is cheaper and dirtier.

  • Liked — Near the falls
  • Disliked — bathroom and toilets. Clean but old.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Rajesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shimoga
89.5 km away
Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga
90.2 km away
Green View Clarks Inn
Green View Clarks Inn
#3 of 7 in Shimoga
12 reviews
35.2 km away
RNS Residency
RNS Residency
#1 of 1 in Murdeshwar
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
92.1 km away
Hotel Jai Maata Grandeur
88.8 km away
Sri Mahalakshmi Residency
Sri Mahalakshmi Residency
#9 of 46 in Shimoga
1 reviews
25.4 km away
Green Embassy Hotel
Green Embassy Hotel
#1 of 7 in Sagara
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mayura Gerusoppa Jogfalls? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mayura Gerusoppa Jogfalls

Property: Hotel Mayura Gerusoppa Jogfalls
Address: Jog Falls | Sagar Taluk, Shimoga 577 435, India (Formerly Karnataka Hotels Jog Falls (Gerusoppa))
Region: India > Karnataka > Shimoga District > Shimoga
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Shimoga
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,874 - ₹ 2,843
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mayura Gerusoppa Jogfalls 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a region that is densely forested, the Jog Falls, also known as Gerusoppa, is India's highest waterfalls. Ranked among the world's best, the spectacular cascade sees the Sharavati River leap 956 feet into a gorge with a thunderous roar. Four distinct cascades - known locally as Raja, Rani, Roarer and Rocket, are created with arching rainbows formed by the sunlight hitting the spray from the falls. Steps lead down to the deep pool at the bottom. Karnataka Hotels Jog Falls is located right opposite the falls and offers a magnificent view of it. The hotel has two blocks, Tunga and Sharavati. Tunga has a total of 10 rooms, 5 of them two-bedded, 2 of them three-bedded and 1 four-bedded, with the other two offering dormitory style accommodation. Sharavati offers more non-AC options. A restaurant operates within the complex and the hotel also can organize sight-seeing trips for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and ClearTrip so you can book your Hotel Mayura Gerusoppa Jogfalls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mayura Gerusoppa Jogfalls Shimoga, Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing