We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our memorable ‘home stay’ at Bananki - by Kanchan” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bananki Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shimoga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bananki Homestay
Ranked #1 of 22 Shimoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
1 review
“Our memorable ‘home stay’ at Bananki – by Kanchan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

After browsing Bananki’s friendly website and going through loads of positive and encouraging reviews about this home stay we made a booking for a family outing to Bananki Home stay in the 1st week of April, 2012. Needless to say, we started our journey with a lot of expectation! And to surprise, all of that, came true to the last ‘T’.
Our journey to the place took around 7 hours after a relaxed break fast break at Kamat, Sira. The hosts kept guiding us through and through till they spotted us in their estate. By the time we reached, the lunch was ready. The hosts made sure that each one of us were attended to, and offered yummy malnad delicacies, and not to forget the good desert to drown it all down. We were put up in neat and spacious rooms with excellent linen and clean bathrooms. The hosts also guided us to chalk out our trip in the next 2 days with the must-see and good-to-see places. Arpita, the hostess, was also kind enough to offer packing lunch for us. The estate was beautiful with lush greenery, lotus pond, banana and rubber plantation [just the way you see in the pictures on their web site]. Occassionally, one can site peacocks outside the estate.
I must mention that every meal that was served to us had variety in it, chosen with lot of love and care, and to suit varied age groups. While the children had good apetisers in the form of their much-loved soups, the adults could feast on mensinkai bajji . Arpita would dole out softies and juices made out of fruits from her estate, while Rachan, her husband, would made sure that each one of us were not under-eating by personally serving us the food. It was also a pleasure to interact with their supportive staff, and not to mention, play with Threya their toddler.
What I liked most about this home stay was that it was truly a home away from home. The hosts were so accommodative, so much so, that they did not charge us or at the least, even grumble at us, when we had to put our booking forward by a day due to a contingency. You won’t believe - Arpita even packed a basket of fruits for the return journey since one of us was not too well! It was a true value for money.
The hosts were pleasing and it’s this friendly and non-commercial attitude that will bring them repeat and referred customers. All the best and thanks a ton again, Arpita and Rachan, for making our stay so pleasant and memorable!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KanchanPalamand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    66
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
165
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed in Bananki Home last weekend with my wife and kid. My other two friends also stayed there. All three families had small kids. All of us enjoyed a lot entire the stay in this place. Hosts Arpita and Rachan were young and energetic couples and superb hosts too. They have a main house which have few rooms and they also have couple of out houses in the same complex. We had got one of the out house kind of place which had 3 rooms. It was like made for our 3 families. That unit had a "Jagali" (Front corridor) where our kids played lot. The front yard also had lovely lawns, which was a great "WOW" factor for us. Very soothing and welcoming it was. That out house we stayed is amidst of banana and other plantation so, even it was summer, it was not that hot.

Rooms were small, but cozy and very well maintained. Bathrooms were more cleaner than expected. Their staffs were very helpful and obliging.

We had varied experiences with food. Break fast and lunches were just amazing. Superb. The night food, was specialty of Malnad food. But we did not like that much. So the next day we requested host to have similar food as of afternoon for dinner as well, they obliged and we enjoyed the food. They also help to pack your food if you want to go for farther places to visit. We wanted to enjoy and relax with less travel so we did not get it packed.

Overall.. Great experience, superb house. Just go without any worries/ concerns :).

Room Tip: Take the out house amidst of the plantations :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karthikcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karnataka
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

We chanced upon Bananki when i was looking for a place to stay in Tirthahalli in the heart of Malnad. Tirthahalli is a small town nestled amidst verdant surroundings in Western Ghats on the bank of Tunga river.

After checking their website, i took chance and spoke to Rachan and booked our stay for three days. When we landed there, we felt already being at home!! It was a pleasant three days memories which has stayed with us. We have returned many times after that.

Rachan, Arpita and their family makes this place a perfect malnad home with great hospitality. The bungalow is situated amidst a sprawling garden on the edge of a betelnut plantation. The rooms in the bungalow are clean and nice. You will love the room on the first floor inside the bungalow which is spacious and neat. There are three more rooms outside the bungalow which are secluded and good for someone who wants privacy. Recently they have added two more rooms which are large enough to accomodate small familiies. Carved door frames and antique pillars makes these rooms look good.

If you want to savour true Malnad cuisine, this is the place. The food served is typical malnad cusiine and is excellent. Being veggies, we always get a stick from the couple that they can not serve non veg food for us. Don't miss trying

a) Shavige with Kayi Haalu - Rice semolina dumplings with sweetened coconut milk

b) Akki rotti with Kayi Chutney - Rice rotis with Coconut chutney

c) Soups in the evening

Last but not the least, don't ever miss the fresh filter coffee brewed from the beans from Arpita's dad's estate in Chikkamaglur. Posssibly the best coffee - i am a coffee connoisseur - i have ever had.

One can go for walks in the forest/plantation, bird watching, angling in the pond inside the plantation, walk along the small stream nearby. If you don't want to do anything, pick up a book and relax on the lawn.

If you want to enjoy Indian monsoon in full glow, this is the place as well!!

There are many places to explore around Tirthahalli -
a) Chippalagudde - pleasnt place on the banks of river
b) Navilukallugudda - a small hillock with panoramic views of sunrise
c) Kavishyla - Heritage mansion of doyen of Kannada literature and great poet KUVEMPU converted into an excellent museum
d) Kavaledurga - A hillock fort providing awesom views of western ghats,
e) Kundadri - A hillock providing awesome views of valley below and sunrise here is legendary
f) Bheemanakatte - a sandy beach on tunga river
g) Nagara fort
h) Picturesque Linganamakki backwaters at Nittur.

.......and many more

A forty five minutes drive will take you to the temple town of Sringeri and Agumbe where one can visit water falls, sunsets etc.

Ask Rachan and he will help you to explore the area.

I have no hesitation in recommending the place. It is a tremendous value for money and you will love it!!

- Capt Poorna

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alemaari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed at Bananki for two nights in the last week of December 2011. From the booking procedure onwards it was one of my better experiences. The hosts were very responsive during the booking even though it was a "peak" period for visits from Bangalore and they were running nearly full. The place is very homely, pleasant and kids friendly. The hosts Rachan and Arpitha are wonderful people and take good care of the guests. We enjoyed the food and the variety was great. You can find some pictures and details from my other post at http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/travelogues/92242-malnad-monsoons.html

This place is ideal for a 2 to 3 day get away from Bangalore. About 5 to 6 hours from BLR. You can relax with your feet up or there are enough places around to keep you busy through the day. The kids had a good time as there was lots of space for them to run around the homestay.

Room Tip: They have independent cottages are rooms inside the main house. We chose the cottages and it was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajagopal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Bananki Home stay is one beautiful location to spend your weekend. Nice rooms to stay ( except for minor problem like our bathroom was not latching) there's no other issues.

The food is just too tasty and there is good variety, The hostess Arpita is a great cook. Not just that comes across as friendly person.

Since our stay coincided with our anniversary, she took effort to arrange for the cake for us when i informed in prior.

The location where it is too calm, beautiful and blissful...

Loved the place, Hosts, and offcourse food!!!

Surely a 'Good-to-visit' place!!

Room Tip: Prefer a non-Summer season, its too hot even in month of feb there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Archana_Rakshith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shimoga
45.1 km away
Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga
46.8 km away
Green View Clarks Inn
Green View Clarks Inn
#2 of 7 in Shimoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
46.2 km away
Hotel Jai Maata Grandeur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Trivik Chikmagalur
Trivik Chikmagalur
#3 of 16 in Chikamagalur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
82.3 km away
Hotel Mayura Gerusoppa Jogfalls
14.9 km away
The Highlands
The Highlands
#6 of 22 in Shimoga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bananki Homestay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bananki Homestay

Property: Bananki Homestay
Address: Devangi Post, Shimoga, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Shimoga
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Shimoga
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,846 - ₹ 5,997
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Bananki Homestay Shimoga, Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing