We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
34
11
1
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
11
1
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshis wifehome stayhot waterevery mealstayed here for nightswestern ghatscoffee teamalnad stylegreenerysindhuplantationmrhostcreepersprivacyretrieverbonfire
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2016

visited to inchara home stay today with my friends and kids.we were 7 ladies and 14 kids from shimoga.the home stay is very beautiful and calm! with a touch of malnad ! lush green every where and very homely.They have lots of games for all,like carrom,table tennis,badminton,play area with swings and slide.we also liked the area next to the park with swings where its not enclosed but has shelter,we all had fun time there chatting and playing games there.the dyning area is also very inviting and the food was very tasty,both veg and non veg.The hosts were very hospitable.The rooms are comfortable and few are like cottages and you can have privacy too.we also went for plantation walk and it was very nice.the drizzling weather also added to the beauty of nature.we had a great trip and liked the home stay a lot.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank sangeethabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Inchara was recommended by an acquaintance when we were looking for a weekend stay near Shimoga, and this turned out to be an excellent getaway amidst luscious greenery.
It is simple to navigate to this place and well laid out, the host is very welcoming and helpful, making our stay so easy. The cottages are clean with all the amenities, 24*7 electricity with backups, bathing and eating facilities well catered for and all of the above topped off with friendly care from the host and the staff. You request them for a particular dish (This place caters to South Indian vegetarian cuisine only) and they will serve it to you in their own special way. Coffee/Tea, breakfast, lunch and dinner were always ready and available when we needed it and every meal came with delicious dessert and healthy-tasty fruits.
The stay has many relaxing activities like TT, carom, Badminton, short treks and is super safe (with always energetic retrievers: Sindhu and Bindhu –on charge!!).
It is a perfect place to unwind with family and friends, we would definitely revisit and further recommend to people looking for similar experience.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelcrazy6492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2016

We visited the homestay during last week and words are not enough to describe the beauty of this place. We were a family of 4 with 2 kids and they loved the place.
From the time I called the owner till the time we checked out, owner has provided fantastic support. We were extremely happy about the way every single thing was taken care of.
Food was simply awesome. Being south Indians, we loved the simple south Indian food. No complaints whatsoever in this regard. Tea, breakfast, lunch and dinner were always ready and available when we needed it and this is what we liked the most. Every meal had some or the other kind of sweet and fruit! Totally awesome.
Cook and the help are so warm they would make anyone feel welcome. My kids loved the attention given and the food provided. They were so accommodating with regards to our delays or demands! Simply incredible twosome.
Inchara is one homestay which you shouldn't miss visiting!

Stayed: May 2016
3  Thank Bhavana_Rao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2016

1. I was here recently. The property is nice.
2. But the owner, who is an aged person is extremely cold and indifferent.
3. I felt that his only concern is to get the money and shoo you off.
4. Even though we were not there for 24 hours and did not have lunch and even though he had agreed to reduce the fare on account of this, he asked for full fare when we were about to leave. I had to remind him to reduce the price.
5. He charged an exorbitant 1000 for the driver. First he told me that 'the driver can sleep in the car'. When I refused, he told he would give him one room and charge 1000. It is inconsiderate not to have a sleeping place for drivers in such a big property.
6. The food was very average. Not much options. For the kind of food he provides, the pricing is just too high.
7. The rooms are ok, nothing great. He gave us one near the dining hall. Big room but hardly any sunlight or fresh air. Since there were no other guests, I asked for other options. 'Rooms are yet to be cleaned' was the response.
8. The owner took the money and was off. Never came out when we were leaving. In fact, you can hardly see the owners.
9. Since I have stayed in other home stays, I can confidently say that there is nothing homely about this stay.
10. We felt unwanted in this place. Just wanted to scoot.
11. I am sure that there are better home stays nearby. If you can, please avoid this place.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rskallaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016

We visited Inchara Home stay in December 2015. We just wanted to visit Sakrebyle (Elephant camp) close to Shimoga and therefore booked a cottage at Inchara Home stay which is close to Sakrebyle. However, we ended spending more time inside Inchara...kids loved running around this home stay which is amidst a lot of greenery. Far away from the hustle and bustle of a city life, we can hear sounds of birds chirping and gentle wind around. Very safe and relaxing place. This place has been well maintained by the host and the staff is also very friendly. Food is very simple but yummy. My kids loved this place. Get a chance, we will surely visit Inchara again.

Room Tip: Please book the rooms in advance before visiting. They do not entertain walk-in guests.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AnithaKaranth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews