We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
90
66
28
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
66
28
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub nice breakfast boutique style live music sunday lunch beamish museum cooked breakfast bargain price on arrival steak porridge the sofa bed great value for money variety of choices overnight visit warm cosy pub food order
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2018

Stayed for one night so we could visit nearby beamish museum, check in was easy our room was small but had everything we needed. Lovely large comfortable bed, great shower with fluffy towels, and the bedding and the room was spotless. We ate at the hotel and I have to say the food was delicious and so many offers on we were spoilt for choice. Had a couple of drinks in the bar tailking to the locals and found a friendly atmosphere, as a self confessed gin monster the variety of brands was amazing and they hold gin taster nights unfortunately we weren't there then. We would certainly stay there again if we are ever up that way again.

Room tip: Ideal for trip to beamish musuem the rooms are at the rear and its quiet
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank oldhamers_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TavistockHospitality, Manager at The Lambton Worm, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We stock our sister brand's gin, Poetic License Distillery, it's made just up the road in Roker and we're very proud! Our gin nights are centred around this gin so keep an eye out on our Facebook page for our next event! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we'd be delighted to see you again in the future.

Many thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

Mentioned it was our anniversary and I would like some flowers in the room on arrival late that evening. I was delighted with the flowers as was my wife, not only that their was a bottle of proscecco, two glasses and two large swans made from towels beautifully caressing the glasses on the bed. It was all beautifully presented and the room itself was perfect. When we went for breakfast on the morning of our anniversary we were greeted by Tina who passed on her best wishes (unprompted) which was a nice touch. In fact after telling her the swan display was the best I had ever seen (we usually get them on cruises) she told us it was she who had made them. Room perfect, attention to detail was perfect, Tina and her team were amazing and for that I thank her. We will be back and would recommend this boutique hotel 110% . Thanks again for making our special day even more special ( see attached photos)

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Kenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TavistockHospitality, Manager at The Lambton Worm, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Hi Kenny,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We're thrilled that you had such an enjoyable stay for your special occasion! We'll be sure to pass your kind words over to Tina and the rest of the team and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Many thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed in August 2018. Great Value for money. Staff are really friendly & go out of their way to help you.. food is gorgeous & breakfast included in rate. Great for visiting Durham & Newcastle. Beamish Museum is very close. Hotel has free parking

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank pigwash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TavistockHospitality, Deputy Manager at The Lambton Worm, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2018

Hi pigwash

Thank you for your fantastic review!

It is great to know you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Emma.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

For £200 For the weekend I would at least expect warm water. The water for both the bath and shower was so cold it was like being hit by ice cubes. This was 30 minutes after that said they had reset the boiler. Nah sorry just not good enough. Not for the price you charge anyway. I could've gone to another hotel for less and had hot water.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TavistockHospitality, Deputy Manager at The Lambton Worm, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2018

Hi John K

We appreciate all feedback as this allows us to build on our strengths and weaknesses, and helps us move forward as a business.

I am sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your visit due to the boiler going off, This was something we had no control over and as soon as we were made aware there was a problem we did indeed act on it. unfortunately, due to the boiler being off for a short while this can take approximately 1 hour to get hot water to all of the rooms, due to the size of the tank.
Please accept our sincere apologies for this.

I do hope you did enjoy the other factors of your stay.


Should you wish to discuss these matters further, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at info@thelambton.com.

Kind regards
Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

Excellent stay for myself & mother, could not fault it. Spotless boutique en suite room. Beautiful. Slept well. Stunning dinner & breakfast. Staff very friendly & approachable. Lovely pub. WiFi a bit temperamental, but other modem available in pub. Amazing value for money & somehow got a complimentary bottle of wine! Am planning to return.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Tracey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TavistockHospitality, General Manager at The Lambton Worm, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Hi Tracey F, thank you for your great review! We're so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews