We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
90
66
28
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
66
28
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub nice breakfast boutique style sunday lunch live music beamish museum cooked breakfast bargain price on arrival steak porridge the sofa bed great value for money variety of choices overnight visit warm cosy pub food order
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Only stayed one night but it was surprisingly good all round, particularly taking into account the bargain price we paid. Room was a reasonable size. The shower was a good size and powerful. Breakfast was superb.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank carol53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TavistockHospitality, Manager at The Lambton Worm, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Hi carol53, thank you for leaving us feedback from your recent visit to The Lambton Worm. We’re glad to hear your stay was good all round and we hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

I stayed 2 nights recently whilst visiting for work in the area - the room I had (Crystal) was small but nicely decorated. The evening meals and breakfasts were good quality and overall, it was decent value for the cost of the stay. Downsides - there was no hot water from the shower on either morning (and others were complaining about the same thing at breakfast the second day) so a tepid (at best) shower wasn't the best start to the day. The room itself was also cold as there was no heating on, despite the radiator being turned up to full and there was no chance of getting to sleep on the 2nd night until the Buskers Night session had finished unfortunately. All in all, decent value for the price paid, but they need to fix the hot water situation and ensure that guests have the option of having some heat in their rooms too. The level of noise on a Wednesday night may be something to consider before booking in to stay on a Wednesday too!

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Compuwhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TavistockHospitality, Manager at The Lambton Worm, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Hi Compuwhizz, thank you for getting in touch with your feedback from your recent visit to The Lambton Worm. We're sorry to hear about this. Please be assured we do value our customer comments, both positive and negative and do our best to make improvements based on feedback. We hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Stayed at this establishment from 4 Sep - 6 Sep while visiting the Beamish Museum which is only four and a half miles away..........

This is best described as a Gastro pub but represents very good value for the price, in my opinion.......

We were allocated "Fuggles", an executive room which was priced at £160 for the two nights and were very satisfied with it........

The food was excellent, both in the bar and in the restaurant and the staff were friendly and helpful, as one would expect in the North East.
Cannot really understand why one reviewer found the portions small though, I have a fairly healthy appetite and I found them more than adequate !!

Apart from one or two minor problems (which were soon rectified by the manager). we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again, if in the area .....

Recommended......

Room tip: Ask for "Fuggles"........... it's nice and spacious
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Donnyboy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TavistockHospitality, Manager at The Lambton Worm, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hi Donnyboy07, thank you for leaving us feedback from your recent visit. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Second business trip to the area and second stay at the worm. Absolutely brilliant. Rooms are lovely. Comfortable beds are nice linen.
Food is outstanding. Loving the new menu.
Thank you to lindsay and sophie for your first class service.
See you all again soon

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Lindalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TavistockHospitality, Manager at The Lambton Worm, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Hi katiep1234, thank you for leaving us feedback from your recent visit. We’re glad to hear you had a brilliant stay and we hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

I travelled from the south of England with my husband to attend a wedding, booked into this hotel as it was close by. We were allocated a room which was nicely decorated but very small. As some of the rooms had their doors opened awaiting guests to book in I observed that we had one of the smallest rooms. I did ask if we could have a bigger room and explained that we needed some space to get ready in the morning but was told all the rooms had been allocated. There was no room to put our suitcases so we were advised to store them under the bed (not possible as it was a divan) or they would store them for us. This option wasn't really practical as there was nowhere to put anything (tiny wardrobe no shelves) also we had a bit of a struggle getting the cases up the stairs and along the corridors in the first place (we're pensioners). We made do with the room, getting ready in the morning was hard going, squeezing past each other and stepping over the cases on the floor. This is a nice enough hotel if you're staying for one night with minimal luggage but not practical for anything else unless you're lucky enough to get a bigger room. Not worth £80 a night, however the breakfast was really nice.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TavistockHospitality, Manager at The Lambton Worm, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Hi Judy, thank you for getting in touch with your feedback. Please be assured we do value our customer comments, both positive and negative and do our best to make improvements based on feedback. We hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews