We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
22
15
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
15
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews real ale sunday lunch steak pie home cooked food mince and dumplings loud music beef dinner nice atmosphere the main street front street pint pubs ales crap meal bowl wines
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

Opted for the beef dinner and a couple of pints of cask ale .
Food took 20 mins to arrive but when it arrived it was worth it .
Everything fresh and delicious and decent sized portions

Was also very busy which is a good sign

Highly recommended

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank SalfordRed70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018

Lucky to have this pub in our little town,not many around now good old traditional pub.in the centre of Chester le street good spot just off the front street near the lovely old church,and there’s a car park just opposite the pub there’s an Italian restaurant next door so really location.we visit this pub quite regular as my husband said it’s really good beer and I love the wine they sell,it has a nice atmosphere cosy and the staff are very helpful ,they have a quiz night which is very well attended we’ve been and had a great night we didn’t realise it was on so just joined in.weve heard the Sunday lunch is very good must give that a try

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

After reading the reviews we decided to come here for Sunday lunch and we weren't disappointed.
Having noted that it could take a long time to get a table we were lucky enough to be seated straight away.
We both chose to have the smaller platter as we had eaten breakfast and it was ample.
Lots of well cooked vegetables, Yorkshire pudding and meat, all served up with a smile.
Would come back if we are in the area.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank HazelEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

If you're visiting Chester Le Street for cricket and stumped where to go for lunch look no further.
I eat here every few weeks on sat as it's like walking back in time to the way my mother cooked.
Steak pie with real pie crust, mince and dumplings are the favourites of most of the regulrs and you qill see why with heaped plates served in no time at all and it's without a doubt the best pint for miles, if you like real ale you will love the Butchers arms. Its a small pub , the oldest in Chester Le Street so if you're going on Sunday for lunch pre book.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Stevenlaing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

We booked for Sunday lunch and found our table ready to sit down. Ordered the food at the bar and it became apparent they serve the meals at set times as the bar became very busy very quickly after we arrived. They used a note pad to write down the order and then took it to the kitchen, only one pad even though two persons were serving which meant each customer ordered in turn took the counterfoil with the slip number of the order, the meals then coming out from the kitchen in order, at least that's the idea.
Some half and hour after arrival our meal came out, we were relieved when our number was called.
The meal was reasonably priced and I heard people ordering with their preference for which vegetables they did not want.
The plates come out fully loaded and a side bowl of mushy peas came with it. I wasn't keen on the pre sliced beef but the vegetables were fresh and hot.
There was obviously a lot of regulars in which can only mean they were happy with the food and system of serving but I doubt if we would go back - too slow and chaotic.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank davemcbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joan R, Owner at The Butchers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our food service in such detail,we are pleased that you highlighted some positive points such as the hot fresh vegetables,fully loaded plates,reasonably priced meals and that you noticed we have lots of regulars and repeat business.
We would like to address some of your other concerns; with regards to the ordering system the numbers on the cheques are for reference only and act as a guide to our kitchen staff as to the general order that the meals should be prepared it is inevitable that some meals will be prepared quicker than others depending on what has been ordered and so those meals will be served to tables first.The numbers also act as a reference for our serving staff so the correct meals go to the correct tables it is not set in stone that the meals will come out in strict numerical order. If we had expensive PDAs and table numbers the same would apply.
You stated that you had to wait thirty minutes for your food to arrive,but also stated that we became very busy very quickly after you arrived.The meals are prepared fresh to order not microwaved or stored under hot plates.We are not a fast food restaurant we prepare fresh, homemade food and as quickly as possible. Personally if I went to a restaurant and received my food within twenty minutes I would be concerned that it had been microwaved or wasn’t fresh.
You stated that the pre-cut meat wasn’t to your liking,we buy the meat in large joints from a local butcher,the meat is cooked in joints,cooled and then cut on a meat slicer to aid portion control to ensure everyone gets value for money.We don’t employ chefs, we employ cooks and they certainly don’t have time to carve the meat to order.
We see from your profile that you are a serial reviewer who likes to pick fault with many of the establishments you visit, we hope you find your perfect venue soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews