We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
67
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beamish museum homemade bread our room was spacious very comfortable stay lovely lady excellent stay on arrival home from home warm welcome hilary lounge countryside angel cottage accommodation durham
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 days and you can not fault this place.The cottage is lovely and every thing is perfect.Hilary is a lovely lady and a fantastic host.A few extras had been provided by Hilary which gave us a nice warm welcome when we arrived.The breakfast was lovely ,and will definitely be back the next time we come.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

Promising ourselves for many years to take a trip to the Beamish Museum i searched the internet for accommodation and so pleased i came across Urpeth Farm B & B. On arrival we felt this was home from home, made very welcome with coffee and homemade biscuits served in the lounge and a little chat with Hilary, who is very knowledgeable about the area and places to eat. We were shown to our room (Sandra's Room) and could not have been happier. The room was warm, cosy and spotless. We spent 3 nights there. There weather was sunny but freezing cold but it didn't matter as back at the B & B there was a fabulous hot shower with white fluffy towels and a large comfy bed to climb into. Wonderful. The hearty breakfasts set us up for the day with an abundance of choice. The smell of homemade bread wafting up the stairs had us heading for the dining room that's for sure. On the last night we went out to get Fish n Chips and was planning to sit in the van to eat them. Hilary said it's far to cold for that, bring them back here. Not only that she invited us to sit in her private lounge with her to watch the rugby. We think she is the 'real Angel of the North'. We will be back without doubt plus we had a voucher courtesy of our host for discount to the Museum. Our tickets allow us back in again free within the year. If you are looking for accommodation in this area look no further, this is a real gem, together with the best of northern hospitality. Thanks so much Hilary, see you soon.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

A lovely, traditional B&B, furnished with antique furniture. A very quiet location but just a few miles from Durham and Beamish Museum.
Hilary is a lovely lady and we had a very comfortable stay. Thoroughly recommended.

Room tip: Plenty of parking.
Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Scarlett097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Hilary is an excellent host. Our room was spacious very comfortable and warm. Breakfast choice was excellent and very tasty. Would highy recommend The farmhouse is easy to find and very convenient for visiting Durham, Beamish, Corbridge, Metro Centre and Newcastle .

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lowurpeth2011, Manager at Low Urpeth Farm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for your lovely review of our Bed and Breakfast. We are delighted that you had a lovely stay at the farmhouse and found it convenient to visit wonderful places nearby - Beamish, Durham, Corbridge, Metro Center and Newcastle.

Kind Regards
Hilary & Sandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

We stayed in Katie’s Cottage for a week. (adults)
A lovely cottage all mod cons, warm and homely. 1st class host. Location was just right close to the countryside,city and coast. Just a couple of miles from Beamish Museum.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank SouthamptonUKAndy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews