We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lambton Worm(Chester-le-Street)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moorings Hotel(Chester-le-Street)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
William IV Hotel(Chester-le-Street)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Lambton Arms(Chester-le-Street)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Queen Guest House(Chester-le-Street)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
39
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
3
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Lovely house lovely breakfast lovely room would highly recommend. My sister and myself stayed here when we went to see Rod Stewart. Everything that you would expect from a very welcoming b & b and the couple who own it are lovely ☺

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

We stayed as a party of four, using three rooms. Each room was very comfortable with lots of extra's included. Our hosts were extremely helpful and welcoming. Our stay was very enjoyable and the breakfast was filling and well cooked. Rooms were airy and clean.The area was quiet at night.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016

We stayed at The Old Stables Cottage fro 2 weeks. Lovely owners who made us very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for them. A very well equipped cottage and it was 'home from home'. Very cosy too with such a comfortable bed! Great value too and close to amenities as well as tourist attractions. Would highly recommend this cottage if you are planning a trip to Durham.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stephanietiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Stayed two nights (Fri & Sat) end October 2016 with my mum for a local family wedding & this place is a little gem. Everything was lovely. Room was large, bright & airy with small but perfectly functional en-suite/shower room. Beds (twin-room) were exceptionally comfortable. Tea/coffee making facilities with great biscuits & bottled water & small fridge too. Big TV. Everything spotlessly clean & well maintained. The house is a beautiful old Victorian Terrace with lots of original features and is just stunning. Full English Breakfast was equally as good too, as was the lovely fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, bananas etc. Nothing was too much trouble. I was unfortunate enough to be quite poorly on the Sat morning and needed medication, and as my mother did not drive, the owner (Alan) drove her to the local chemist which was extremely kind of him and most appreciated by me. Alan & Lyn are fabulous hosts and I would have no hesitation in returning in the future. Thank you both so much.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzy-in-the-Skye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Have just had the lovely experience of spending two nights at Hollycroft. For an amazingly reasonable price, we slept in a large room (with soft duvet and pillows, kettle with tray of tea, coffee, chocolate and biscuits, large wardrobe with coathangers you could actually remove from the wardrobe (!) thick fluffy towels, and a stunning fireplace. All this plus a tasty and plentiful breakfast in the lovely dining room, and a friendly and welcoming host and hostess. Would recommend to anyone visiting the area.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Linmartin52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews