We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6)
Filter reviews
6 results
Traveller rating
5
0
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
0
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 6 of 6 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2015 via mobile

Had a lovely week here using as base to visit family and friends. It is small but very well appointed. We were a couple plus adult son and managed very well. Our other son stayed for 2nights too and it was a bit tight with 4adults but we had no problem cooking etc. Grounds and gardens very peaceful. Owners very friendly as were the 2lovely dogs!Will definitely stay again and recommend to friends.

Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Elliej130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

A very well looked after cottage all the equipment you need plus for a comfortable self catering holiday superb settings the owners were very helpful the booking was easy we were a bit concerned that the owners home was very close by but our concerns were totally unfounded would be going again next year

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

A wonderfully warm reception from the owners got the holiday off to a great start. Staying as a couple, we had booked for a week in order to watch England win the Ashes at Chester Le Street - which they did! Absolutely stunning location, surrounded by woods and fields, it is perfect for those wanting some peace and quiet but who still want easy access to the town/city (particularly for dining out). We used the local buses quite a lot, leaving the car at the cottage, but parking in both Durham and Chester Le Street is plentiful. It's a 15-20 min walk to the bus stop. The cottage itself is well furnished and finished to a high standard, with all mod cons including wifi (from the main house - so a bit patchy in places). I can see this being best for an active couple, with some great walks in the locale or a couple with a young family. As an aside, the bird life is pretty good too, with a pair of Tawny Owls lulling us off to sleep each evening.

Date of stay: August 2013
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

Very nice small two bed accommodation, however beware although there is two bedrooms and enough beds for four you would not want it more than one to two nights. I went with three other adults and you are on top of each other all the time. The kitchen is no bigger than a postage stamp, the bunk bedded room is tiny and you have to be an acrobat to get past the small draw unit and wardrobe to get onto the top bunk, and if you want to get down it is even worse. The other room is an open air balcony area, so if someone wants to stay and watch television it's keep the couple above them awake. Again if someone goes to the toilet and puts the light on it wakes you up. God only knows how you would manage children here.
Be warned there is no sky television or Internet, there are two dogs that come at you every morning, so make you like dogs.
If you are coming to stay here I would recommend no more than two adults for no more than a couple of nights. Otherwise make sure you know each other very well, as you will be living on top of each other.

Date of stay: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews