We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
58
31
6
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
31
6
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub beamish museum sat nav cooked food would recommend this hotel to anyone bed was very comfortable pudding warm welcome sunday lunch on arrival convenient location excellent value for money steve
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2017

On arrival we found the private car park had lots of free spaces and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. Our room was very warm but this was welcome on a cold day and we could turn the heat down to suit us. Room was very clean and had plenty of storage space with lots of hangers plus tea/coffee facilities and hair dryer. Bathroom was clean and had good facilities. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was again attended by very friendly and helpful staff and the cooked food was excellent.
My only suggestion would be that they need a light over the steps down from the car park to reception, as it was very dark and someone needed to use a phone light as a torch otherwise it could have been a bit dangerous.
We will definitely stay here again, hopefully for a bit longer next time.

Room tip: Rooms at rear would avoid road noise but we were at the front and it was quiet enough for us anyway.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EnfieldPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

Maybe the wandering marine should have a little class and stop with the accusations about "doing their own homework".
Made all the more ridiculous with the statement that it's all people with one review, as far as I can see the only two with one review are one good one bad. The rest have plenty of reviewing history.
Maybe change the name to classlessmarine

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Convenient location for Beamish Museum & Durham. Warm welcome & nice room. Very good food & breakfast excellent. Friendly staff, especially Steve & Dan. Reasonable price and overall can thoroughly recommend. Only minor problem was Wifi wasn't working.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

We arrived on a very wet evening and were warmly greeted by the staff - our sat nav seemed to have difficulty in getting us to the hotel although it did get us to within a mile of it. The chap who checked us in made sure we were settled in our rooms and showed us where everything was. He made sure there was a table available for us in the bar to have tea - and as it was a very busy Sunday night this was appreciated. Good pub grub ordered at the bar and they were happy to keep our tab open for other drinks or if we wanted pudding. Great location for visiting Beamish Museum.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

Booked in for three nights specifically to visit Beamish Museum and we were so pleased with it.
The room was absolutely fine, the bed was very comfortable and we had a good shower in the bathroom.
We were allocated room 2 which had a hot tub, unfortunately we couldn't use it but as we hadn't expected to have one, we weren't disappointed.
We couldn't fault the food or the staff. We ate there on each of the 3 nights and every dish was delicious and excellent value for money. The lamb roast was gorgeous especially the gravy!
There were several young adults running the bar and serving food, every single one of them was polite, chatty and efficient, and absolute credit to The Moorings. Dan in particular was very friendly.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DreamCatcher103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews