We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
V Resorts Narkanda Cottage
Reviewed 27 January 2016

We went to Narkanda in Jan end '16. V Resort is few KM before Narkanda market, easy to locate on GPS.
Positives about this resort:
1. Absolutely amazing staff. Ready to help on every small bit
2. Good food
3. Neat, clean and good rooms
4. Good location in terms of view from the rooms
5. Good value for money with breakfast and dinner part of the package
Negatives: Can't think of any

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GauravGupta4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V-Resorts, Manager at V Resorts Narkanda Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2016

Dear Gaurav Gupta,
Its really good to know about your overwhelming experience with us. We are glad to hear that you liked our resort location and found it too charming. Our primary objective has always been to offer our guests a holiday which is memorable in all aspects and we are pleased to know that you had an amazing visit to V Resorts Narkanda. Your extolling words for our resort team proves their dedication and even they are obliged to receive such compliments from you. We are cheered about your comfortable stay and the fact that you enjoyed our hospitality. Thank you for choosing V Resorts Narkanda and sharing your valuable feedback with us, we will continue to bring you holidays worth spending.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2015

We spend a Night at V resort while on the way to Sangla Valley.
The rooms are very clean and have very good interiors, the bed was very comfortable.
Staff at the resort is very good and the hospitality is amazing. Views from the resort are very good.
Only point to be considered here is this resort well 16-17 Kms before Narkanda.

Room Tip: Resort is 17-18 Kms before Narkanda
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aarav19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2015

The only reason why I chose this hotel for stay because My experience with V-Resorts Sattal was extremely good. Though the staff was good and polite and allowed us to check-in even before time, but overall facilities were not that great. The rooms appear to be highly overpriced,(4000-5000 for a night) No Indoor games, No WIFI, No proper hot water, Free breakfast(which was included in the room rent, had only aloo paratha option). and while leaving the hotel, the owner forced us to "provide them review at the same time". Highly disappointed!!!

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vishesh U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V-Resorts, Manager at V Resorts Narkanda Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2015

Dear Vishesh,

Thanks for sharing you review giving us the opportunity to host you. Its really nice to know that you enjoyed staying at V Resorts Sattal and based on your experience chose to holiday at our Narkanda cottage. We sincerely apologize for not being able to live up to your expectation this time. Your valuable suggestions have been taken into consideration and we are working on it. Please do visit us again at any V Resorts location and we would go the extra mile to ensure that you have a better experience this time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2015

Location : This property is not exactly in Narkanda but is 1 km ahead of Mathiana and 17-18 kms before Narkanda.
The property is located bang on NH22 so expect some noise though it dies out after 8-9 pm. There is no parking space so if you are travelling in personal vehicles please be ready to park on the road side which can add a bit of nervousness to some travellers (though its completely safe in the hills to park your vehicle on the road side unlike on the plains).

Property : The property is around 20-30 flights of stairs down towards the valley from the main road and has just 2 cottages and 4 rooms (yes you read it right!). This means personalized service by the staff and low "neighbour noise" quotient). Rooms are very well designed and had oodles of pine wood usage. Roof, walls, doors etc. is all made in pine wood which gives it a rustic feeling. First floor rooms provide an uninterrupted view of the valley, this means one can always stare in the arms of mother nature and think about things which need a calm mind.

Rooms have clean beds and linens and the bathroom has a bathtub (along with a bucket and mug). Specially packed soap, shampoo and facewash is provided which were actually very good quality items.

Service : The service is better than most of the 5 star properties that I have visited. Even if you are standing in the balcony and chance to glance upon a staff member, he will be up on his toes in a sec and ask "Sir...". Though have travelled extensively in the hills first time experienced "Atithi Devo Bhava" (Guest is god). One area of improvement is that freebies (bottled water and cookies with tea) were not served until asked for. Though this is a minute thing but important since it is part of the deal and some guests would expect atleast drinking water being served without a request.

Food : This is one area where they need to improve a lot. This didn't annoy me because food is on a low priority for me when I am travelling but can be a deal breaker for many. The first time we had dinner the daal was not cooked properly and the size of rotis/phulkas is too small for its worth (Rs. 15 a piece). The next day we ordered some chicken and paneer for dinner, paneer was one of the hardest that I ever ate (softer the paneer the better and fresh it is). We could have sent the food back but it was late and we decided to create no fuss about it. However food was always served piping hot. The best food that is available is around 8 kms towards Shimla in a restaurant by the name of "Lazeez Restaurant (Unit of Hotel Solitaire)", call at 01783221440 for location related queries. If you go from Vresorts towards Shimla this will be on the left side. We ate lunch here and the food was at par with Haldirams and reasonably priced (Special Veg. Thali was Rs. 200). The third night we thought of driving to this place but the weather played spoilt sport and visibility dropped to 5-10 meters so we headed back and had to eat at "Maheshwari Dhaba" at Mathiana chowk. No reviews about this place, please avoid.

Verdict - I would recommend this place purely on the basis that its located at a peaceful location (wilderness seekers please look elsewhere). The staff is world class and their each action proves that they care for their guests (especially the manager Mridul and care taker Gopal.

Feedback for resort management - Improve food and please get the premise cleaned regularly (lots of littered water bottles and chips' wrappers inside the property's open area)

Room Tip: Choose the first floor rooms, they offer fantastic view of the valley below
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajatsingh78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2015

Stayed in resort from 16th to 18th July 2015.

View from the resort room was very good. .

But the resort was located far away from Narkanda. No option of food but to rely on limited menu available at resort.

No exclusive menu card for food was available.

Even intercom facility to call the room service was not available

Good option if you are traveling as a group but not recommended in case of single couple as there are total of 4 cottage rooms in resort and if would be quite scary if you are the only guest in resort

Room Tip: Go for First floor room as view is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deep666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V-Resorts, Manager at V Resorts Narkanda Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2015

Dear Deep,

Thank you for the review. Its good to know that you enjoyed the view from our resort. We are located in a beautiful valley in Matiana, which is just 30 mins drive from Narkanda. We have a fixed menu across all our resorts with a choice of some additional local dishes that are special to the region. We are in the process of getting intercoms activated in our resort soon. From the security point of view ours is a very safe resort and we ensure that our guests have no issues in relation to safety and security. Thanks once again for your comments, we shall await you again and strive to better the experience...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narkanda
6.9 km away
Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda
2.9 km away
Krish Rauni
Krish Rauni
#8 of 117 in Shimla
266 reviews
36.6 km away
Sunshine Courtyard Resort
Sunshine Courtyard Resort
#12 of 117 in Shimla
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Hotel Snowflake
Hotel Snowflake
#5 of 8 in Narkanda
22 reviews
0 km away
Travelling Monks: Highland Camps
0 km away
Etranger Resorts
Etranger Resorts
#7 of 76 in Aurangabad
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to V Resorts Narkanda Cottage? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about V Resorts Narkanda Cottage

Address: Village Matiana, Narkanda 171212, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Narkanda
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Narkanda
Price Range: ₹ 2,185 - ₹ 4,564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — V Resorts Narkanda Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With just six rooms, all of which offer enchanting views of the Churadhar range (inner Himalayas) on a clear day, our Narkanda cottage is as private as it gets while you always have the company to share the bonfire. The ambiance and decor of our cottage is a wonderful blend of ethnic and contemporary comfort. The wooden decor of the rooms and floors covered with hand knotted manjiris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MakeMyTrip, ClearTrip, Yatra, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your V Resorts Narkanda Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
V Resorts Narkanda Cottage Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing