We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Property at a Quite Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Narkanda
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Decent Property at a Quite Place”
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Date 27 May 2011

I went to Narkanda with my wife for a stay of two days, Narkanda is a quite place 65Km away from Shimla. I booked Hotel Tethys which is further 2 KM away from main Narkanda Bazaar. The Hotel has a accomodation of around 18 Rooms including Cottages. There is ample Parking Space. My stay was in a deluxe room which was having a Heater, Television with Tata Sky, a double Bed. Room was having a very good view of the mountains. However, the Buffet offered by the Hotel has very limited variety. Since the Hotel is located at an isolate place there is nothing much to do after 7 Pm and you have to be confined to your room. Hotel Staff is good. Overall an average Experience at a place where the Hotel choice are limited.

Room Tip: Deluxe Hill View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HITESH02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear sir,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We have renovated our Resort and updated our Management services. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    52
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
70
24
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
pune
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

The stay at Tethys was excellent,located at a height of 10600 ft.We were very well looked after.Good food,very relaxing,excellent service,very peacefull,nothing to do is the best thing to do for a change.Hatu temple is nearby.Approach is a little dicy but bet used to it oncee you are there.Hatu Mata temple beautiful,at a height of 11400 ft.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjaylall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear sir,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We have renovated our Resort and updated our Management services. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cochin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

I am from kerala and had never seen snow and wanted to see snow preferably while snowing. I found that it never snows is shimla and kufri was a risky bet. I could expect snow at hatu peak tiil march end .so I planned my trip in the 2 nd week of feb. I was pleasantly surprised to see snowing from kufri. After a miserable stay at kufri holiday resort I was apprehensive about narkanda.
All my fear was melted at tethys. It is a excellent resort at a breath taking place. My room was on the 1st floor with two huge windows. The mountains and its veiw was changing every minute. It would snow then it would turn misty. In another minute the sun would come out and warm you. The divan at the window is placed well so that you feel like you are in air like a bird. The heating at the resort was ok and there was hot water 24/7 unlike in others.
The staff at the resort was exceptional especially mr deepak. They kept the food hot even when we were late and used to serve in the room itself. The hotel arranged for sking at a nominal amount of 600 rs per hour.They responded quickly to all the calls in spite of being very cold outside.
Unlike in kufri the snowing at narkanda was diffrent. The snow fell like small icecream pellets along with rain at kufri. At narkanda there was no rain, only snow ,first like cotton flakes a cm long then like thermacol pellets. The snow at kufri didnot have the whiteness of that which fell at narkanda. This made a lot of difference in the way the place looked .One looked like we were in switzerland and the other ordinary.
I wished I had more time at narkanda.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qwerrtrtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ishaan_manutd, Manager at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear sir,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We have renovated our Resort and updated our Management services. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

The hotel is good, about a kilometre off the highway thorugh a nearly single lane dirt track. Since the track is only for hotel, there is hardly any traffic to worry about. Ample Parking Space. The facade is good and interiors are nice, nothing outstanding but nothing really to complain of. We got a room on top floor, the view was good but the mountain in front had brone the brunt of human cultivation - a dry farmland just next to a beautiful forest. The room is clean but very basic, bathroom is excellent with geyser. A heater is also provided in the room. Breakfast and dinner were included, meals were very tasty and the staff was very nice and courteous. There was a small open gathering area with music and bonfire arrangement, it was small but very good - no extra charges for this. You could get stuff barbecued too next to this place. The cottages which were being built were overlooking a small construction (of hotel itself) and definitely would have been an eyesore for those who book cottages. The price of hotel is bit on higher side for the amenities but nothing actually to complaint about when food & staff are good and no noise pollution out there.

The hotel is about 3-4Km from Narkanda market which itself is hardly 500 meters end to end. Location wise, the most amazing place would be PWD Circuit House @ Hatu Peak (it was locked when we went there) - 360 deg clear panorama and highest point of Narkanda.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tangents2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear sir,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We have renovated our Resort and updated our Management services. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2010

wned and managed by Sanjeev Dogra on his family estate, the relatively new Tethys Resort is located about 1.5kms from Narkanda bazaar, towards Thanedar, and is set about 600m into the cliff-side from the main road. It’s a lovely property with a main building that houses about 17 rooms and 6 Swiss tents in a large grassy cliff-top. They are also in the process of constructing an additional building, which will eventually be able to house 20 more rooms.

Our double-room was on the 1st floor of the main building and was a corner one. So the views were absolutely amazing! The room was light and bright with yellow walls and sleek, modern furniture. A day bed near the large windows was the best place to snooze and relax after a hard day’s trek. An armoire built into the wall gave us plenty of space. Two heaters were also thoughtfully provided as, given its height, Narkanda does tend to get quite cold even in summers.

The bathroom was nice but could have been a lot better – couple of the fixtures needed repairs and instead of placing shutters or privacy glass on the bathroom window, a black, plastic sheet was stuck on to it with cello tape :); quite shoddy!

Room rent includes breakfast and dinner. Since the resort is not close enough to the bazaar area, we ate all our meals here. And thankfully, the food was exceptionally good and quite tasty. From the simplest stuff like omelets to dessert, everything was quite yummy! On the day we trekked to Hatu Peak, the kitchen staff packed us some parathas as breakfast to be had on the way. The same day we returned late, around 3pm, and were still served an elaborate lunch without any problems.

The staff, especially the young man who served and waited on us, was well-trained and very courteous. He made our stay very comfortable.

Given its fantastic location, modern & luxurious amenities and a great staff, Tethys Resort is definitely ‘the’ place to stay in Narkanda. Not only are the views breathtaking, but its strategic location allows easy access to the attractions in the area.

The only thing that bothered us a bit during the stay, were the flies! They were everywhere and the ones inside our room annoyed us the most! Since there are no fans in the room, there was no way to keep them from buzzing around us. They were in the dining room as well, which meant that we had to keep trying to protect our food all the time – very annoying!

For pictures, check our blog @ http://10yearitch.com/?p=3719

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tenyearitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear sir,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We have renovated our Resort and updated our Management services. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narkanda
25.6 km away
Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas
23.9 km away
Snow King Retreat
Snow King Retreat
#96 of 112 in Shimla
53 reviews
16.3 km away
de Exotica Crest Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.9 km away
Marigold Sarovar Portico
Marigold Sarovar Portico
#15 of 112 in Shimla
290 reviews
31.5 km away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#10 of 112 in Shimla
1,059 reviews
27.4 km away
Woodstock Resort
Woodstock Resort
#1 of 1 in Naldehra
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda

Property: Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda
Address: Village Nagrot,Post Office Narkanda, | Shimla Hills, Narkanda 171213, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Narkanda
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Narkanda
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,943 - ₹ 9,884
Hotel Class:3 star — Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skiing in the morning & river rafting in the afternoon & a nice relaxing glass of wine in the evening with a 3 course meal.Perched at a height of 9000 ft. Tethys Ski Resort & Spa is the perfect place for clean crisp air, bright sunshine and breathtaking scenery. Built in the old colonial style and nestled between thick forest cover and apple orchards, the resort offers beautiful views of snow covered mighty Himalayas. Located in the midst of NH 22, en route to the Sangla Valley (Kinnaur), the resort offers a fairy tale setting of Oak and Deodar trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelGuru and Agoda so you can book your Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing