We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Experience but a lot of scope for improvement”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Naldehra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Chalets Naldehra
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Unique Experience but a lot of scope for improvement”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

The Chalets was a unique experience only due to the fact that the guests get to stay in wooden cottages or bungalows (whichever they choose to book).
Otherwise the resort is pretty run of the mill in other areas like other typical hill hotels. I would not call it a luxury resort simply for the reason that the maintenance and service left much to be desired. The designing and placement of cottages and bungalows is almost haphazard and the placement does not follow a specific pattern. The food is of OK quality and service is passable. The dinner and breakfast was just edible. The maintenance & upkeep of the resort is average and could have been much better.
The location of the resort and the surroundings are nice and peaceful. However, having built a unique resort the management could do much better in enhancing the overall guest experience. The staff is nice and friendly but I have a distinct feeling that they are under-trained.
Maybe a one time visit is recommended.

Room Tip: Try to choose rooms overlooking the valley and away from the swimming pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMM_KAYY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChaletsNaldehra, Owner at The Chalets Naldehra, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a review.Your feedback is very valuable to us. I would like to mention that we have just finished revamping our food and menu. Although the accommodations seem haphazardly placed, they have been designed in a manner in which most rooms open on the ground floor and have their own sit outs. I hope you will be satisfied with the food on your next visit.

Thanks & kind regards,

Amish Sud
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    93
    16
    9
    8
See reviews for
135
42
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
80 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Booked the independent duplex log hut through an online transfer. The response of the reservation desk was prompt & appropriate. I was allotted room no 203 upon reaching the resort. The check in was smooth & prompt & kullu caps were given to is which was a nice gesture.
Room:
The room ie, the duplex log hut was a charming property & is situated at a level below the restaurant. It has a certain air of exclusivity around it and is a little away from the hustle & bustle of the resort. It had a living room with a small kitchenette & a bed room on the ground floor & a small attic upstairs. It was made entirely of wood & though small was quite charming. Though not as fancy as the other log huts that I have stayed at, it served the purpose well. The living room had a fire place which we used on all the days of the stay & that was an experience worth remembering. The heaters provided were not effective on those cold evenings & so the fire in the fireplace was really warming & good. The kitchenette was in name only & it was basically a basin with an electric kettle & nothing more. The bathroom was neat & clean & the toiletries were nice & top notch.
Service:
Very prompt & nice. Even made maggi for my kids. Even otherwise they were quite courteous & warm.
Food:
Would have been a major disappointment but for the gala dinner on new years eve. The food otherwise was very limited, expensive & devoid of any taste. However the gala dinner removed all the complaint that we had & was truly gala. It was a huge spread with a large number of items, all extremely tasty & well presented. The fried trout was a work of art. That dinner apart, the barbecue, the breakfast everything else was disappointing.
Overall experience:
Enjoyed it. The resort has a lovely forest at its back though the hammocks were missing there. The new year eve was memorable with lots of games for the kids & the elders, a DJ with a nice choice of music & nice food. The firework was also exquisite & the gesture of all the chefs cutting the new year cake was warm. It was a nice experience, however the resort did appeared lacking on space & was quite cramped up for the number of people that were there. I guess one of the quieter days would be better. There was some problem at the check out when a bar bill was tagged to my room. However the same was sorted out & the money refunded to me when I pointed out the mistake.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vinayMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Booked it independently. Booking process is smooth. They have marketing partnership with ITC. Hotel reception and customer care are prompt on responses. They make every effort to answer your questions satisfactorily. Only flaw is you have to deposit the charges in advance in bank account (i.e no online payment option). I raised it with management, they said its being worked upon right now. There are many small/ big chalets in the hotel. I had booked one apartment. Room setup is excellent. Nice big bedroom with hall, dining room and kitchen. Had pine tree view (hill view would have been much appreciated). They have good packages for couples that includes breakfast and major meal. Food is simply brilliant and so is the room service. Hotel staff is courteous and helpful. I struggled little bit with room heating. They have roaming small heaters. They did provide me one extra heater on demand w/o extra cost but none can replace big room heater. I think this is the case in all the hotels in shimla. They all use roaming small heaters. As it was off season, they also offered me an upgrade to cottage without extra buck. I didn’t find any hidden cost. Everything is clearly mentioned in the book provided in the room. You can use swimming pool, carom board, table tennis etc. free of charge.

I think only problem with the hotel is reachability. Its around 20kms away from Shimla city but I personally prefer remote places. They are calmer.

They provide you pick up and drop facility. I used same driver for roaming around. I compared charges with external cab service providers this one is cheap by at least 200-400 bucks.

Overall excellent experience.

Room Tip: I found cottages are East facing which means nice sunshine. Prefer such rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We had been thinking about visiting the Chalets for the last 3 years. We managed to make it happen this 26th January, 2012. We booked the 2 bedroom family chalet, ahead of time. Their Booking Office in Delhi was very responsive in recommending us with the right rooms and providing us a decent discount. The Hotel per se was very nice. This is in general low season, so the place was not crowded. Good welcome service; the 2 bedroom cottage was just right, including the heaters. The beds were great including the rajais. The food served at their multi cuisine restaurent and we got very attentive service, Apart from the Chinese, the food was nice. The breakfast can do some with some variety of fruits. They only had papayas on both the days, and my husband Samit does not eat Papayas. The website needs to represent the property more appropriately. This chalet is very multi-level. The site gives the feeling, that it is an expansive property. The steam and sauna should be available free of cost much like the resort at Kanatal. The water in the pool can be a little more heated, and slightly more cleaner. There is an amazing sun room in the bar area. They should interchange the breakfast area and the bar area. The bar area gets a lot of sun, and it will be very nice to eat breafast there in winters.

Room Tip: Cottage 210 was great, got the sun all the time, it was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeethaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Booked a single BR chalet during the summer of 2011, and what we got was a beautiful all wood scandinavian cottage or chalet resplendent with all basic amenities. It was a beautiful single BR cottage with space to sleep a couple in the first floor attic. There are about 10-12 independent chalets and all of them different in size and design from the other. Each chalet has an independent entry points and a small lawn in front. Since the property doesn't accomodate many cottages and hence guests, it can get lonely at night. The property is managed well, though not too big and hence there's not much to do except laze around and probably use their heated and covered all weather pool.

The service is slow and not much to do around. There's a jungle walk alongside the property which takes you to adjacent hills nearby and is good adventure, if you'd want to make use of time at Chalets.

Overall good for day's stay or probably two, but not more than that.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vipinsawhney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naldehra
1.4 km away
Woodstock Resort
Woodstock Resort
#1 of 1 in Naldehra
71 reviews
3.9 km away
Marigold Sarovar Portico
Marigold Sarovar Portico
#15 of 112 in Shimla
290 reviews
10.5 km away
Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Koti Resort
Koti Resort
#20 of 112 in Shimla
219 reviews
8.0 km away
Club Mahindra Mashobra
Club Mahindra Mashobra
#3 of 5 in Mashobra
436 reviews
9.5 km away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chalets Naldehra? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalets Naldehra

Property: The Chalets Naldehra
Address: Village & PO Durgapur, Naldehra 171012, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Naldehra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Naldehra
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,744 - ₹ 4,648
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
The Chalets Naldehra Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing