We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Extremely comfortable holiday cottage in a...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Milk House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
The sitting room
Our spaniel in our private woods
Downstairs utility/boot room next to the washroom
Bluebells in our wood
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Erlestoke, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Belinda S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Extremely comfortable holiday cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My husband and I spent a week at the end of April at the Milk House with my eldest daughter and her family. We loved it and have since missed enjoying time spent together in such a well appointed holiday home.
My husband and daughter, the cooks for the holiday, were very pleased and impressed with the well equipped kitchen. Chris, my son-in-law had read up on the facilities and used the ipod docking system in the kitchen to share some of his favourite and very eclectic music choices that we all enjoyed listening to while playing card games or eating around the wonderful kitchen table that became the centre of our times together at the Milk House. My grandson hogged the T V (when allowed) to play games on the PS3 and my 3yr old granddaughter played for hours with the great selection of games and toys, that also distracted her from her itchy chicken pox - Yes, the poor thing started with spots on day one of the holiday!
Andy and I were very pleased to find the cross country direct route to the 3 Daggers Brewery Tap for fabulous real ale and farm shop. We also made good use of the George and Dragon – a short walk away and we enjoyed a delicious meal at another nearby pub the Bell in Great Cheverell.
I was delighted to discover a ready supply of Rhubarb in the garden that Rebecca (Owner) was very happy for me to use to turn into a Crumble.
The farmer was only to happy to show us the sheep and lambs and we got the chance to feed one of triplets whose mother didn’t have enough milk to go around all three.
The weather was not kind to us apart from one glorious day and a couple of sunny evenings when we were able to sit out and the kids made good use of the trampoline in the orchard. But we all agreed that the comfort of our surrounding s in The Milk House more than made for the disappointing weather and if we had to be stuck inside we were in the best place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
250Laura5
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely & welcoming house”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I stayed here with some friends as we were doing the DW race and the place was lovely. The communal spaces were great and large enough for us all to sit around the fire and the kitchen is a fab dining area. I wish we stayed for longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fire and kitchen
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy I
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cosy and dry - just what we needed over New Year”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Just returned from The Milk House after a week away with a family group.

Finding property, picking up keys and getting settled was all very easy. Rachel popped round to make sure we had everything we needed. House was spotlessly clean and it was great to have some basic things like washing up liquid already there.

We had visitors one day and accommodated a total of 13 of us for a buffet lunch which was a bit of a squeeze but not a problem and thanks to Rebecca for allowing us to have our annual family gathering (loads of parking).

Weather during our stay wasn't great but as we have 2 dogs we walked every day. Erlestoke woods and plain beyond is doggy heaven. Loved Pear Tree Hill where you could walk for miles.

Took the opportunity to visit Imber and the church while we were there and researched some family history (Axfords and Carters from Imber, Erlstoke and Great Cheverill). Friendly local farmer told us where to get key for church and the nice lady with the key also let us borrow parish records for a bit more family research - all very interesting.

Tried the local pub which has now re-opened - very friendly people and nice freshly cooked (non-gastro) grub.

Back to the house itself. Beds were very comfortable, we struggled a bit with the upstairs bath and shower under the eaves so everyone ended up using the downstairs bathroom in the end but wasn't a problem for us. Kitchen was well equipped. Our only constructive criticism would be the lack of side tables in the lounge for putting a drink on and lack of storage in the bedrooms - we had to have clothes in piles on the floor. TV also hard to watch from the large sofa without getting a crick in your neck.

Didn't get to use the orchard/garden really as it was a bit wet but be aware that one side of it is un-fenced and leads onto a minor road. No sign of the chickens or eggs mentioned in the description. Did get awoken early on a couple of mornings by the tree care people who operate out of the adjacent yard and left engines running but to be fair, given the wind and rain they were probably busier than normal.

Those are just minor gripes in what was an excellent house in a great location for walking and exploring. Wifi was good too for wet afternoons allowing people to play online games, surf the internet or watch catchup TV. Only lit the wood burner once - the heating was so good we really didn't need it. Useful having the drying rack in the utility room for our wet coats too.

Worth mentioning the additional single room/study/2nd reception room downstairs off the Utility room as the website description doesn't really do this justice. It really is quite a large room (could possibly sleep 2). It has a comfy day bed and a large desk with childrens toys under it and a toilet with washbasin close by.

We would recommend this property and would definitely return to the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cosyness, kitchen
Liked least: lack of side tables for drinks and bedroom storage, upstairs bathroom a pain
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely, comfortable and homely cottage”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We had a lovely week at the Milk House. It has everything you would expect and want from a holiday let, and extras on top. The furniture and furnishings are really comfortable and the kitchen very well equipped. Our eldest daughter loved looking at the animals on the farm and wore herself out on the trampoline. The owner was a pleasure to deal with and we look forward to returning for the same week next year.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsSGlouc...
Gloucestershire
1 review
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 2 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

The house was extremely comfortable. Most of the time we forgot that it was a holiday let. Even our 9 year old grandson commented that it 'feels like we live here'. The house met all our requirements. It was spacious and spotlessly clean, with all the cooking utensils that we needed. The highlight for the children was bottle-feeding the lamb. The village, itself is very quiet and unfortunately the pub is currently closed, however there are many others in the area, some within walking distance and a lot are dog friendly. The location is so peaceful. Wiltshire is a beautiful county - I'd never really considered it for a holiday location before as we live in a bordering county, but we will in future - in fact we are booked in for another visit later in the year...says it all!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and comfort
Liked least: Can't think of anything apart from two days of rain!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing