We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (472)
Filter reviews
472 results
Traveller rating
395
47
20
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
395
47
20
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tublog burnerbucks fizzdishwasher tabletschampagne and chocolatesrelaxing breakwelcome cardon arrivalfantastic weekprivate gardenour honeymoonshort drivecow calfself cateringdvd playerco oplittle touches
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 472 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Booked Faweather grange for myself - 32 year old daughter and 10 year old granddaughter and WOW how amazing is this place.... oh and the dog... booked for Easter weekend in hope that the English weather would be ok and of course it wasn't - it rained and snowed which I can only say totally made the weekend as we lit the gorgeous log fire straight away (plenty of logs behind cabin already bagged up for you) and although the cabin was warn already it became all toasty and very warm and cosy... then straight into the hot tub (already warm) yes even in the rain as totally secluded with our wine of course....

Nice big cooker to cook all our food in as was a tad to wet for the barbecue - everything is there - microwave - all cutlery - glasses - fridge - small freezer compartment etc etc - you need nothing apart from food and drink....

Can park just outside your lodge as own parking space - on arriving at reception was met by Debbie and her son (yes forgot his name) who are the PERFECT hosts - very easy check in - I know you have to be happy and helpful as owners but I've been to many places but it felt it was meant - you don't see them as they leave you to it BUT they are right there if needed... on the Easter Sunday Debbie's husband (yes forgot his name too) I'm useless - put on a Easter egg hunt which we thought was a fabulous touch - thank you!!!

Was spotless - welcome gift - very much appreciated - dog towel and treats left for her.... tv and DVD player..... gorgeous bedding and white towels....

I booked a spa day for us with the lovely Julie - book through Debbie... myself and my daughter had a facial each and a massage each and not to be left out my granddaughter had a manicure - pure bliss - we did keep her longer than we should chatting ha ha sorry

To end!!! Excellent place - excellent staff even the hot tub guy - nothing to much trouble - we went to relax only and that's what we got.... just sorry for running up probably a £1000 bill using your hot tub XxX paula - sam - lissy and Nyla the dog

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Owner at Faweather Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review. We were all delighted you had such a wonderful time here with us. It was our first Easter Egg hunt and was really well received.

We have three great therapists here. I'm delighted you enjoyed the treatments with our lovely Julie.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Debbie x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at faweather grange, the lodge was beautiful and posh, the hot tub was ready and waiting for us on arrival. We got there an hour early and they let us put our freezer stuff in before it melted. Views was beautiful and The staff was really heldful and friendly. Highly reccomend to anybody looking for a relaxing time. 10/10 would happily come back again and again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Owner at Faweather Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you had a great time. Montana 2 is my personal favourite and delighted you enjoyed it.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We returned after our last visit in 2007. We stayed in Serenity 2,What a weekend it snowed was -5 with a windchill of -10. So what did we do in the hot tub (only in the UK). The lodge was well equipped. Hot tub,sauna,jacuzzi bath,log fire.it was a truely relaxing weekend. Our lodge was private & not over looked. Stunning views across the moors.the many steps to the lodge were not an issue for us. The only issue was that the lodge was draughty throuought. We will be returning in Sept & again in December

Room Tip: Serenity2 has many steps to the lodge. It is private & not overlooked with stunning views. Champagne in the hot tub amazing.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank andrewfoxon540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Owner at Faweather Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Thank you for your review of Faweather Grange. It was lovely to welcome you back after a decade and delighted you had a truly relaxing weekend.

See you soon.

Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

This is a difficult review for me to write and I have thought carefully about the comments I wish to make before leaving this review.

I have been on a number of hoseasons breaks and have never had an issue with any of the accomodation I have stayed in previously. Furthermore I very rarely leave bad reviews. On this occassion in fairness to prospective guests I feel it is only fair to leave some factual information in the hope that it prevents families for experiencing some of the difficulties that we did.

I booked the accommodation for my birthday week for me, my husband and 9 moth old daughter. I did this through Hoseasons and did not look at Faweather Granges own website. From looking at the accommodation I chose the foxhollow lodge.

This week was when the beast from the east and I was concerned about the weather. I had asked if I could transfer my booking to another date as I was concerned about travelling witha baby in these conditions but was told that the park would not allow me to do this and if I didn't travel I would lose my money.

I contacted Debbie at Faeweather Grange on the morning I was due to travel. I was advised that there would be access to the lodges but that she couldn't comment on the local roads as she has not been out. Given this information I decided to travel up on my own on the Friday and meet with my sister who lives locally to see what the roads where like and to avoid the risk of my baby getting stuck in the car on the motorway.

As it was the roads where completley clear on the way down. I only experience a problem when turning onto the track/bridleway which leads to the lodges. Under normal circustances this is a narrow road which only access for one vehicle. The road was piled with snow and ice and subsequently the passing places should you encouter anothe vehicle where also covered. I have the luxury of having a 4x4 with a snow mode and only just made it down the lane. Granted I could see that the team where working extremley hard under very difficult conditions but in my opinion I do not feel that the track was safe for vehicles to be driving down. My sister who does have a 4x4 ended up skidding into a wall and caused damage to her car.

The second issue I had was when arriving at lodge. I saw that there was not direct vehicular access to the lodge and that the property was also access by a number of stairs. I was taking luggage and food for a weeks holiday and it was no mean feet getting all of this to the lodge. What concerned me the most however was the stairs. There was no way you could get a pushchair to the lodge and I didn't feel it was safe to carry a baby about them. Neither on the website or over the phone when I booked the lodge with Hoseasons was I advised that they where stairs. Had I have been I wouldn't have booked the lodge. I accept that this is a hoseasons issue not faeweather grange and I beleive that they are now updating the website to reflect this information.

Upon entering the property I noted that there was a large log burner in the lounge that was completley exposed. I asked if i could have a fireguard as my 9 month old would be joining me. I was told "do what I did and teach your child not to touch the fire" much easier said than done with a 9 month old. Following a complaint to Hoseasons the next day a fireguard was provided.

Finally this may seem a trivial point but as somebody who travels frequently I felt a bit like I was at boarding school. They where dvd's and shower gel provided in the lodge which all had sticky lables on saying "property of faeweather grange if taken please return". It just felt to me as though it was being insinuated that the guests where there to steal things. Again this is very much my own personal opinion and may not bother anybody else.

Holidays are all about your own personal preference and enjoyment. I can see from the other reviews that clearly many people have enjoyed their experience at Faeweather grange and it is in a beautiful location. Unforutnatley for me I did not get the personable individual experience and in all honesty I felt as though I didn't matter as a guest and it was just about making money.

I'd just like to clariy that none of my security deposit has been deducted which seems the to be standard response from the owners to any negative reviews.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Owner at Faweather Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your thoughts and opinions on your recent stay at Faweather Grange.

Unfortunately, we are unable to control the weather which at the time of your visit was very wintery. We do however take every possible opportunity to ensure access to the site and individual lodges is maintained. The park remained open and all other guests were satisfied with their lodges. We have had other reviews from customers who stayed at the same time as this guest who complimented our efforts in such adverse weather conditions:

https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g1152929-d633172-r565866970-Faweather_Grange-Eldwick_West_Yorkshire_England.html

Cancellation insurance is something all guests should consider as in the event of unforeseen situations, the company cannot be held liable for guests who cannot attend.

It is advertised that Foxhollow lodge has steps to it as well as having a log burner inside. We cannot be held responsible for any guests who do not adequately obtain this information prior to their visit. We are family friendly so would have been more than happy to put a fire guard in the lodge prior to arrival should you have requested (which was happily put in more than 24 hours before the baby arrived) and the steps, which were cleared, as shown in the attached photos, also have a secure handrail for safety reasons.

If any guest has issues once on site, the team are more than happy to assist.

Reviews are personal opinions and opinions about the weather do not reflect the opinions about our product. Judge as necessary.

Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

Thanks Debbie and the rest of the staff for a wonderful week. I take my hat off to you all for the great efforts you made to keep the site open through the unexpected winter weather.
Our log cabin (Montana 1) and our holiday surpassed all our expectations and we had a wonderful week that we won't forget.
A huge thanks!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank RBye1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S, Owner at Faweather Grange, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Thank you all for your lovely comments. Wow! what a week we had at Faweather Grange. 6' snow drifts and snow blowing into drifts all week. It's lovely to see and makes the park so pretty.
I'm delighted you all had a great time and hope to see you all again in the future.
Debbie x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews