We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Riverview Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Gurgaon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We together a group of 36 people went for a department trip with our colleagues. A very well maintained luxury cottages, lush green gardens, relaxing swimming pool, great food, river flowing behind the hotel, must say an excellent property to stay for a business trip or a family trip. The safari was a disappointment but the group as a whole loved the wonderful gesture shown by the hotel. We were lucky to have a great weather, I totally recommend this hotel to readers who are planning to visit Jim Corbett. A must stay !!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SiemensGurgaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    200
    22
    4
    6
See reviews for
374
74
5
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

The overall experience was pleasant.
The hotel was neat, the staff was friendly and helpful.They have tried their best to maintain the peace and tranquil of the place, but their neighboring property doesn't seem to share the same sentiment.
Its a good destination for a conference too with a spacious hall to accommodate about 100 people in cluster seating.
The breakfast was nice. They only serve snacks in Room service and for your meals you need to go to the riverside restaurant. Though its great to sit by the riverside, but an option to be served meals in rooms could have been provided.
Apart from the drive from Moradabad to Kashipur, the roads are in good shape. But corbett is a great getaway option close to Delhi.

Room Tip: You could personally check a few rooms before settling down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdityaEnthuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

The River View Retreat is spacious, well placed and a treat for the nature lover.One can walk, jog and or just park on the side of the river Kosi and just bask in the moment. The service is excellent and kudos to the staff for being efficient and pleasant always. This place scores big on points primarily due to the service and the food.

The buffet is diverse and the food is good. There's always something new to look forward to. Lip smacking stuff.

On busy days, the resort makes it a point to do bonfires in the restaurant lawns and arrange for live performances of music and cultural showcases - which I actually enjoyed. They had a Dev Anand type singer, one night, who did ols Kishore Kumar and RD Burman songs and while he wasn't "Top of the line" - he hit the spot.

Another night had a Kumaon dance performance which was amusing. The thrid night was a wild life movie, during which, the audio conked out and we watched a silent movie till the end coz no one at the resort seemed to be proficient in fixing the audio.

The resort has 2 big let downs - the bar and the rooms.

The bar, during my stay was barely staffed and seemed to be bare. One had to hunt for the bartenders and it seemed more of an add on than a fully stocked bar.

First night - I stayed in a room with central heating, 24 hrs hot water and a decent view.

I moved to the lodge the second night. The lodge had no TV's in the bedrooms, dingy smells and geysers. One would have thought that the lodge wa supposed to be an improvement on the rooms. I still recommend the lodge - coz you get your private garden and oodles of space to do your "King of the world" bit in.

And seriously, they need to upgrade their TV's - no one who checks into a resort at almost 10000 a day is going to be ok watching a tiny 15 inch TV set anymore. The wi fi was non existent and for those who need to check their office emails once a day, this will be inconvenient.

There were fridges in the room, which were off, empty and gave off a very faint fungi kind of smell. If they are not to be used, store them elsewhere or at the very least, turn it into a mini bar so I dont have to keep calling for a bottle of coke.

My experience at the resort was mixed but not unpleasant. I had a great time, I dabbled with table tennis, rolled up my jeans and crossed the river to the other side, slept a lot, lay about in the sun, ate a lot and drank my rum. The resort won purely coz of its staff and dining experience.

In my humble opinion, this resort needs to decide if they wish to be a classy, luxury property or a property that is content being a little mediocre when it comes to their rooms and amenities.

A weird quirk with the lodge was that would not give you the key to the main door but only the keys to the bedrooms inside. This was restrictive coz I could never leave anything in the common areas and as a result the common areas got ignored or barely used. This is an easy fix and for the life of me cant figure out why they do this.

Overall, a place to go if you're looking for romance, loads of laziness, dining, bonfires and walks. Am sure the resort will improve on its gaps but loved your staff, loved your food, loved the performances and bonfires. I truly hope to return after a gap to find the subtle improvements that would make my stay truly memorable.

Room Tip: Rooms have 24 hrs hot water and central heating and a view. Mid sized rooms. Lodges have a privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rogergeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We are a Travel Company - Grisbi Holidays. based out of Mumbai, We took a Corporate group
for a Dealer's Meet. Right from the Welcome ... followed by Hot Tea & Snacks after the Long drive from Delhi...to the Ch. In...for almost 90 people done without a hitch! Our Rooms were warm & cosy when we entered in the January cold. a lovely Bonfire wasfollowed by Dinner.
Our stay was for 3 Nts....i especially noticed the personal attention to details taken by the resort GM, Mr. Pan Singh Bisht. Housekeeping was good with fresh smelling Linen and rooms being cleaned everyday without being asked. The Food Spread everyday was good with variations to keep things interesting. We were given all help to conduct our Event in the large Conference Hall. good facilities...Their Jungle Theme Dinner was a Lovely experience...with the live Fire Juggler's and Guitarist being a Big Hit with our Group. again I found Mr. Pan Singh personally overseeing all arrangements with a hand's on approach, which made a tremendous difference to the way things were conducted. Our Ch. Out at 5.30 am. was as by now expected from them....done without any hassle with Hot Tea /Coffee with Sandwitches being served to our group at that predawn hour with packed breakfast.
In short We are looking forward to take more groups as well as fit's to the resort.

Room Tip: All the rooms have their own charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank india47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Our family of 5 adults and 2 kids stayed in the resort in the Tiger Lodge- a three bedroom villa - on a package deal for 3 days prior to Xmas in Dec 2011. While the villa is big, the upholestry was shabby and old giving the whole place a dirty and worn out look. We were given to understand that some of the villas (4 bedrooms) are under renovation while the rooms were done sometime back. However we could not see any rooms to confirm this. The room toilets were ok, with a leaking flush and the showers not working. The fire place in the common room was operational and one had to order the forewood at INR 500/ day. On the positive side, the hotel staff are friendly, courteous and prompt and we appreciate their thoughtfullness in arranging a warm dinner for all of us due to a delayed train journey from Delhi. Only one of the restaurant in the resort was open (the grill restaurant was closed). Food is mostly buffet and typical North Indian stuff. The resort did make an effort to organise a Kumoni dance /wildlife film, prior to dinnertime and also arranged bonfires for all guests.The resort is just next to River Kosi but the riverside was not exactly clean and one needs to be careful while walking. Location is a plus. Overall don't expect luxury but an OK experience. Would rate it a 3 star property.

Room Tip: The 3 bedroom villa cost us Rs. 25000/- for 2 days, far cheaper than nearby properties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RashmiSharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jim Corbett National Park hotels
12.1 km away
Aahana the Corbett Wilderness
Aahana the Corbett Wilderness
#2 of 60 in Jim Corbett National Park
579 reviews
0.9 km away
Namah
Namah
#1 of 8 in Dhikuli
450 reviews
15.0 km away
The Solluna Resort
The Solluna Resort
#3 of 60 in Jim Corbett National Park
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 km away
The Golden Tusk
The Golden Tusk
#1 of 4 in Dhela
576 reviews
15.4 km away
Corbett - Treetop Riverview, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.9 km away
Country Inn Corbett
Country Inn Corbett
#30 of 60 in Jim Corbett National Park
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverview Retreat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverview Retreat

Property: The Riverview Retreat
Address: 'Zero' Garjia, Dhikuli, Ramnagar, | Jim Corbett National Park, Jim Corbett National Park 244715, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Jim Corbett National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Jim Corbett National Park
#4 Spa Hotel in Jim Corbett National Park
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,291 - ₹ 13,994
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Riverview Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful haven innovatively designed with independently air-conditioned lodges with drawing room and sit outs allows guests complete privacy and the freedom to feel at home. The essence of Indian lifestyle is captured in understated luxurious interiors with sloping tiled roofs, cool stone floors with throw rugs and traditional block wood furniture. Private sit outs and garden, offers maximum comfort while continuing the illusion of being in the wilds. Exclusive private villas with air-conditioned rooms and suites. Tasteful decor of rooms with plenty of daylight, and the large bedrooms and a sitting area are the distinctive features of the Riverview Retreat . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Yatra, TravelGuru, MakeMyTrip and Agoda so you can book your The Riverview Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riverview Retreat Jim Corbett National Park, Uttarakhand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing