We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“place to lay your head and nothing more”
Review of Hotel Surabi

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vellore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Surabi
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Vellore
Jamaica
Level Contributor
301 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“place to lay your head and nothing more”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Pleasant enough but ...
TV had the channel selector button and volume button removed...ceiling fan, light fixture falling off the wall. I just cannot get excited about this place. Highlight was the small garden at the front of the hotel. Reasonable room rate. Staff were pleasant but english communication was a challenge. Oh and the 7am wakeup call came at 1:30am. But then again this is India

Room Tip: why are you in Vellore anyway...not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank im44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    17
    29
    10
    2
See reviews for
27
3
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

There are not many great hotels in Vellore, and hence in that light, even a not so great place becomes good comparatively. Same is case with Hotel Surabi. In Vellore, it is among the best hotels..
Rooms: good in size.. however, lit in only yelow dim light.
bathroom : good, all fittings working fine.
breakfast: not that great..
service : ok ok ... little slow in getting food.. also they dont understand hindi or english, so not easy for a traveller..
receptiom : courteous and fine.

I would check out a couple of other hotels in vellore before checking into this one next time. However, fine hotel.

Room Tip: take a rooms on the higher floors, reception area gets noisy sometimes
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

After reading the reviews I was skeptical of Surabi but was pleasantly surprised by experiencing their hospitality, first hand. Right from the Reception desk experience to the allocation of Room, the Service was super quick and efficient. The Food served at their 2 Restaurants is good but not excellent. However after sumptuous meals I always found the Bill value much lower than what I had planned for. I did not see anyone demanding tips as mentioned by some guests. One golden rule, that I always follow, is to tip the staff frequently after each act of good service and not wait for check out time to handover the tips. This has worked wonders for me. The Golden temple is just 5-6 kms from the Hotel, which is conveniently located in the heart of Vellore city. The Deluxe room was spacious enough for 3 ; well maintained ; clean bathroom ; the Air Conditioning was very efficient. The Hotel also provides good car parking space within the premises. I must say Surabi offers great Value for Money and hope they maintain the same level of service quality for years to come.

Room Tip: Book well in advance and there is no need to pay an advance amount. The Reception service is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arvind_foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

The hotel is no frills and does not promise any great service. There can be great inconsistency in service and food. They do not provide complementary bottled water. A simple request for plate and salt took well over 50 minutes. The staff expects tips and makes it pretty clear. The rooms are pretty big and bathrooms are OK- depending on your expectations. A/C does not work well in a few rooms (I changed two rooms). Breakfast is usually pretty spartan. They could not provide a decent Omelet.The food ordered on the next day however, was good.cable TV does not provide either quality or quantity. There is no Internet connection in the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with working A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dipankar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

we stayed one night on 28 July 2011. When we checked out in the morning, we were told by the lady at the reception (her name is Deepa) that we have to pay an extra 300 rupees for tips, although we had already tipped every one from the room service and restaurant personnel. She will not issue a recipt for the tips. Also she did not have change to return the balance amount and she did not return the balance 100 rupees as well. The hotel management should do something about their staff, who rip-off the customers.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveller1154913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vellore hotels
2.9 km away
Darling Residency
Darling Residency
#3 of 14 in Vellore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
2.8 km away
Hotel Khanna Fiesta
Hotel Khanna Fiesta
#2 of 14 in Vellore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
4.8 km away
Regency Sameera Vellore By GRT Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Poppys Anukula Residency
2.3 km away
Gee Kay Millennia
Gee Kay Millennia
#10 of 14 in Vellore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
6.7 km away
Rangalaya Royal
Rangalaya Royal
#5 of 14 in Vellore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Surabi? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Surabi

Property: Hotel Surabi
Address: No.33 Officer's Line, Vellore 632001, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Vellore District > Vellore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Vellore
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,398 - ₹ 3,629
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Surabi 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Hotel Surabi Vellore, Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing