We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing descent into babudom”
Review of Kabini River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nagarhole National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kabini River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Being interested in conservation and wildlife we have stayed in several safari lodges and forest resorts. And this trip to Kabini Jungle Lodges was made after a break of seven years. We were so disappointed to see that things had taken a downward turn from our last visit.

Housekeeping: We stayed in a room located in the North Block. The fireplace of our room was blocked off with masking tape and ‘suguna eggs’ cardboard cartons. The aesthetics in the room was dreadful starting from the counterpane, shower curtains to the floor mats. More importantly the lights on the corridor of our rooms did not work. Being in a forested place I consider this essential to see what you are stepping on. The sheets and towels were musty.

The extra bed in our room was broken, and we had booked a 3-person room. The bed was only changed on the 2nd night of our stay!

Service: Was terribly indifferent, especially the staff at the dining hall. The staff could do with some basic training.

Safari experience: The jeep we had for two of our safaris was in bad shape the seat was sunken and uneven. The driver did not as much as greet or acknowledge us. Simple lessons in courtesy for the drivers and naturalist will go a long way in making the experience pleasant.

It had rained heavily before our safari and the canvas covers were full of water from the rain. Without even a cursory cleaning and letting the water out of the canvas, we ended up getting wet from the water in the jeep.

Altogether a disappointing stay, reminded me somewhat of an apathetic government guesthouse.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank notintentonarriving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,028)
There are newer reviews for Kabini River Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

909 - 913 of 1,028 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

Is this the best run government hotel in India? I think so as do many others judging by their occupation statistics. The Lodge basically offers a complete package which is good value if you are Indian but less so as a foreigner. I fail to understand 2-tier pricing based on race and I have raised the point with the GM here - to no avail. The rooms are all large and well equipped without AC/TV/Phone - you do not need them, take a break! The tours ere excellent,the staff are helpful and more important knowledgeable and many of them are from tribal communities so this is an employer who takes the time to care for local livelihood. Please check out all the environmental work that is done by the staff at the Lodge.

Room Tip: River rooms
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank npk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The Kabini River Lodge is a fantastic resort by the Kabini River just outside the Nagarhole National Park. We had booked the one day package which includes a jeep safari and a boat safari. The resort itself is very well maintained and the staff was very helpful. We booked a cottage overlooking the river. The rooms are very well maintained and I did not have any complaints. The food (lunch, dinner, breakfast) is in the form of a buffet service and the food itself was excellent with loads of options. There is absolutely no compromise on quality and I was really impressed with the service that we were offered.
We were told that the best chance of spotting a tiger in the wild was at Nagarhole (compared to the other tiger reserves around the country). So we were really looking forward to the safaris. The Kabini river lodge has a very well organized safari program. The guides are really good at tracking animals and were trying hard to ensure that we spot the big game.
The thrill of entering the jungle in open top jeeps trying to sport the tiger or the leopard is unparalleled. We were unable to spot any leopard or tiger during the jeep safari but were able to spot the tiger during the boat safari. Other animal we spotted were elephants, deer, sambar, wild boars, otters, peacocks, crocodiles and a whole load of other bird species.
Will surely be back for the leopard.

Room Tip: Choose the tents or the cottages which are very close to and overlooking the river.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nishidk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I stayed in Kabini River Lodge for a day in the tented cottage in March 2012. The tent was nice and big and very comfortable, the surroundings were scenic and the safaris were decent if not too exiting. The food was tasty though not too elaborate and every thing was well planned. The property is however small and i would assume that if one was to stay for more than a day there would not bee too much to do there. Having said that I did really enjoy staying there and would recommend the river lodge if you just wanted to chill out in the middle of the jungle. Its a very pretty property. The road at the fag end of the journey to Kabini River Lodge was terrible and we spent 1 hour just covering 12 kms on that bumpy road.

Room Tip: There arent too many boards with directons to the resort either but its very close to the Serai and...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbuggy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Kabini River Lodge provided us an organized and well-run safari visit, through their “Jungle Package.” The days are scheduled around two daily boat excurions/jeep drives; one in the early morning and one in the late afternoon. The animal sightings were excellent: deer, elephant, numerous birds, wild boar, gaur, leopard, monkey. Bring binoculars to take full advantage of harder to spot wildlife.

Mornings start off with coffee or tea prior to the morning activity. Breakfast is served upon returning to Kabini around 9:30. There is time between breakfast and lunch for a massage at the spa or a guided walk around the property (we enjoyed both, on different days). After lunch, we usually napped before the afternoon activity, which left around 15:30. One-hour nature movies were shown each night at 19:30, followed by dinner starting at 20:30. Food was served buffet style with numerous Indian and Western choices.

We had a Maharaja’s cottage which was very large, with a river-facing balcony. Trees obscured much of the river but the balcony and the quiet privacy were quite pleasing.

Although relatively expensive, Kabini runs a very high quality program, which given the excellent wildlife viewings, we deemed to be well worth the expense.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingOurDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nagarhole National Park
1.5 km away
Evolve Back, Kabini
Evolve Back, Kabini
#1 of 1 in Beeramballi
1,335 reviews
27.9 km away
The Serai Kabini
The Serai Kabini
#1 of 1 in Nagarhole National Park
395 reviews
6.1 km away
Red Earth, Kabini
Red Earth, Kabini
#3 of 6 in Nagarhole National Park
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Waterwoods Kabini
Waterwoods Kabini
#1 of 6 in Nagarhole National Park
490 reviews
2.4 km away
The Peepal Tree Kabini
The Peepal Tree Kabini
#6 of 6 in Nagarhole National Park
123 reviews
3.1 km away
Kaav Safari Lodge - Kabini
Kaav Safari Lodge - Kabini
#2 of 6 in Nagarhole National Park
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kabini River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kabini River Lodge

Address: Nissana Beltur Post, HD Kote Taluk, | Karapura, Nagarhole National Park 571114, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Coorg > Nagarhole National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Nagarhole National Park
Price Range: ₹ 4,100 - ₹ 6,350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Kabini River Hotel Nagarhole
Kabini River Lodge Nagarhole National Park, Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing