We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jungle Lodge on Kabini River” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kabini River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nagarhole National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kabini River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Auroville, India
Level Contributor
176 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Jungle Lodge on Kabini River”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Is this the best run government hotel in India? I think so as do many others judging by their occupation statistics. The Lodge basically offers a complete package which is good value if you are Indian but less so as a foreigner. I fail to understand 2-tier pricing based on race and I have raised the point with the GM here - to no avail. The rooms are all large and well equipped without AC/TV/Phone - you do not need them, take a break! The tours ere excellent,the staff are helpful and more important knowledgeable and many of them are from tribal communities so this is an employer who takes the time to care for local livelihood. Please check out all the environmental work that is done by the staff at the Lodge.

Room Tip: River rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank npk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    316
    56
    11
    12
See reviews for
417
175
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

The Kabini River Lodge is a fantastic resort by the Kabini River just outside the Nagarhole National Park. We had booked the one day package which includes a jeep safari and a boat safari. The resort itself is very well maintained and the staff was very helpful. We booked a cottage overlooking the river. The rooms are very well maintained and I did not have any complaints. The food (lunch, dinner, breakfast) is in the form of a buffet service and the food itself was excellent with loads of options. There is absolutely no compromise on quality and I was really impressed with the service that we were offered.
We were told that the best chance of spotting a tiger in the wild was at Nagarhole (compared to the other tiger reserves around the country). So we were really looking forward to the safaris. The Kabini river lodge has a very well organized safari program. The guides are really good at tracking animals and were trying hard to ensure that we spot the big game.
The thrill of entering the jungle in open top jeeps trying to sport the tiger or the leopard is unparalleled. We were unable to spot any leopard or tiger during the jeep safari but were able to spot the tiger during the boat safari. Other animal we spotted were elephants, deer, sambar, wild boars, otters, peacocks, crocodiles and a whole load of other bird species.
Will surely be back for the leopard.

Room Tip: Choose the tents or the cottages which are very close to and overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nishidk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Kabini River Lodge provided us an organized and well-run safari visit, through their “Jungle Package.” The days are scheduled around two daily boat excurions/jeep drives; one in the early morning and one in the late afternoon. The animal sightings were excellent: deer, elephant, numerous birds, wild boar, gaur, leopard, monkey. Bring binoculars to take full advantage of harder to spot wildlife.

Mornings start off with coffee or tea prior to the morning activity. Breakfast is served upon returning to Kabini around 9:30. There is time between breakfast and lunch for a massage at the spa or a guided walk around the property (we enjoyed both, on different days). After lunch, we usually napped before the afternoon activity, which left around 15:30. One-hour nature movies were shown each night at 19:30, followed by dinner starting at 20:30. Food was served buffet style with numerous Indian and Western choices.

We had a Maharaja’s cottage which was very large, with a river-facing balcony. Trees obscured much of the river but the balcony and the quiet privacy were quite pleasing.

Although relatively expensive, Kabini runs a very high quality program, which given the excellent wildlife viewings, we deemed to be well worth the expense.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingOurDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Good resort with four British bungalows and a set of new cottages and a few "tents", all on the shore of the Kabini reservoir. We stayed in the Bungalow rooms which are spacious excellent (no aircon, no TV, no phone, but cell phones work). They are so spacious they have three beds so a family of two adults and one child can stay in a single room. Food is healthy and oil-free.

The best part of this resort are the safaris - one boat safari and one Jeep safari. We took the boat safari in the evening and the jeep safari next day morning. The boat safari had very enthusiastic guide and boatman. They pointed out things we are likely to miss on our own - otters swimming in the water, turtles on the shore of the reservoir, the names of every single bird species that we saw. I was able to get some excellent photographs too. Elephant sighting are easy here.

The highlight of the Jeep safari next day was a tiger sighting. One of the jeeps spotted a tiger and spread the work around. We rushed to the spot and joined three other jeeps already there. We got a half hour darshan after which two of the jeeps started their engines causing the tiger to saunter out of sight. We waited for another 10 minutes hoping it will reappear but that proved futile. After almost two decades of sanctuary visits this is the first time I sighted a tiger. All thanks to the JLR team.

Room Tip: Stay in the bungalows. They have character. The cottages are new and modern and hence sterile. Some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kkumar74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

My wife and I had a great time watching wildlife from boats and jeeps. And the rooms and food were quite good. However, the management allowed obnoxiously loud parties (corporate retreats, we guessed), and wouldn't ask the partiers to get quiet even after we asked. We were kept awake until nearly dawn. I hope this is not a normal practice.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rod_Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nagarhole National Park
1.5 km away
Orange County Resorts Kabini
Orange County Resorts Kabini
#1 of 2 in Nagarhole National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
27.9 km away
The Serai Kabini
The Serai Kabini
#2 of 2 in Nagarhole National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
26.7 km away
Hiliya Resort
Hiliya Resort
#2 of 2 in Kenichira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Waterwoods Kabini
Waterwoods Kabini
#2 of 5 in Nagarhole National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
3.1 km away
Kaav Safari Lodge - Kabini
Kaav Safari Lodge - Kabini
#1 of 5 in Nagarhole National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
5.9 km away
Red Earth, Kabini
Red Earth, Kabini
#1 of 1 in Kittur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kabini River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kabini River Lodge

Property: Kabini River Lodge
Address: Nagarhole National Park 571114, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Nagarhole National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Nagarhole National Park
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,820 - ₹ 15,820
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Kabini River Hotel Nagarhole
Kabini River Lodge Nagarhole National Park, Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing