We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil yet stimulating The Bison offers the perfect wild life adventure !”
Review of The Bison

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nagarhole National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bison
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2011

The Bison

Located on the backwaters of the exotic Kabini river , The Bison
resort is an amazing experience that words cant describe ! Respect for
the forest and her inhabitants , the environment created at The Bison
is a perfect example of man and wildlife living in harmony . Its easy
accessibility, lush green landscape surrounding a large picturesque
lake, and fantastic sightings of large herds of elephants leopard and
bison make a very special destination .They employ only locals which
too gives that special feel - like everything belongs !
The accommodation is high end luxurious tents , most on the bank of
the exotic Kabini river , spacious and very comfortable . Lounge on
your private deck and take in a breath taking sunset - or simply the
alive sounds of the jungle . A few luxury suites on stilts with
private sitting areas are a treat to be in . All tents have their own
private loos .
The reception area which too is on stilts has a well equipped library
. Sitting here you take in the beauty of the river and the jungle .
The dining area too is located here . Food is excellent too .
On your early morning and evening safari's they have well trained
naturalists who take you through an awesome wildlife experience of
the jungle where you will in all probability sight not only tiger ,
leopard and magnificent bisons but will also experience herds of
elephants gliding through the early morning mist, or the alarm calls
of sambar, spotted deer and peacocks as they warn of a tigers
presence. !
We were fortunate to have Shaaz Jung , one of the owners with us whose
personal attention and vast knowledge made our trip perfect . I
believe that Shaaz now runs the Bison - so expect the best !
I highly recommend The Bison at Kabini .

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank atoolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

419 - 423 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2011

Every year i travel to India for the summer and this year i had planned to do something different. Id heard a lot of good things about The Bison and i chose to go stay there for a week.

Let me start by saying that this is no normal resort. Its not a resort. Its more a boutique lodge. The exclusivity it offers is unique in such an area. The location is prime and probably the best Kabini has to offer. Its the only property which overlooks the heart of the forest elephants and deer were commonly spotted across the water. The close accessibility to the forest allows the lodge to offer many unique activities such as night bush dinners and thrilling (sometimes frightening) treks.

In spite of the rains we managed to spot some decent rain and even a large cat!

The only negative point i have is regarding the food. Although the food was great, it wasn't always hot. I like my food steaming hot and after your first round it was warm but not hot. In an area so remote its understandable and after i pointed it out to them they seemed to make sure it was hot for the remaining meals. However, this small issue was completely overshadowed by the wonderful staff and simply stunning and cosy rooms. The bathrooms made my holiday.

I will surely go back and a special thanks to Shaaz Jung for making this holiday one to remember.

Room Tip: Book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Naintara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We spent 2 nights at the Bison recently - we are a family of 3 - me, my wife and 2 year old child.

Let me begin with what was good: We chose to live in a luxury tent. The Bison luxury tents have an incredible location - right on the banks of the Kabini river. In terms of location I think the resort is exceptional. It also has a nice rustic, old world charm about it - thatched roof tents, no TV, nice wind blowing in from the river, great views of the river etc. All the common areas around the resort are built to take advantage of the views of the river. Wonderful fresh air, good bird sightings are all more or less a given. There is a viewing deck and the resort provides you with powerful binoculars and other viewing aids which might just help you spot the odd wildlife on the other bank of the river which is where the forest reserve lies.

The Bad: The Karnataka Govt, issued a circular preventing any private resort from conducting safaris in the reserve meaning that no private vehicles are allowed into the reserve until further notice. We learnt later that this circular was issued quite some time before we did our booking - the resort however did not inform us of this during our booking. We received an sms from the resort the night before our arrival informing us that they will not be able to ply their vehicles into the resort and while they will try to get us safaris booked with the forest reserve vehicles they cannot guarantee it.

When we made our booking we were also assured that room service will be available. When we arrived at the resort we learnt that they don't offer room service and don't even have a telephone in the tent so there was no question of calling room service. With a 2 year old child it is extremely uncomfortable living in a resort that does not offer room service.

To add to our woes - we reached the resort to find that we were the only ones booked into the resort and while I cannot hold this against the resort - what I do hold against them was that apart from a cook and a helper the entire staff was missing. The cook had to check us in, cook the food, serve the food, show us around, arrange the safaris, wait tables, clear the tables, provide room service, collect the laundry and do pretty much everything that is expected of a fully staffed resort. Inspite of repeatedly being promised that the staff will be returning soon - the entire staff did not return until that last few hours of our stay turning up at 1:00 am on the morning we were leaving.

The Bison is extraordinarly expensive for an extremley ordinary attitude towards the customer.

The Saving Grace: The cook. While his food left a lot to be desired - but one cant blame him given the 100 other responsibilites that he had to handle - his attitude and responsiveness were incredible. He was the sole saving grace for us in the entire holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vikarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

This is a nice & quaint place, but considering the tariff (Rs. 5,600 per head), I think it's a complete rip-off. The place is actually nice, right on the banks of the river, but considering that there is hardly any luxury, nor even a proper road, it should be priced much lower. The last few kms to the place is a complete mud-track, which is difficult to negotiate in the rains.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
3  Thank DM_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

By far the best resort in the Kabini area.
As you arrive, Shaaz Jung plays an excellent host as he does his best to make you feel @ home and makes the holiday an experience to remember for a life time.
very well maintained spacious tents.
excellent location with the best possible view of the jungle from the resort.
Wildlife is seen in the evenings around the water from the resort/ rooms itself.
The owners personal interest in the jungle is seen in every aspect of the place.

THE BEST HOLIDAY I HAVE EVER EXPERIENCED.

Room Tip: The machans and the tents have an excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MominAnsari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nagarhole National Park
3.1 km away
Evolve Back, Kabini
Evolve Back, Kabini
#1 of 1 in Beeramballi
1,342 reviews
29.9 km away
The Serai Kabini
The Serai Kabini
#1 of 1 in Nagarhole National Park
396 reviews
25.2 km away
Hiliya Resort
Hiliya Resort
#2 of 3 in Kenichira
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Red Earth, Kabini
Red Earth, Kabini
#3 of 6 in Nagarhole National Park
742 reviews
2.4 km away
Waterwoods Kabini
Waterwoods Kabini
#1 of 6 in Nagarhole National Park
500 reviews
5.0 km away
The Peepal Tree Kabini
The Peepal Tree Kabini
#6 of 6 in Nagarhole National Park
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bison? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bison

Address: Gundathur Village (Karapura - Kabini), Nagarhole National Park 571114, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Coorg > Nagarhole National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Nagarhole National Park
Price Range: ₹ 4,500 - ₹ 6,900 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene and tranquil through the day yet exciting and stimulating at night; the Bison, a boutique tented camp, the first of its kind in India, offers luxury at the very of adventure. "The Bison" is situated at the confluence of the Bandipur and Nagarhole National Parks, on the shores of the exotic Kabini River in Karnataka (west of Mysore), which offers you the perfect wildlife adventure. It is the only resort in the area which directly overlooks the national park. Elephants and other wildlife are regularly spotted from the resort. The decor and ambiance of the camp recreates the adventurous decadence of a bygone era. Wooden floors, elegant linen, beautiful artifacts, old cabin trunks and other original antiques seek to enhance the rustic setting of the camp site. Each tent is lavishly furnished with double beds, writing and dressing tables, full length mirror and arm chairs. En-suite bathrooms with expansive showers are a virtual treat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bison Nagarhole National Park, Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing