We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing environment - A must to experience”

Cairns Botanical Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 79.26*
and up
Cairns Sightseeing Tour Including Botanical Gardens, Mt Whitfield and the Dome
Ranked #43 of 140 things to do in Cairns Region
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tropical Gardens
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing environment - A must to experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Cairns Botanical Gardens are awesome. This is a great place to go to, chill out and be amongst pure natural beauty.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank KiteboardingCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    30
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Keeps drawing me back in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

I've been to Cairns four times. I've been to the Cairns Botanic Gardens, that's right, four times. The place is irresistible and is home to a superb collection of some of the most astounding tropical plants I've ever seen. The immense range of orchids, ferns, ginger plants, palms and everything in between needs to be seen to be believed. Some plants and flowers appear almost alien-like in their beauty.
Entry to the gardens is free, and there are daily guides run by volunteers to help explain the many intricacies of the plant-life.
Be mindful that mosquitoes can be quite active in dense tropical areas such as this, so it would be good practice to apply some quality repellent before you visit on the off-chance that they are present.
The gardens themselves aren't particular large and you'll probably find yourself having seen everything in 2 hours or so. They are located slightly north of the CBD (near the airport) accessible by bus, taxi or easy bike ride. Do make the effort to go and see the gardens - mark my words, you will you be glad you did!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank philby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
167 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Australian Plant lover's delight (also free)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Cairns Botanical Gardens- a memorable experience for plant lovers-even in the muggy 88 degree heat. The  highly informative section on aborignal plants contained easy-to-understand explanations. The Flecker gardens were beautifully landscaped, filled with brilliantly colored summer flowering plants.  The nursery, located diagonally to the left of the entrance, contains the infamous "stinky" plant  (Titan Arum). At the former headquarters building we saw the most informative introduction to the infamous "stinging plant."  The glass enclosure allows you to view all the tiny but dangerous spikes on the leaves without harming yourself-making it easier to be wary of contact. Less impressive was the Godwanna trail- not so well laid out or labelled as the other sections. The new headquarters are lodged in an as-yet incompleted mirror glass builing with very few items for sale. Worth a visit, however, in summer  for the fully-functioning air conditioning.

Helpful?
Thank seed37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Flecker Botanic Gardens.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

This park is a Tropical Rain-Forest right smack bang in Cairns. Public transport will take you the park gates. There are very easy walking, bicycle and hiking paths & trails, picnic, BBQ & Playground facilities, public toilets with disabled facilities, Information & gift shop, Arts centre and cafe. Thousands of exotic tropical flowering plants, lily ponds, butterflies and birds of every colour and description can be easily photographed here. Tree frogs, lizards, snakes and salt water crocodiles can also be seen. There are many places to visit in here. Centenary Lakes & Rain Forest Boardwalk, Gondwanan Heritage Garden, The Lowland Swamp Forest, Rain Forest Boardwalk, Freshwater Lake, Melaleuca Wetlands, Bamboo Forest and of course Saltwater Lake. Visitors are well advised to heed the warning signs at all times, as crocodiles bigger than 2 meters regularly cross through the swamps and wetlands. So be careful and enjoy this amazing place.

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
3 Thank Annette122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
285 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Tropical paradise in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

I visited the Botanical Gardens this week - my first visit. I was amazed with the quality of the gardens and its tropical plants. I was a little disappointed with the orchard selections - with only a few specimens it seemed in the orchard house - blooming or otherwise. I strolled through the gardens which has some lovely walks which take you through the understory of the rainforest area as well as beautifully manicured lawns set under the palms. Whilst there I noticed a group of people having a lunch on the lawns in an area which looked very inviting. There is a restaurant but I didn't have time to try this so cannot comment. I will definately be visiting the gardens again when next I visit Cairns. If you are thinking or starting or perhaps have a tropical or even subtropical gardens, some great ideas of plant selection and groupings can be found here.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank cruizin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cairns Botanical Gardens also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Cairns Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing