We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau Ormes de Pez
Nearby Hotels
Chateau Pomys(Saint-Estephe)
US$ 105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$ 100
US$ 98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 153
US$ 147
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Chateau de Mirambeau(Mirambeau)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 60
US$ 58
Booking.com
View Deal
Chateau des Salles(Saint Fort sur Gironde)
US$ 171
US$ 165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 122
US$ 119
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 304
US$ 161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maison Jeroboam(Saint-Estephe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
77
10
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
10
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh squeezed juicecooking workshopwine tastinglynch bagesdinner reservationsmedoc areaother guestscharcuterieguest housebreakfast was includedswimming pooltwo nightscomfortable bedgillesestepheloungechateau
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2016

What you get here is a reasonably priced Bordeaux Chateau. It has only 5 rooms, so does give a feeling of exclusivity.

It just offers B&B (we were there 2 nights, and there was no dinner on offer) so you do have to go out for dinner. They do offer you a good selection of restaurants to choose from, and make the reservations for you. Driving at night round the area, it being a good 20 to 30 minutes to reach a restaurant, is not easy - I was grateful for our GPS

We only came across the eponymous Gilles, mentioned in a number of reviews, as we were checking out. But we were well looked after by the lady that was on duty.

As well as offering to book restaurants, they will, if you ask when you book, make reservations for tastings at well known chateaux in the area. My feeling is you get better options if you go through them

They do sell Ch Ormes de Pez wines, and we had a very fine bottle to drink with tapas on the nights we were there.

Apart from a traditional bedroom, a period lounge, you can also enjoy the pool in the grounds

You would find it hard to get closer to the "chateaux experience" than staying a few nights here.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank moraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016

We stayed four nights at the Chateau Ormes de Pez in early August 2016 and we could not be any more delighted with our experience. This small (5 rooms, max. 10 guests) B&B is located in the petit but elegant manor of a vineyard acquired by the Cazes family, owners of the larger Chateau Lynch Bages. The intendant Gilles de Marcellus is a warm, generous, knowledgeable host, eager to ensure that your stay is just what you like. In our case he arranged six wine tours/tastings at area Chateaux, made reservations at two fabulous restaurants, facilitated a picnic dinner on the grounds the night of our arrival, cooked and served a marvelous lamb dinner for us and two other couples, and as others have noted prepared a lovely breakfast with home-made pastries each morning. The rooms have lofty ceilings, elegant tile floors, huge windows, and an distinctive sense of space and ease. We enjoyed relaxing at the small pool and on the comfy lawn furniture in the large enclosed lawn, surrounded by the cellar and vineyards of a working Chateau. When we wanted an excellent bottle of wine for lunch or the evening, we just purchased it from the wine cellar on the premises. Gilles is very knowledgeable about wines, happy to explain and make recommendations about the different vintages available.

What we loved most about our stay is the authenticity of staying at a real wine chateau in a historic village of the Medoc, the immersion in the slow pace of life in this magical wine region, and the warmth and charm of the people we met. We'd recommend Chateau Ormes de Pez to anyone who wants that kind of experience.

Room Tip: Our room (first floor rear) was fabulous, but don't know how it compares with the others.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JeffCoryell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We stayed 2 nights, and it was wonderful. The chateau was beautiful and very quiet and relaxing. The other guests were very friendly, as well. Gilles was very welcoming. He set up a tour for us at one of the local wineries, which the tour was very informative.
We would definitely come back and stay here.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Gabi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed there only one night in the big room at the ground floor, wonderful maintained, superb decorations, fantastic staff! Nice charming area, hotel, breakfast buffet, they helped is for a lunch place, free bike rent, free wine tour, ... Recommended and you will enjoy the garden lounge or on cooler days the fireplace in the lounge! Next time we sleep only there, easy to access and many chateaus nearby! Recommended

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bruno S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Everything about Chateau Ormes de Pez was perfect. The manager, Gilles, provided excellent service from the moment of our arrival, booking three complimentary and very interesting winery tours and providing advice about where to eat and what to see. At one of the wineries, owned by a very rich and famous French businessman, the proprietor himself greeted us.
Our room on the ground floor at the rear was large, comfortable and beautifully appointed room. The Chateau is very peaceful. The breakfasts were excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bixkut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews