We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning restaurant in Castello”
Review of L'Antico Borgo

L'Antico Borgo
Ranked #6 of 72 Restaurants in Gragnano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 11 - US$ 23
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Grill
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

We loved this restaurant. Castello the village where this restaurant is located is not the easiest of places to get to, however when your up there there is a choice of several restaurant none of which can match this for its ambience, quality and service of which is second to none.

We speak no Italian and the staff speak little English but with the aide of Google we got by. I had a sausage and broccoli pizza, unheard of in the U.K. but it was delicious my wife had pasta with tomato sauce and grilled veg.

We’re in our 5th day in Italy and this was our cheapest meal yet best. I only wish we lived closer.

Date of visit: July 2018
2  Thank ds00044724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2017

Arrived in the area to find next door Agriturismo closed for lunch, so Antico Borge agreed to feed us a late lunch. Absolutely delicious food and a beautiful location in a high village above Gragnano.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kscdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

What a great find! Can't recommend highly enough. Ate there 2 days ago and had a very special dinner. We speak no Italian and they speak very little English so we were entirely in their hands but we were very well looked after- plate after plate of delicious food appeared with a smile. A true Italian experience!

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank sophietredinnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed the village, the food and the people. Pizzas were amazing and after 2 visits, we felt at home with the owner offering us his grappa, talking to us as if we had known each other a long time.

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank Noelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2014

Located in an old village at the end of the valley of mills just outside Gragnano, l'Antico Borgo is a very local and friendly place where you can enjoy great food. Be it the anti pasti, with home made salami, the pasta which was quite interesting, out of season tomatoe being replaced with seasonal pumpkin, or the pizza, everything was a delight. Also the owners were so nice, we went again the next day and felt almost like home. They made us try their Lemoncello which was perfect, not too sweet, and apple spirit which was also very good.
Having our Agriturismo very close, we could see that on the week end, the place was filled with local clients, young and old, which is a sign that the place is a local benchmark.

Date of visit: November 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Noelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Antico Borgo also viewed

Gragnano, Province of Naples
Gragnano, Province of Naples
 
Gragnano, Province of Naples
Gragnano, Province of Naples
 
Gragnano, Province of Naples
Gragnano, Province of Naples
 

Been to L'Antico Borgo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing