We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Apartment and Excellent Location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ocean Vista

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cabanas, Tavira, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Shelley O
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Apartment and Excellent Location”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a wonderful stay at Ocean Vista, it certain has everything you need for a comfortable and relaxing holiday. The apartment has all the home comforts you need, even though we ate out every night the kitchen comes with everything you need to eat in and the added benefit of a gas barbeque on the roof terrace.

With lovely views from the roof and the balcony, the apartment has a very spacious feel to it. We used the pool everyday and like the apartment this was very clean and to a very high standard. With other facilities such as a gym (which we did not use) a foosball and table tennis table, there's lots to keep you busy but if you just want to relax there are many sunbeds and parasols to relax in the sun.

Cabanas is a lovely place for a relaxing holiday with a large variety of restaurants to suit all needs and a beautiful clean beach.

I would definitely recommend Ocean Vista as a place to stay and will be returning in hopefully the not too distant future.

WARNING: Watch out for the cocktails at Quasi's, they are deceptively strong :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHM101
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Had a truly wonderful stay at Ocean Vista. The apartment is clean, modern and has everything you need whilst there.
The balcony has a great view over the pool and the roof terrace is perfect for enjoying a drink in the early evening sun.
The apartment is in a great location, close proximity to all the restaurants of Cabanas and just a short walk to the little boat that ferries you across to the beautiful beach.
We ate out every night as Cabanas has such a varied choice of restaurants (every meal was enjoyable) but having a supermarket just at the end of the road and a well stocked kitchen at the apartment gives you the option to do both.
The pool area was clean with plenty of sun beds and parasoles.
Overall, our holiday was very chilled and relaxation was the order of the day. Cabanas & the great apartment made this the perfect place to do just that!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed H
Belleville, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well located apartment with great views”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We have just returned from a six week stay in this apartment. It is a well equipped, comfortable "home". The location is great, only short walk to all the amenities of Cabanas, a delightful small non-touristy village. The weather was cool at times but blue skies and sunshine prevailed for most of the time we were there. Warm enough to sometimes sit on the balcony or down at the waterfront to enjoy a coffee or glass of wine. Conveniently situated for the local bus to Tavira and plenty of parking on the street. The new management team of Jeff and Wendy Gwilliam are excellent. Airport pickup and key arrangements worked well, minor hiccups with internet connection were resolved immediately.
Downsides: Both of which were advised by the owners before we booked.
Elevator not working so bit of a climb, but need the exercise after a great meal out at one of the local restaurants. A long winter stay with no TV we thought we could not survive, but with computer links and video player it was not missed. Thanks Martin for a great apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A light bright apartment with great views
Liked least: No elevator
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NuneatonF...
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Reasonable apartment, but great location”
Reviewed 1 January 2015 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was our 2nd week in Portugal, having stayed the previous week in a Villa at Carvoeiro. We were very much looking forward to a week in a luxury apartment; unfortunately our expectations weren't met.

We were disappointed on arrival; whilst much of the apartment was clean, there was a pool of oil on the kitchen work surface and the terraces were filthy. Their faux leather sofas had seen better days; the surface was peeling and blistering. The owner had been severly let down by the property managers.

The apartment is on the top floor of the block. It is a walk and half up the stairs in a sweltering stair case with no air con or ventilation. There was a lift, but this has supposedly never worked. Car parking is on the street outside the apartment.

The pools aren't particularly well maintained and as such we refused to let our kids use them. The water was murky; you couldn't see the bottom of the pool. In my humble opinion, the pools weren't safe to use so we spent a week at the beach and paid to use the pool at the Hairy Lemon on the outskirts of town.

Despite our initial disappointment, we had a good week holiday in Cabanas. The apartment is in a fabulous location for the restaurants and bars along the front. We would recommend the Caipirinhas and Mojitos in Quasi's. You can walk to the ferry to the beach too. Whilst I would recommend a car for exploring further afield, you could actually do without one.

The apartment is well equiped and has air con, a great gas BBQ, dishwasher and washing machine, along with a well stocked kitchen to make things easy. It's beautiful once you are through the front door and a bit of TLC would make all the difference.

The owner is aware of the problems we experienced and did his best to resolve them. Obviously the pool issue is beyond his control, but he did speak to the management company on our behalf. Towards the end of the week, it looked better but still needed some TLC before I'd use it. We received an unreserved apology for the cleaning issue and tatty sofas; we were assured that these matters would be addressed.

Once the cleaning issues are resolved, the pool management is sorted and the sofas are changed, I'd recommend this apartment for anyone wishing to stay in Cabanas. I doubt the lift is going to be resolved anytime soon, so this apartment is not suitable for those requiring pushchairs or wheelchairs or the less-abled.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2015
We are pleased that these guests still managed to enjoy the comfort and amenities at Ocean Vista, even though it appears they didn't have the best of starts to their time with us. Once we were notified, the couple of issues raised were dealt with very quickly. The sofas were replaced and we can confirm that the pool is perfectly clean and safe.
Although there is a lift on site, we make no mention of this facility in our property particulars. However, most guests don't see a few stairs as a problem.
As owners, we take great pride in providing an attractive holiday home and client satisfaction is key to how we operate, which can be evidenced by many glowing reviews from other guests. These particular guests actually stayed in our apartment over six months ago and interestingly forgot to mention that we provided them with monetary compensation for the slight inconvenience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce Peninsula, Canada
Reviewed 8 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing