We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magnificent”
National Park Design Award winning conversion. Stunning!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
National Park Design Award winning conversion. Stunning!
Celebrations on the lower garden at Dale View Barn Stunning Award winning barn conversion
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
National Park Design Award winning conversion. Stunning!
Celebrations on the lower garden at Dale View Barn
Stunning Award winning barn conversion
Children love to help Liz feed the doves
This is a walkers paradise. One of many packhorse bridges found in our local area
Stuff of memories. Relive yours and help the kids make theirs.
Visit Castle Howard, Rievaulx Abbey, en route to the  historic cities of York and Harrogate
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Danby, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
peter s
Oakham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Magnificent”
Reviewed 19 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Dale View Barn offers very luxurious comfortable accommodation in a quiet off the beaten track location. Three generations came together to celebrate an 80th birthday in style and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This is an excellent destination within easy reach of the coast and many attractions.
Our hosts were on hand to offer advice on local attractions and they ensured we experienced most kinds of weather, even snow.
Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2016
Lovely! We're delighted that you had such a great time celebrating altogether here in the barn. The North York Moors National Park really is a special place to stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate T
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A beautiful, stunningly converted barn in the most tranquil setting, could stay there forever.”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

what a delightful place, the owners were so friendly, available if you needed anything but let you enjoy the beauty and tranquillity the barn has to offer.They truly had thought of everything, even though there is another barn nearby it's like you are the only ones staying there it is so quiet, some days we just stayed at the barn. We did visit nearby Whitby, Staithes, Helmsley, Great Ayton and the Danby moors centre. There is so much to see we'll save that for another visit! Just staying at the barn was a treat, homemade scones, coffee/tea, bottle of red, giant Jenga, bowls, badminton,barbecue, I could not find anywhere better!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It is a fabulous conversion, spotlessly clean, everything you need!
Liked least: nothing at all!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2015
Thank you for your kind words we are so glad you enjoyed Dale View Barn and this beautiful area. We look forward to welcoming you back so that you can continue exploring the delights of North Yorkshire.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
744vivien
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful experience!”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

If we could, we would give this cottage 10 *'s. The ultimate in luxury – best cottage ever – best accommodation, amazing attention to detail, quiet, fantastic location, wonderful hosts. Our batteries were re-charged with a vengance!
--

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2015
Thank you so much, 10 *'s indeed :-)
Our batteries are also recharged after such a glowing report.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
“All expectations exceeded !”
Reviewed 24 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

A truly impressive barn conversion set in beautiful rural surroundings at the heart of the North Yorkshire Moors. Furnished, equipped and presented with an attention to detail and level of comfort that is hard to find in holiday rental properties. This combined with such a warm welcome from the owners (who were very keen to ensure that everything we needed was available) made for a really wonderful holiday experience. We've already booked to return in the summer and are looking forward to making use of the lovely outdoor dining area with its striking views of the valley.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2015
Thank you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at our Design Award winning Barn. We do indeed strive to make your holiday as comfortable and special as possible, combined with this amazing scenery and location it all helps to make your holiday experience a great one. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in a few months time. Danny and Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigelb567
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautifully converted barn in a wonderful location”
Reviewed 24 April 2015 for a stay in August 2014

This beautiful barn was the perfectly sized property for 2, 4 or 6 people. Facilities were first class and attention to detail were equally good. It was a wonderful place for me to recuperate from recent surgery. I could sit and enjoy the lovely views whilst the others in the party experienced some great walks from the barn and back. Our hosts, Danny and Liz, were so accomodating without being intrusive. We enjoyed their ukele playing at the local Danby Show - quite an experience! The whole of the York Moors National Park was very accessible. Sadly the weather wasn't always the best with the tail end of an American hurricane sweeping through in August, not what you'd expect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and hosts
Liked least: No mobile signal
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2015
Thank you for your kind words, we are so pleased that you all had a good time and enjoyed Dale View Barn's facilities and the amazing countryside surrounding us here at Crag House Farm. Yes, Danby Show is a revelation! There is nothing quite like a Yorkshire Agricultural Show and the good news is there is a number of them taking place in this area throughout the summer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing