We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Schatull

Schatull
Ranked #7 of 41 Restaurants in Gengenbach
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Reviewed 25 May 2018

Ate here at our first night in Gengenbach.

Great atmosphere and it was obviously used by locals and tourists alike.

Waiter did speak very good English, which was a great help to a non-German speaking couple like us.

We both ordered Rosti, with ham and fried egg for a main course. I had a desert of apple fritters with ice cream. My husband had ice cream only for desert. Several large glasses of local wine and local beer (waiter helped us choose) and the bill was 40 euros. Food and service were excellent.

We did come back on another night and enjoyed a drink at the bar. Again, great to soak up the atmosphere.

They do not take card payments - cash only.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KarenatHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Aimable and quiet. Great food!!! Local specialities in the heart of town. Great portions. Garden bier.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank romesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

My daughter and I stayed in Gengenbach and had a lovely meal in the restaurant. Very quick service and they offered us an alternative menu written in English. We choose different regional dishes, daughter a vegetable dish with sauce, fried potatoes with ham and fried egg and I had a potato rosti with onions (they kindly left the ham out for me), Big filling portions and was very reasonably priced. We ate inside rather than out as we wanted to look at the unsual decor. We sat next to a wooden rocking horse. Went to go back the following night (Tuesday) but it was shut.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank susangcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

We really enjoyed our dinner at Schatull. A very odd logo but a good place to eat! We sat outside because the weather was nice. Their service was better than most we found on this trip.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bdart5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

Wandered into the square where this pub is and the clouds came over so we decided to dive in. Had a great beer and lovely local wine with some fantastic food which hit the spot after a day out ! English menu too which made life easier! Great value, friendly staff good food

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank konatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Schatull also viewed

Gengenbach, Baden-Wurttemberg
Gengenbach, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Gengenbach, Baden-Wurttemberg
Gengenbach, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Gengenbach, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Schatull? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing