We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Suggestions to the new owners”

Review of Tidmoor Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
113 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Chickerell, Weymouth, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 113 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AnserLinc...
Lincolnshire
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Suggestions to the new owners”
Reviewed 12 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We arrived the week the ownership of the cottage changed so it is difficult to write a meaningful review. The new owners are aware of some shortcomings and I write this as longterm suggestions for improvement.
Basically the cottage is in good condition and clean. It has laminate floors and leather settees, so no grubby textiles. The layout was good. We loved the view from the upstairs lounge. The downstairs view was a little oppressive. There is a small grass garden surrounded on 3 sides by very very tall thick hedges. I presume this is done for privacy, but it would have been nice to have the bottom hedge cut a little lower to give some view.
There were 2 bathrooms. The upstairs ensuite contained a bath ( no shower) however, the hot water just dribbled out of the tap.( The cold water gushed). It really was the case of switching on the hot tap, leaving it for 20 minutes to fill the bath, then adding a little cold. The downstairs shower/toilet was fine but the door did not lock. OK perhaps for families, but less ok for friends. Both rooms had hand soap and towel provided.
The central heating was efficient and used occasionally, as it was only 12C in flaming June!
Our other main grouse was the bedroom window coverings. They did not cut out any light at all. The upstairs skylights did have 2 working blinds, (out of 3) but again they were not blackouts​ and we were awoken very early by the sun.
There was an enormous American style fridge freezer which was intermittently very noisy. Personally we would have preferred a smaller fridge freezer and the addition of a dish washer. But that would also require more crockery and cutlery.We did not use the combined washing machine/dryer and did not notice any washing powder, so anyone hoping to use it may need to bring their own. We also did not use the cooker, but it looked suitable. Washing up liquid and tea towels were provided, there was also a plate drainer which took up a lot of space yet held little. A cuttlery drainer would have proved useful.
The new owners, Charles and Sharon appear keen, but as yet, they are not familiar with the area. A guest booklet containing advice on local shops, and restaurants and places to visit would have been helpful.
We did enjoy our week in the barn very much. I hope we are not putting anyone off visiting by this review. I am sure the property will have some TLC in the coming months.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2017
Dear Pat

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your thoughts. We agree with you that although the view is spectacular, blackout blinds for the skylights could be important to some people - we have been in touch with a local company and these are now being made to order. We are indeed surprised that they have never been fitted in the life of the cottage, but they'll soon be installed.

The other issues you mentioned are being addressed through our ongoing "TLC" programme.

Pleased you enjoyed your stay overall, in spite of the weather.

Charles and Sharon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uwdcjenni...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great facilities for disabled and home from hime”
Reviewed 20 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Great place in Weymouth. Lots to do in local area and surrounding towns that are good for wheelchairs.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2017
Glad you enjoyed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Material...
LONDON
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect location - very clean and tidy accommodation”
Reviewed 11 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Sarah was extremely helpful and very pleasant to deal with. We stayed in The Barn for a week and found it very comfortable and appointed with all the usual facilities. The view from the upstairs windows is amazing with a panorama over Chesil Beach. Easy access by road, bus or taxi into Weymouth centre with it being only 2 miles away. Lovely surrounding villages with good pubs for entertainment or food. Secure gated private parking without any hassle of having to find car parks.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2017
Glad you had a god time with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdbsjb88
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed 9 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our week at The Stables. The cottage was well insulated, which made it cosy and warm when it was chilly and raining outside.
We found it had almost everything we needed, although a hairdryer would have been useful. As others have commented, a welcome pack of essentials (tea, sugar, coffee, bread, milk) would have been helpful, although we had taken the basics with us, but I understand that this is being considered.
We took our own towels, although we could have rented them there for about £4.50 per person. In the grand scheme of things, perhaps it would be good to have towels provided too, within the cost. (There were tea towels and a hand towel for the cloakroom provided.)
The cottage was very clean and the bed was comfortable, with cotton sheets.
A very spacious property.
Sarah, the owner, who lives next door, is very helpful. Her recommendation for a meal at The Marquis of Granby was spot on - and it was within walking distance of the cottage. The little shop across the road sold much of what you'd need and wasn't overly expensive.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firelily...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 29 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely accommodation, spotlessly clean and very well equipped. Nice to have two bathrooms with the ensuite upstairs and the wet room downstairs. Great views from the upstairs lounge, shame you can't see them from the garden though (through the huge hedge!) Good location, handy for Weymouth and the rest of Dorset. Loved exploring the coast path behind the house, lots of wildlife to see (bit 'rustic' in places though!) Sarah was really helpful with recommendations of places to go etc (Marquis of Granby well worth a visit) Just a couple of small things- would've been nice to have a welcome pack of tea, coffee, milk etc as we've often had at other cottages. Also the blinds in the bedrooms were totally ineffective so super bright in the mornings! Nothing major though, would still definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay, we will definitely consider welcome packs in the future and look into changing our blinds in our next overhaul.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 91
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing