We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
95
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
95
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswelcoming hoststheir beautiful homeriver cottageextensive groundsspent a wonderful weeka real treatlyme registaxi serviceeggs cookedlocal walksbeautiful surroundingssurrounding countrysidefresh milksecond to nonedelicious breakfastevery aspectplace to stay
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2018

The hosts, Stuart and Marina were friendly and enthusiastic and very welcoming. Stuart was happy to ferry our party around and show us the local sights - including a trip to River Cottage and another to the beach.

My room was large and comfortable with an en-suite with a bath. There was tea and coffee in the room and fresh milk, together with healthy and not-so healthy snacks. The view from the room was beautiful, particularly at dawn and twilight. Stuart cooked a delicious breakfast and was happy to accommodate all preferences - which in our particular group, were many and varied. A really great stay, thank you very much.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

Symondsdown House afforded us a warm and comfortable stay in a lovely Georgian Property set in secluded grounds near to Axminster. We and our dog were made to feel very welcome in our double bedroom suite. Stuart our host cooked a super breakfast and was able to suggest lots of places to visit nearby. We were able to squeeze in a couple of meals at River cottage deli. A great way to spend a weekend!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nikki28day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

Staying with Stuart and Marina at Symondsdown House was the perfect accompaniment for our weekend at River Cottage. They were truly the perfect hosts, both in terms of their knowledge of the area and their warm and engaging conversation. The room we had was excellent, in keeping with the whole décor of the grand house and the views across the fields were amazing in the morning and the evening. All this topped-off with a really great full English breakfast … two tips … Always go for Stuart’s speciality eggs (two of them!) and sample all of Marina’s great homemade jams! We will certainly be a repeat visitor. Hopefully before the year is out ………………….

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank davetmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

After a long 24 hour flight from Australia, Symondsdown House was the perfect place to start our holiday in England.

We visited the Devon region so that the wife could attend River Cottage HQ to learn more about gluten free cooking from professionals. Other than attending River Cottage we really had no idea what we were going to do with the rest of our stay in the Devon region.

That was very quickly fixed by Stuart & Marina who were very happy to make suggestions on things to see and do. We quickly discovered that Stuart & Marina's knowledge of the local region, and more importantly of restaurants, was very good. With their suggestions we had the most enjoyable week in the area. Only wish we had more time to see & do everything that they recommended.

Stuart & Marina's welcome was warm & genuine. Their home was a delight and the breakfasts were delicious and filling. We booked a superior room and was provided a corner room overlooking the northwest corner of the gardens. The room was spacious with plenty of room for our suitcases and the bed was a delight for our travel weary bodies.

We can not thank Stuart & Marina enough for what they did for us during our stay. When we return to England for our next holiday, Symondsdown House and Devon will be at the top of our list to visit so that we could complete Stuart & Marina's list of things to see & do.

Neal & Rose

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank UK20180407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Truly this is how every place should be. A beautiful kept grand house, in a beautiful setting, with wonderful hosts, where the welcome is genuinely friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Stuart and Marina are lovely people and do everything to make their guests feel not only welcome but special. So many little touches add up to so much more.

The house and rooms are stately yet comfortable, generously proportioned throughout, and the grounds equally so. We had plenty of hot water for the shower and bath, comfortable large bed, tea and coffee, and plenty of space in the well furnished, impeccably clean room. But the little touches like the freshly picked flowers presented in single vases, the coffee table books, the local tea, and a welcome note turn a night into a delight.

Stuart's cooked English was a tasty start to the morning as was Marina's home made hedgerow jam. The breakfast table was brimming with goodies and elegantly presented, and the freshly squeezed orange was fantastic.

But most of all, the icing on the cake, were Stuart and Marina. I can't adequately express how welcoming and friendly and informative and entertaining and chatty and helpful they were. Truly amazing hosts make for a truly amazing place.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SIXOCLOCKTICKET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews