We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
97
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
97
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews welcoming hosts their beautiful home river cottage extensive grounds spent a wonderful week a real treat lyme regis taxi service eggs cooked local walks beautiful surroundings surrounding countryside fresh milk second to none delicious breakfast every aspect place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2017

We stayed with some friends here as we were off to River Cottage HQ for dinner. Its perfectly located for that and Stuart even ran us up there and picked us up afterwards. Lovely house, charming hosts and a great cooked breakfast set in the very grand dining room. Just like being at home!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matthew588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Stayed at Symondsdown House during a recent study week. Have a wonderful week where both Stuart and Martina were excellent hosts making me feel comfortable and welcome. The environment was ideal for a study week, during which I had the most delicious apple cake and Stuart made possibly the best Spanish Omelette I’ve ever had.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank julie2wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

We couldn’t recommend Symondsdown House more highly. Stuart and Marina are great hosts, and are clearly focused making you feel like their guests. From the welcome card in our beautiful room, to the bucks fizz, and card on my birthday.

The cooked breakfasts using the best local produce are recommended, do try the house special Arga Eggs.

Stuart assisted with transport to and from River Cottage, but also took the time to show us Lyme Regis and give an overview of the geography and history of the area.

It’s the little touches that set this guest house, and couple apart.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank DonalOCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed for a night as we were having dinner at River Cottage. Our hosts have struck the balance perfectly between being enormously welcoming without hovering! They took us to and from the pick up point for River Cottage despite having to pick us up after dinner which was after eleven. We had a delicious breakfast individually cooked and a beautifully comfortable room. It was a real treat and we could not have stayed anywhere better.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nomad961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

I can't recommend Symondsdown House enough, it is a beautiful house set in gorgeous gardens and has the cosiest feel, comfortable rooms and the most welcoming hosts. Marina and Stuart really completed the stay with their warmth and hospitality and you can't miss Stuarts Arga eggs, they are amazing and worth the visit in themselves!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markbouzida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews