We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful house in a marvellous location.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Thornleigh

Thornleigh
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Thornleigh
Tide is out Kippford village
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
41 reviews
Thornleigh
Tide is out
Kippford village
Beach 100 yards away
Another view from balcony
View from balcony
Conservatory
Sitting room 2
Sitting room 1
Sitting room 1
Twin bedroom
landing
bathroom
bedroom 3
Master bedroom
Breakfast room
Ensuite bathroom
landing
bedroom 3
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kippford, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KateCormi...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“great house, but needs more attention before rental”
Reviewed 16 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Thornleigh is a lovely Arts and Crafts house with a fabulous location in Kippford; right on the water. We know the village so were really looking forward to our stay. The house itself is obviously a family home; well-worn furniture and carpets, so we went expecting comfortable rather than swish.
Unfortunately our stay got off to an unpromising start; the house was cold when we arrived, and it became quickly clear that it wasn't very clean; the bathrooms and the kitchen in particular needed much more attention; surfaces and cupboard doors were greasy, food cupboards with crumbs and spills, freezer compartment mouldy and the floor sticky and dirty. It's never great to start a holiday with cleaning, and disappointing to keen cooks to be put off by a grubby kitchen.
A few other things that came up; duvets on both double beds were inadequate for the weather (we visited at Easter, and live in Scotland, so are very used to the weather); one was half of a 2-part all seasons quilt, the other I think was just thinned with age. The shower in the family bathroom was a tiny dribble; we all had to use the ensuite bathroom. Many of the pots and pans should have been binned a years ago; cooked-on grease isn't good.
I emailed about the duvets after our first night, Cathy responded quickly, but couldn't offer anything other than a suggestion that we use blankets on top of our duvets and keep the heating on. I also emailed after our stay about the cleaning, again Cathy responded quickly. She said she hadn't had complaints before, but I saw the shower and (un)cleanliness of the house noted in the visitors book earlier this year.
I understand the difficulties of running a house from a distance, but I can't help feeling that for this kind of price (we paid £670 for 5 nights), you need to get the basics right. Two new duvets, a few new pans and a very thorough clean would have solved most of our issues at a cost of a couple of hundred pounds. Some new towels (all were clean, but some very aged) and a useful second shower would be very worthwhile investments too.
We did have a lovely trip to Kippford, and settled into the house after we had cleaned and worked out how to pile the beds with a patchwork of smaller duvets and blankets. The small sitting room in particular is a lovely space, with working fireplace and great views. Cathy was kind enough to let us bring our two house cats with us, which was a real help. So this is a reluctantly mixed review.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2018
Dear Kate - thank you for your useful review. Whilst we are disappointed to receive negative feedback, it is always good to know of any issues we need to resolve. We have recently employed a new cleaner, so it is useful to know how good a job she is doing. We take on board your comments, and will be focussing on these areas in particular.
Cathy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myra L
1 review
“Wonderful house in a marvellous location.”
Reviewed 12 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We had a great, long weekend in this marvellous house. Ideal for a leisurely break with friends. Loved the decor, The local pub was friendly and welcoming , It was a great location for exploring the surrounding area including Kirkudbright and Wigtown. We would all love to have a return visit.

Myra Larsen

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneT2677
1 review
“Easter at Thornleigh”
Reviewed 8 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

A superb location with stunning sea views and idylic local walks within the National Trust of Scotland's land. This spacious comfortable house has real character.

We particularly appreciated the Arts and Crafts style furniture and the artwork on the walls. The property felt like a well loved family home rather than a show house; It didn't matter to me that the kitchen wasn't all modern and matching because that added to the properties quirkiness and charm. This house provided the perfect base for us to spend time with family and friends. The owner was quick to respond to my emails, friendly and helpful.

Tip for other people renting this property-take wood and coal for the fire with you as there was none there. Or buy it enroute from the garage in Dalbeatie. We left the house clean and tidy and with a fire made up for the next guests

We would definately consider a return visit. Thank you for the pretty vase of colourful tulips on our arrival.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joturnerh...
Largs, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good Days”
Reviewed 15 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We very much enjoyed our stay and were delighted with the house. It was true to its description and met all our needs and very good value for our budget. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing