We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
12
5
9
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
5
9
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2015 via mobile

Stayed at SWV. Loved diving, friendliness of staff, food not so much. If you like shrimp they have it buffet style with almost every meal. Basically same type of food with every dinner. No other place to eat. No other restaurants where you can order.

Date of stay: February 2015
Thank chihuahuasarefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2015

I had heard so much about diving at Sipadan and when the opportunity came up, I jumped at the chance. I had a colleague who had stayed her before and had nothing but great things to say. While the location and views are beautiful and the diving amazing, the resort itself is tired and in dire need of some upgrades. On the surface the bungalows look amazing. I walked in my room and was in awe of the spacious room and the views from the deck. Unfortunately the bathroom was not of the same calibre. There was mould in the shower stall, rusted fixtures, the door to the shower leaked all over the bathroom, poor lighting and every morning and evening a sandy (or something else) deposit on the sink and counter that was rather disturbing. The room was cleaned daily, but soap, shampoo, tea, was not replaced, although the water was topped up. The staff were very friendly, but service wasn't always the best. At meals, often there was no cutlery or plates to be found. You often had to fill your water yourself and the food itself was below standard. I realize they are attempting to make food they think westerners will enjoy, but if they stick to local food (which they know best) that would be much better. The best meal I had was when they ran out of food and we asked for more and they brought out a local stir fried dish. Considering the price you pay to stay at this resort, I think things could've been better. Next time, I'll look into some of the other resorts.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank PolepoleGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2014

the hotel is beautiful, the bungalows are spacious and clean. i would say the shower needed renovation. the perk is the sundeck! i loved it, and could do nude sunbathing :)
food was a bit disappointing but i enjoyed the BBQ night with the prawns. rest of time, buffet was average and breakfast poor. the service was friendly and professional
the diving was disappointing too. the weather and visivility were not good, but the house reef dives seemed like night dive! nothing the resort could do, but i dont agree on snorkelers getting sipadan permits while divers would stay at the resort.
i enjoyed my stay, but this is overpriced!

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karenou91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2014 via mobile

Actually visited here 3 years ago. The chalet room itself is actually very nice snd comfortable. I like the interesting fact that they hit the gong whenever it is time for meal. The variety of food was good with fresh seafood and other local delights. Worth to stay a bit even though a bit pricy. Now not that recommendable because of the kidnappings.

Date of stay: December 2013
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ipohmalixsombong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The chalets are all on stilts in the water and the water clarity is fantastic. Some staff were great, but most of the Reception staff were not. The women staff dress well, but most of the male staff are very sloppily dressed and break the Resort no smoking rules with impunity. The food is very poor, especially at dinner; it seems a planned scam to push you to "special order" when the guy comes to each table each night (the 3 meals are included in the diving and snorkel packages and there is no other food venue option available). WiFi is only available at the lobby. There are no TV's, which was a good thing for us.

They could also improve communication at check in regarding when and where to check the dive and snorkel tours you are booked on daily. On our last day there, when we had to be on the boat at 06:30 AM, they failed to wake us up so we missed breakfast and barely made the boat. Also, you must push a button and wait 20 minutes for hot water to bathe, so we also missed the chance to shower when we checked out.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BillBoyd46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews