We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Son's Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Lilleshall B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 July 2017

Several of the wedding guests stayed here as my son got married here on 22 July 2017. Our room was spacious with a bath and shower above. The wedding was fabulous and the catering was excellent. The dining area for overnight guests is basic and busy when we were staying but there was a good selection of breakfast food.

Room Tip: 5d is spacious with fantastic views in Kent Hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

A very pleasant although brief stay here at Lilleshall. Due to having to leave very early, we missed the self service breakfast so cannot comment on this. However, I did inform the lady on reception that we would enjoy checking out at around 6am the following morning to head to the Airshow so we would not make breakfast. She took our room number and said she would try to arrange a sandwich and some fruit to take with us in place of dinner.. The next morning, on checking out, myself and my child had a small lunch bag each that they had made up for us to take away which was very much appreciated! The staff were helpful and friendly and nothing posed too much trouble.
Our room was 11E and looked over beautiful landscaped gardens within the grounds of Lilleshall. The rooms are similar to Premier Inn standard and although a little expensive at £86 per night, I would stay again as the hotel is in a beautiful setting and it was all too brief and we had to rush off too early the next day and miss the cooked breakfast.
The rooms are in separate buildings from the main reception and cafe area and the Kent Hall building required going up and down steps both in and out. This wasn't a problem for us but for others to bare in mind who intend to stay here.
Overall, a very pleasant stay and I hope to come back soon someday.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Katcymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

Check out 9.30am is a joke in 20 years of staying at places never had this, knocking the door at 9.32am to get you out breakfast 8.30pm got there 8.20am again appalling food poor and cold Big Mistake staying there if it's the last place you stay don't go massive let down to be fair reception staff were good apart from that the rest was terrible experience

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

The room was bright with a good view across the gardens. Unfortunately I found sweet wrappers and old sweets from a previous guests. These where never removed even though I had told reception the room wasn't cleaned properly. I didn't find most the staff particularly friendly. The room was nowhere near reception and in a completly different building. I will not be stopping there again. The WiFi signal was soon lost. I lost my phone signal as soon as I walked into reception. There was a limited choice of snacks.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

What can I say - stunning venue tree lined driveway, beautiful gardens and grounds.

We very much enjoyed watching Shrewsbury town under 16's beating Walsall under 16's

The pitches are all emasculate and the addition of the cafe for refreshments on a lovely day was an added bonus.

Only disappointment there was no ice cream or ice lollies in the freezer!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Niccib78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre

Address: Lilleshall National Sports Centre Pave Lane | near Newport, Lilleshall TF10 9AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Lilleshall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lilleshall
Price Range: ₹ 4,945 - ₹ 7,288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lilleshall was originally built in 1831 as the hunting lodge and family retreat of the Duke of Sutherland. It first became a National Sports Centre in 1951 and was opened by the then Princess Elizabeth II with the original plaque still in place in the entrance to the main hall. It was Lilleshall's connection with Association Football that brought the Centre to the attention of the nation. The England team trained for two weeks at Lilleshall prior to their success in the World Cup of 1966. In 1967, Sir Alfred Ramsey returned to the Centre to unveil a plaque to commemorate his team's stay and endorse the view that Lilleshall could justly claim some credit for England's famous victory. In 1984 The Football Association's School of Excellence was established welcoming young talent such as Michael Owen, Jamie Carragher, Sol Campbell and Joe Cole to name but a few. Today Lilleshall is an elite training centre for some of the country's leading sportsmen and women and regularly welcomes use by numerous sports bodies. With its unique and rich heritage and commitment to providing a World Class Experience, Lilleshall is a certainly a place where you can wake up and feel inspired. Lilleshall is situated among the spectacular and secluded surroundings of the Shropshire countryside within 134 hectares of English Heritage Grade II listed grounds. The main house (Lilleshall Hall) overlooks the beautiful Capability Brown inspired gardens. As well as a range of world class facilities available for use (bookable in advance), the Centre has two walking routes. The 2.5 mile Discovery Trail will provide you with the chance to discover some of Lilleshall's many gems including the Italian Water Garden, the Pet Cemetery and the World Class Sports Facilities. The 6 mile Adventure Fitness Trail enables you to discover these gems but also provides you with the chance to test your fitness, taking you through the woodland belts alongside the estate's 2 mile sweeping drive to the golden gates (an exact replica of those at Buckingham Palace), before returning (a steady climb all the way!) to explore the heart of the estate. Work is also underway on a nature trail which is due to be open in the Summer. Visitors can reserve rooms in one of three purpose built accommodation blocks, a short walk from reception, the dining room and bar. (Sorry no rooms available in the main house). Room facilities include tea & coffee making, digital HD television, hairdryers and free WIFI along with ample free parking. There is a cafe bar open from 7:30 - 23:00 where you can enjoy hot and cold food and drinks. Beyond the site, Lilleshall is well placed for many local attractions including Weston Park, Ironbridge Gorge and Museums, Hoo Farm, Telford Town Park and Wonderland, The Wrekin, RAF Museum Cosford, Telford Ski Centre and Telford International Centre. The historic market town of Newport, where you will find many independent shops, pubs and restaurants, is approximately 4 miles away. Telford, with its many tourist attractions, shopping centre, cafes, bars, restaurants and cinemas, is within a 15 minute drive. The towns of Stafford, Wolverhampton and Shrewsbury are all within a 25 minute drive. Room prices start from just £38.50. Check in is from 1.30pm Monday - Saturday and 5.30pm on Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing