We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
24
23
13
8
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
23
13
8
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaccommodation blocklovely groundsmain receptionpremier inn standardcooked breakfastquality and quantitywould stay againper nightkent hallvenuefacilitieschaptermarqueediscohairdryerwaitress
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

Called to check on the works being carried out on the hall. We always call in for a brew and a bite to eat , the staff are always happy and the food is nice the grounds are beautiful and are well worth a walk around.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie_J_Manager, General Manager at Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Thank you for the feedback on your recent visit to Lilleshall. We're glad that you always find our staff happy and the food nice. Thank you also for the recommendation for the grounds. We're glad that you enjoy walking around them and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

Cannot fault this venue, super clean and amazingly friendly staff, to top it off dinner with amazing para olympians and gold medalists to boot.

Top facilities nothing to much for staff

Thanks to Gemma and the rest of the booking team.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
Thank 737juliang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie_J_Manager, Manager at Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Thank you for the feedback on your recent visit to Lilleshall. We're glad to hear that you had an amazing time and found the facilities satisfactory. We're also pleased that you found the staff friendly. Your thanks will be passed on to Gemma and the rest of the bookings team. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016

More like a premier inn but on a student campus.
Accomadation was in a new purpose built block. The room was spotless and comfortable. The shower room was compact but had all you would need. Parking near the accommodation is very limited, but there is plenty of parking in the general sports facility car park a few minutes walk away. The breakfast was fine with plenty of choice, but as another review indicated it is a "student type" environment and unless early you will have to queue for the cooked breakfast.
It was good value and I would stay again- who knows you could be having breakfast with an olympic champion

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie_J_Manager, Manager at Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2016

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay at Lilleshall. We're pleased to hear that you found the room spotless and comfortable and that your stay was satisfactory. We do take on board your feedback about having to wait for breakfast and are continually trying to find ways to minimise this wait. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Beautiful setting and sports centre,stayed one night on a business trip,as this place is miles away from any eateries decided to dine there,we booked in and the receptionist was most helpful,booked evening meal,breakfast was included in booking.
Arrived at the restaurant for our meal to find people queued up,,you had to collect your tray and plate as you went in,then you were confronted by alpine of people dishing
The food on your plate like a scene from a prison,the food was barely edible.i had stir fried chicken my colleague had gammon.
The stir fry had no flavour ang the gammon was like shoe leather.the only plus was the soup,!
Breakfast was even worse the bacon,eggs and scrambled egg. We're swimming in water it was basically crap.undercooked.
Really disappointed with the food standards,expected more from a prestigious establishment.

Room Tip: Eat elsewhere
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mircalla007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie_J_Manager, Manager at Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2016

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay at Lilleshall. We're sorry to hear that the food was not to your satisfaction. We do state it is a self-service restaurant but are disappointed that you found the food barely edible as our menus and concepts are designed to provide balanced food, from predominantly British produce, using contemporary cooking techniques – to reduce fat and salt levels – in line with FSA standards. Wherever possible, this includes the use of local and/or regional
produce to nurture the notion of seasonality. If a guest speaks to our chefs, we are, where possible, able to cook the food to individual requirements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016

The room was spotless and comfortable. The shower room was compact but had all you would need. The only negatives were that the room was freezing, the radiators had not been turned on yet and there was no extra blanket and parking near the accommodation is very limited, but there is plenty of parking in the general sports facility car park a few minutes walk away.

The breakfast was fine with plenty of choice, but you are in a student environment so expect to queue for the cooked breakfast.

Overall if the rooms were warmer we would not hesitate to stay for an overnight stay.

Stayed: October 2016
Thank dayle j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurie_J_Manager, Manager at Lilleshall National Sports and Conferencing Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2016

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay at Lilleshall. We're sorry to hear that your bedroom was cold. As part of our drive to reduce our carbon footprint, we do turn down the radiators when the rooms are not is use. We're also sorry that you had to queue for breakfast. Unfortunately as it is self-service, during busy periods, we do sometimes experience a little bit of a wait, however we are continually looking at ways to reduce the time that guests do have to wait. We do hope that you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews