We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property, few thing to improve ”
Review of Les Carrasses

Les Carrasses
Reserve with
Les Carrasses is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Quarante
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 24 - US$ 71
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: In the brasserie we serve stylish Mediterranean cuisine, using exclusively fresh, locally sourced ingredients. The menu changes according to the season making the most of what is availble in the markets. Meals are served in the beautifully restored salon with its cast iron pillars and vaulted ceilings or on the superb terrace with spectacular views over the estate and surrounding countryside.
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Les carrasses is exactly that we were missing here in our region. Beautiful property, breathtaking views... modern and traditional at the same time. Most of the clients are anglophones, so the menue is friendly to international tastes. Possibility to drink at the bar, eat outside or inside. Menue changes often. We remarked that the food was of higher quality during the low season. Looks like the chief struggles to meet the high demand at the high season and not always gets a success in it.

Two main negative points: the service and the price of wines. The service really needs to be improved. As for the prices of wines... well, guys, we know as well as you that we are in the region where the wines cost pea-nuts. So, we are quiet shocked not to find any single bottle on the wine list cheaper than 28 euros (+++). This only reduces the consolation. Apply the fare price (not multiplied by 5) and clients will order 2 bottles instead of one.

Otherwise nice property, we will be back and advise our friends to go there.

Thank Marykar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GestionChateau, Propriétaire at Les Carrasses, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Hi Mary,

Thanks very much for your review. We're glad you liked the Château so much, though we're sorry you didn't feel that the service was up to scratch on this occasion - we work hard to ensure excellent service at all times, and have brought your comments to the attention of the team. We're a bit surprised by your comments about the price of the wine though. We pride ourselves on showcasing the best of Languedoc wines at great value for money, with the wines starting at €19 for our own Les Carrasses cuvees; We have 35 different bottles at less than €28 (more than half the list!). Perhaps you were looking at the list of daily specials?

In any case, we look forward to seeing you again at Les Carrasses, and the opportunity to show you some of the great, reasonably priced wines we offer.

Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2017

Despite the excellent setting and wide choices of food and drink, the family meal was a disappointment due to the poor service we received. The long wait to receive menus ( then only one available for 6 people ) the wait of over an hour for food to be served after the order was eventually taken, the lack of knowledge of the staff about the dishes on offer, the delivery of items not ordered and the non delivery of ordered food .... all added together to spoil the special family occasion. The restaurant knew we had booked for a 40th birthday celebration but there was no reaction to this from any of the staff.
There were clearly staffing issues on that night - a shortage and a lack of experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GestionChateau, Gérant at Les Carrasses, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear John

We’re really happy that you enjoyed the setting as well as the food and drinks on this occasion. However we are sorry the service was not up to your expectations on this occasion. To explain rather than excuse, and as you rightly point out, there were some staffing issues on this exceptionally busy evening, with several tables arriving at the same time. and this did unfortunately result in some delays to the delivery of the food. You should not of course have been given just one menu, and we with the increasing popularity of the restaurant we have ordered extra supplies. We were unfortunately not aware that it was a special occasion, and this was not brought to our attention until the following day. You did subsequently return to the restaurants – as our guests – and we understood on that occasion that your experience was much better. We hope this latter experience went some way to make up for the first.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

We stayed in the hotel for two nights in July. We had dinner in the restaurant both nights and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The setting is really beautiful and there is good space between the tables. The food was excellent- so tasty, simple, and it felt healthy! There was fresh fruit and vegetables, mainly from the onsite garden, fresh fish, and the emphasis was on light dressings. I was delighted. The service was very good, with a special mention for the English girl now living in Poitiers and the young man from Alsace. Yes, the service did reduces its focus towards the end of the evenings but that does not adversely affect the review. At least we did not feel rushed as we sipped the very enjoyable rose wine from the accompanying estate. We had lunch there on both days too and it was excellent. The chicken Caesar salad was amazing and is definitely the best I have ever had. So, if in the area or staying in the hotel I would have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant for lunch or dinner. There appears to be some amazing chefs working here. I thought it was good value too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IrelandMariaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

We were staying in the hotel and ate in the restaurant twice - once a la carte and once a buffet Spanish evening, both times outside.
The view is lovely and the setting delightful, and the staff very friendly and willing. We thought the food was good but not outstanding. My lamb was rather chewy and, for the price, disappointing. My companions had a better experience. The Spanish evening was fun and the paella good, although it was very quiet for the holiday period. The house wine was expensive for the quality and we thought could have been offered to residents for the same as the take home price. This is an expensive hotel and residents are likely to eat more frequently in the restaurant if the prices are reasonable. However, we enjoyed our stay and it was a great place to meet up with family and children.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Granary2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GestionChateau, Propriétaire at Les Carrasses, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed the setting and the view. The staff was also very pleased to read your comment about them.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with your lamb dish. It's very slowly cooked (five hours) and so normally falling off the bone and we would have had no problem replacing if it had brought to our attention. Our entry level Les Carrasses wine is from the estate, and we sell it at €11 to take away, against €19 in the restaurant. This really is very good value for a wine of this quality in a place like ours.

We are really glad you enjoyed your stay though, and look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

Beautiful setting, great prix fixe lunch, pleasant staff. Hard to find but two phone calls to the staff got us there. Staff speaks English

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LST1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Les Carrasses also viewed

Capestang, Herault
Capestang, Herault
 

Been to Les Carrasses? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing