We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not in a good area”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in Saint-Gilles
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not in a good area”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

staff very helpful and rooms clean. unfortunately this hotel is in a very run down part of the city making the area feel "unsafe". on the first night we were kept awake from 2.00am until 4.15am by what seemed to be a party in the adjoining room. upon complaining the next day, we were offered a change of room by the helpful & friendly staff. this action solved the problem and a good night's sleep was had on our second night. hotel is close to the gare du midi where euro star terminated, however, the station seems to be a magnet for all sorts of undesirables. not a good introduction to brussels - a city i would never go back to following this experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perrys2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    28
    38
    22
    34
See reviews for
18
37
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

The Hotel Continental is not worth staying at .Especially if your a woman traveling alone.The hotel sits in a seedy looking part of town just under the bridge.It's very close to the Midi Train Station.As a woman traveling solo I didn't feel safe at all.It was evening when I arrived,so I'm sure that had a lot to do with it.
When I opened the door to the hotel it smelt of stale cigarette smoke!The host was nice and helpful when I checked in.Going up to my room was a bit of a chore.The lift was so small it barley fit my luggage yet alone me inside.The halls were very narrow as well.I found the room clean ,but it felt dirty.The bathroom was creepy and there was no hot water for a shower in the morning.
If I can say anything good it would be about the breakfast room.It was actually nice!There was your normal continental stuff of juice,tea,coffee,pasteries,meat,cheese, yogurt and some fresh fruit.
The price for a single room was 60.00 euro.It was walking distance to La Grand- Place,which was amazing!I would suggest to stay else where,unless your a man or a traveling couple.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reefdiver43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint-Gilles hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Was there last week, the hotel was dirty, the first room that we were first given has no lock dust every where, then i went back to the reception to complain and they give us another one which has lock but to my surprise there was bedbug on the bed which makes it difficult for us to sleep all night, the lift is like bin chute, will never go back or recommend this hotel to a friend or my enemy.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akanji a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalkeith
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

we arrived didnt know there was a big conference on could not get a room in the hotels. we found this one they charged us 260 euros, was not worth the money but when you are desperate you just have to take what you can get. rooms, could be doing with getting decorated the furniture was like out of a second hand shop, the good side it was near the centre.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dray410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Lovely hotel with friendly hosts who go out of the way to make sure you have a good stay. would definitely stay here again. i liked the decor in the rooms, nice big bathroom and handy to an internet cafe and railway station and the centre of brussels. breakfast was onsite and nothing was ever a problem for the managers, very helpful and had good ideas for local activities as we come from new zealand and it was our first visit so their suggestions were very useful. we would definitely recommend this hotel and would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozzietripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Gilles
0.1 km away
Euro Capital
Euro Capital
#17 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
210 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Midi-Zuid
Hotel Midi-Zuid
#20 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
61 reviews
0.8 km away
Escale Hotel
Escale Hotel
#177 of 198 in Brussels
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi
Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi
#10 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
1,915 reviews
1.5 km away
La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels
0.1 km away
Novotel Brussels Midi Station
Novotel Brussels Midi Station
#5 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Property: Hotel Continental
Address: Place de la Constitution 18, Saint-Gilles, Brussels 1060, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels > Saint-Gilles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in Saint-Gilles
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,158 - ₹ 9,298
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Continental 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Brussels
Hotel Continental Brussels/Saint-Gilles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing