We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming Cottage with large dog friendly garden...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Willow Cottage

Pretty 15 century cottage set in the heart of the countryside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pretty 15 century cottage set in the heart of the countryside
Patio area overlooking the garden and French doors into the lounge Approach to the cottage good secure garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Pretty 15 century cottage set in the heart of the countryside
Patio area overlooking the garden and French doors into the lounge
Approach to the cottage good secure garden
View from the field back over the garden
Cosy lounge with wood burner
Lounge with French doors out to the patio
Fireplace with wood burner
Well equipped kitchen
Dining Room with seating for 6
Hall from the kitchen to the dining room
Really useful utility /boot room/pantry
Stair case ,typical Suffolk cottage style winding up to the bedrooms
Pretty bedroom with a king size iron bed
En suite bathroom
Double bed in the second bedroom
Dressing table in main bedroom
View from the kitchen window and patio
Set in a lovely large garden meadows extending to 2 acres
Walk to the lake across the meadow adjacent to the cottage full of butterflies in the summer
Fabulous lake ideal for a relaxing afternoon,stocked with pike, rudd, tench and perch
Characterful Dining room
A happy fisherman
Happy fisherman !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Framlingham, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
terry s
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming Cottage with large dog friendly garden in ideal situation to explore the Suffolk coast”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A warm welcome by Penny the owner, even left us a beautiful cake for our arrival . on a by road so could hear the birds in the garden as we sat on the patio for breakfast
A traditional Suffolk cottage but at over 6ft did not find ceilings that much of a problem and very modern downstairs shower room balanced well the roll top bathroom upstairs
I personally would have no more than 4 staying at the cottage ,however dining table could seat 6 at a pinch Stairs are steep so very small children and elderly/disabled may have difficulties getting to first floor
Location superb for exploring Framlingham a 15 minute cycle ride away with good facilities and places to eat ,the Crown ,the station and a relaxed Café for breakfast ( try the eggy bread!)
Other local places to eat Dennington Head very good.
Easy to get to Sutton Hoo,45mins,Orford,Aldburough,Dunwich,and Sizewell ( quieter beach at weekends) 30 mins and our favourite place Southwold 40 mins . ( more sandy beach here dogs allowed only September to end of April ) busy but worth a trip ,Coasters restaurant very good and next door" beaches and cream" sweet shop sell dog friendly ice cream which our dog really enjoyed )

If you go to this cottage I hope you enjoy it as much as we did

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: having to come home!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena F
2 reviews
“Quirky cottage, huge garden and fab location!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Stayed here with my 4 boys (ages 7,5,4 and 1) as visiting family nearby. Fab garden which the kids loved playing in. Cosy cottage, lovely modern kitchen and bathrooms. Bedrooms lovely and although boys had to sleep in floor as beds very high, they slept like logs! Great location, away from main village but close enough to the roads. Very quiet stay :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E_M_Vaugh...
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing break in a beautiful cottage full of character”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

A break at Willow Cottage was just what we needed. Set in a peaceful, rural location with plenty of walks, my husband and I (along with the dog) felt totally relaxed throughout the duration of our stay. The cottage is clean and equipped with everything you need.

The nearest pubs are a short drive away - Penny kindly provides a list of recommended pubs in the cottage, which we found useful. We enjoyed a lovely meal at the Dennington Queen. We did get there early evening which was lucky as the rest of the night was fully booked.

We spent most days visiting the local area, particularly enjoying Aldeburgh, with pretty local stores, deli's and amazing ice-cream shops! We also visited Southwold and went on the Adnams Brewery Tour, although we did book this in advance as does get quite busy.

We look forward to returning in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
222HillyP
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful & comfortable, with easy access to local attractions”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Just off the main tourist route, but quiet. Amazed at the quieter traffic in Suffolk compared to Dorset. Very comfortable and we both relaxed and slept well. Penny left an excellent cake for us. A short drive to a good pub in one direction and the Dennington Queen in the other - a restaurant we went to twice. A short drive into Framlingham with a selection of shops and small supermarket. As pre-warned, steep windy stairs, but not too bad, a couple of low doorways, and the master bedroom floor was wonderfully wonky - even before a glass of wine. Lovely big garden for sitting in, but If you have a dog or children playing in the adjoining paddocks then wellies would be a good idea as these have longer grass. Also adjacent to a riding school but am unaware if they cater for holiday rides.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A homely, well equipped cottage full of character.”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We have just returned from a very relaxed and peaceful stay at Willow Cottage. Penny made us feel very welcome on our arrival and had made a delightful Easter Cake with chocolate rabbits which the children devoured immediatley! The cottage is in an excellent location, being so close to Framlingham (don't miss the market on a Saturday morning), and is also set in beautiful countryside. The garden and meadows with the cottage, were a particular favourite with our dog and the children had space to play and ride their bikes. It is a fine example of a Suffolk Cottage with the quirky staircase and open fireplace and yet the rooms were high enough for my tall husband to stand up in. I would highly recommend staying here and hope to be back later in the year.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing