We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
52
62
40
17
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
62
40
17
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful view nice hotel ski equipment per person hot water underground parking stayed one night hotel staff ski area royal valley jacuzzi sion chalet skiing lift access
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2018

My family and I stayed one night in Hotel Chalet Royal in Veysonnaz between 14-15th of July 2018, during a week end. We booked 2 double rooms (number 33 and 34, with communicating door) with view on the valley, asking for high floor. The view from our balcony was just awesome ! Full view on Sion airport and the valley are just amazing and you could spend hours enjoying it. The rooms were a 3 stars standard rooms, nothing exceptionnal and pillow were not the most comfortable ones. The main problem was the lack of staff ! At breakfast, it was only 1 waiter and it seems that in kitchen it was the same. The coffee machine stopped to work after several clients used it, the milk bottle was empty and not refilled until you ask for it, the choice of food was limited and you could find empty plates as not refilled regularly. We also wanted to enjoy the jacuzzi during our stay, but it was out of order ! Filter needed to be changed and of course, it happened just during our stay...

So, to resume our stay, I will say that :

Positive points :
---------------------
1) Prices are not high (CHF. 119.-- per room per night)..
2) View on the valley is just great.
3) Very quiet place with nice garden area just under the balconies.
4) Parking free of charge is available just next to the hotel.
5) Nice walking possibilities.

Points to be aware of :
--------------------------------
1) Lack of staff.
2) Outrdoor jacuzzi was not working (during our stay).
3) Coffee machine was not working after several clients used it at breakfast.
4) Food can be refilled with long delay at breakfast...
5) Tables at breakfast left very long without being cleaned by waiter.

Well, that's it ! It's a nice place for families with kids who want to enjoy a week end in a quiet environment, not luxury and without too much high expectations.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank otterboris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

The hotel is hugely over-priced for what it is. The rooms are spacious and with a beautiful view, and it is literally across the street from the lift, but besides these qualities, it does not have much going for it.
The rooms are dated and in need of renovation, as expensive as it is, everything costs extra(breakfast is 18 chf, access to the small wellness is 20 chf) and the staff is either unhelpful or just plain rude. Simple things as just responding to a “good morning” are not done. They react to any request (like, could I use the wellness area? Or, could I reserve a table at the restaurant?) as if you are asking for too much and are really annoying them.
So, be aware of this and don’t stay here unless you are ok with 5 star prices for 1 star service!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Sesy_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018

Very nice central located hotel in very near walking distance to transport in ski area. Nice lobby and restaurant. Wellness small but okay - somehow strange you need to wear a swimming dress in sauna. Bathroom need anrenovation. Rooms nice and space with a fantastic view over The Valley.

Room Tip: Choose room facing The Valley
Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Dolphin-th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

We booked for two nights over new year as visiting friends further up the valley. Hotel staff helpful, room large and a bit old fashioned but comfortable enough. Big balcony and nice view over the valley. Hot water and clean bathroom. Underground Parking a bonus and getting to the ski lifts couldn’t be easier. Breakfast was plentiful. We’d stay there again if we were in the area.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank RVJ10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

I'll start by saying the room was decent. It was spacious and had room for all the ski equipment. The beds were OK even though it was two beds put together to make one bed. The bathroom was spacious. The sauna, hot tub facility was great. They charged us 20 chf per person but it seemed necessary to use the hot tub after a full day on the hill. The breakfast was average. Everything was bread and cheese and an option to cook a hard boiled egg. Good thing breakfast was included, otherwise I would've though 14chf per person was a ripoff. The staff was not very helpful. We wanted some recommendations of places to eat, tips on buses to sion, etc and they didn't really help much. The other frustrating part was a lot of the staff didn't speak any English. I understand we are visiting their country but this is a large vacation spot where people from all over the world come to ski and I would think it would be obvious that the hotel staff that are helping customers could speak some English. There are not a lot of options, I get it, so just be aware of these things when you book this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Janejk24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews