We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant family break”

Review of Tidal lodge

TIDAL LODGE
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
TIDAL LODGE
EATING AREA
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
TIDAL LODGE
EATING AREA
LOUNGE
OPEN PLAN
FRONT DOOR
KITCHEN
MASTER BEDROOM
Sea View from Master Bedroom Window
UPSTAIRS TWIN BEDROOM
UPSTAIRS TWIN  BEDROOM
UPSTAIRS BATHROOM AND SHOWER INC
Peace and Quiet
DOWNSTAIRS FRONT BEDROOM
DOWNSTAIRS DOUBLE BED
DOWNSTAIRS SHOWER ROOM
BACK GARDEN
Beach with Pier View
WALTON...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Walton-on-the-Naze, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Keith W
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful house but spoit by small details.”
Reviewed 14 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Location is great, so close to the beach and short walk to Walton with cafe's and shops. The house is lovely, very spacious and we enjoyed the open plan living.
Spoiled for us as on the first night couldn't get one of the travel cots to open properly. Did call the owner and also the person who looks after the house as the owner lives in London. No one was able to help so the cot stayed half put up for the rest of our stay as no one bothered to ask if we had sorted it. The high chair was broken which meant a few times the toddlers food went flying. The kettle was broke in the kitchen and looked very used. Towards the end of the stay the bulb went in the upstairs bathroom where we bathed the kids. Text the guy who looks after the house but didn't even bother replying so we just put up with it. Not having a washing machine was a pain but we were aware of that before arriving. The garden is spacious but not looked after. The grass needed cutting, garden furniture was dirty. We are not fussy by any means but just don't expect things to be faulty in a house aimed at families. Noted that is available for stag and hen weekend so maybe more geared for that.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2018
Sorry you seem to have found so many critisms of the house, this is the first time we have had feed back on this level. Very surprised you mention kettle as my family were down the house just this weekend gone and did not encounter these issues at all. We noticed garden chairs were in need of changing so have done so now, and grass IS kept cut and tidy, but depending on weather and limiting hours between changeover days there will be times when grass is not as short as other times.

We do have a housekeeper but not a handy man on call out ,ready to change bulbs and put up Travel cots at a moments notice.We have had no trouble with the cots before ect.
I will ask the housekeeper to look at things more closely in the future.
Thankyou
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feeling_p...
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Brilliant family break”
Reviewed 27 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

I booked Tidal Lodge for a birthday break for my mum and we had family ranging from grandparents to toddlers. For ten people there was ample space and the whole family loved the place! The open plan is ideal when cooking together And socialising and layout worked well. Bathrooms very modern and great facilities. Recommended already to a family friend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2018
Many thanks for your great review.
I am glad you all had a great time in Tidal Lodge in Walton.
Hope you will stay again.
Many thanks.
Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie1201...
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great break lovely and quiet”
Reviewed 20 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

nice and large for the family beach 2 mins away very pleased with our stay and the owner was very helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoopPeter...
Peterborough
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fabulous house in great location”
Reviewed 20 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This house and Walton on the Naze were a very pleasant surprise. The house is spacious and clean. Lovely bedrooms and spotless bathrooms. Enormous table in garden room/conservatory. It is completely open plan which I hadn’t deduced from the photos but it suited us very well. Good wifi. The location is amazing, just steps from the sea, you can wander down with a cup of tea or a glass of wine and take in the views. The town is just the right distance away to stretch your legs and has everything you need. The pier is half a mile long and gives great views back to the town. Try the famous Pie & Mash shop, it is such a slick operation you need allow no more than 15 minutes! A longer walk to Frinton is worthwhile and it is so picturesque you hardly realise how much ground you’re covering as you pass endless colourful beach huts and the award winning beach. In the other direction from the house (about 10 minutes walk) is the Naze Tower which is good value as it is full of arts and crafts as well as having great views. The walks around the Naze were our favourite part of the holiday. Full of history and interest for all ages. The kids loved the pill boxes, fossils and hunting for sharks teeth. Easily enough to fill a week without going further afield. The Naze information centre is particularly good and has activities for all ages. We made willow lanterns and went on a Halloween evening walk in a group. We saw other groups in the day setting off on fossil hunts. A well organised place. Kids should not miss the inflatable assault course at the leisure centre. This is also within walking distance, in fact none of us even opened our cars from one Saturday to the next. Walton seems to be very undersold, we had no idea it would be so beautiful. The people were amazingly friendly and loved to talk! A great holiday in a splendid house in what is now, one of our favourite towns. We love you Essex! The owner Michael is very pleasant and super helpful. Deposit was refunded very quickly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2016
Many Thanks for your great review on Walton On The NAZE and Tidal Lodge. I am glad you all had a great time there.
We hope to hear from you again soon.
Thankyou Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jananngri
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 2 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

A great place to stay with our group,facilities very good, lots of space. However, as some had physical disabilities the shower and entrance to the house caused some accessibility issues.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2016
Thankyou for your great review on our house.
Sorry about any issues you had about the space in entrance ECT ,but the house was not built with the Disabled in mind particularly.But hope it wasn't to hard to get in and out of the house.I hope to see you back very soon. Many thanks. Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing