We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect for a rustic stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pension Gimmelwald

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Gimmelwald
Ranked #2 of 3 Gimmelwald B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Perfect for a rustic stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

We loved our 4 night stay at the pension Gimmelwald. The staff was fantastic, friendly and helpful with traveling and with hikes. LOVED that they had a guitar hanging on the wall for anyone to play. LOVED the patio with the view of the alps and the alpenglow sunsets. Only downside was that the wifi was not very good wherever you were, and our beds were not the most comfortable we've slept on. But hey, you're in the mountains, what can you expect. The food there was spectacular! Great job Chef Phil!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mro888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    35
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
17
52
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

What a breathtaking view! Pension Gimmelwald is strategically located fronting the snowcap mountain. And its just few minutes from the cablecar.

The place is neat. The comfort room and our room is so tidy. And they have this most comfortable part of the pension house, its the couch outside facing the mountain. Love to have coffee there and some great talks. Everyday the mountain looks different.

Service is good too. And the price is just right. My insomnia was totally gone because Gimmelwald never knew insomnia as well as the room we stayed.

I definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: Pension Gimmelwald is right beside the Honesty shop and I think its the only shop in Gimmelwald...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dysanregidor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

We went into this trip not really having high expectations but were blown away by the experience we had here at Pension Gimmelwald. It was by no means a high end hotel but it was everything anyone would need. We had a clean comfortable room and this was the first time we had to "share" a bathroom and it was a good experience. The staff was very nice and very very helpful and had time to talk to us and tell us more about the hotel and themselves. The food was wonderful too!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tricia071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

We felt like we were staying in a creaky old summer-camp cabin, and we enjoyed every minute of it. The carpet is threadbare, the furniture is tired, and the shared bathrooms are simply functional, but that's all part of the charm. You're in Gimmelwald to live simply, and that's what you get at the Pension. The views are mind-blowing, and surprisingly, the food at the Pension's restaurant was excellent too. Just make sure you confirm your reservation a few days before you arrive - they had lost ours, but still had a room available.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chunkymonkeydaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

We traveled to Switzerland with aspirations to find Swiss culture. We found Gimmelwald and thought it would be a wonderful place to stay in the Swiss Alps. Pension Gimmelwald is a clean and cozy place, wonderful staff, but our expectations were to experience traditional Swiss culture. The hotel is owned by a great English couple, but were we’re looking for more of a Swiss culture. I was surprised to find that everyone we met was from the U.S. ... Really! It's a great place to hike in the Swiss Alps, I just wish they had kept the culture. The only reason I give a recommendation is the staff. They were fun! PS. Don't go to the hostle!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katz67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gimmelwald
1.9 km away
Hotel Eiger
Hotel Eiger
#1 of 11 in Murren
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
2.0 km away
Eiger Guesthouse
Eiger Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Alpina
Hotel Alpina
#4 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#5 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
1.3 km away
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
Chalet Hotel Alpenruh
#6 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Jungfrau
Hotel Jungfrau
#9 of 11 in Murren
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Gimmelwald? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Gimmelwald

Property: Pension Gimmelwald
Address: Gimmelwald CH-3826, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Gimmelwald
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gimmelwald
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Pension Gimmelwald Hotel Gimmelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing