We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always worth a visit.”

Logan Botanic Garden
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: At the south-western tip of Scotland lies Logan, the country's 'most exotic garden'. Warmed by the Gulf Stream, southern hemisphere plants flourish in this plantsman's paradise near Port Logan in Dumfries & Galloway. Part of the Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh. Open on Sundays in February then 1st March until 14th November 10.00am - 5.00pm.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a fairly compact but very well run botanical garden with a great diversity of exhibits and academic connections in Edinburgh. Nice cafe too.

Thank Steven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte W, on behalf of the Curator at Logan Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Steven,
We are delighted to see your 5 star review and thank you for reviewing our attraction. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"walled garden"
in 35 reviews
"gulf stream"
in 24 reviews
"unusual plants"
in 18 reviews
"friendly staff"
in 19 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 26 reviews
"wonderful garden"
in 10 reviews
"few hours"
in 9 reviews
"eucalyptus trees"
in 9 reviews
"full bloom"
in 9 reviews
"southern hemisphere"
in 9 reviews
"salad"
in 7 reviews
"different areas"
in 7 reviews
"wide variety"
in 6 reviews
"home baking"
in 6 reviews
"new zealand"
in 6 reviews
"cakes"
in 8 reviews
"nice cafe"
in 5 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great place to visit for spending a day wandering around the various displays. Best done on a good dry day for all the outside displays. Relax when ready in the shop and cafe

1  Thank kenrbrown1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte W, on behalf of the Curator at Logan Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear kenrbrown1948,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review following your recent visit to Logan Botanic Garden. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

This is a gem of a garden even in February with unusual plants and shrubs. We went to see the snowdrops but were impressed by the diversity of plants. Even saw a red squirrel!
The tea room is has great cakes and a superb hot chocolate, served by some very friendly ladies who won awards for the homemade food, hospitality and service.

1  Thank dmdesignandprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte W, On behalf of the Curator at Logan Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear dmdesignandprint,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit to Logan. We are delighted to read how you found the garden great to visit, even in the winter months. We have a great team of gardeners who work all year round looking after the many plants so it is lovely to read your positive feedback. We will also pass on your great feedback to the staff in the tea room and we hope you will visit again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

Last time I visited, I was appalled to witness their horrible treatment of a lady with a severely disabled young chap in a wheelchair, and a little, well-behaved dog on a lead who was before me at the entrance.
She was told dogs are not allowed in, and when she asked if they could even go into the cafe and at least have some refreshment, having had to drive to the gardens, she was told "no". It was much too hot to leave the dog in the car.
When she protested (very, very politely, and at great pains to say she was not trying to get at the lady on the door) and asked that her protest be relayed to whoever was in charge of the gardens she was told abruptly that "she was free to write in and complain to the Curator, and did she want the address".
I have to say I was shocked at the lack of compassion shown to someone who had enough to be dealing with without having to write letters of complaint, and saddened by this stain on Scots hospitality.
I suggested then that this approach seemed to me very short-sighted, and asked why she couldn't at least go into the cafe, to be told "we don't let just anyone in because then when the members come and can't get a seat they would complain."
Then I was asked if I wanted to become a member! Needless to say, I declined the opportunity.
And left without visiting the gardens too. I suggest the best thing would be if people give this flint-hearted attraction a body swerve, and then the members can have all their seats to themselves.
Quite obvious too that this is no fault of the staff member at the door, since they have just answered my complaint accusing me and/or the lady with the wheelchair-bound companion of wanting into their Gardens free! Which wasn't true, both she & I had come fully intending to pay. Obvious that the staff member was following policy and training, which apparently include neither kindness nor compassion, and high time Logan took a close look at themselves.
Shame on you Logan. A little kindness goes a long way.

1  Thank petowner2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte W, on behalf of the Curator at Logan Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear petowner,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review although naturally we are disappointed with your rating, considering you didn't go into the attraction.

As a Botanic Garden, dogs are not allowed in for many reasons, as is the same in most Botanic Gardens. Even though a dog may be small, well behaved and on a lead it is still a dog and therefore not allowed in the Garden. Our policy is well advertised on our website and at the entrance to the garden. We have shaded parking which many people do use.

The Bistro is within the garden, part of the garden and for garden visitors. As you say you and the lady in front of you were willing to pay. If you had have paid to enter the garden you could have used the bistro. No one refused entry to any person but we are unable to allow entry to dogs.

We are surprised at your comments about the show staff. Looking through previous reviews many people comment on how friendly helpful they are. all staff undergo training in customer care. However, it can be challenging when people try to bring dogs in and believe the entry restrictions don't apply to them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

Cycled here on a gorgeous day in July 2017. First stop was the visitor reception/shop. The young lass behind the desk was very welcoming and helpful as she pointed us in right direction with the visitors map. Despite the shop being busy, she even took the time to offer to keep our helmets and jackets aside for us whilst we visited, a kindness we were very grateful for given the warmth of the day!

Into the garden we headed armed with our map and we were not disappointed. In many of the colourful flower beds we were reminded of other holidays in warmer climes. Peaceful fish pond, glasshouse, and Australisian jungle platform all lovely features to enjoy. We were there most of the day and we didn't make it round everything.

As it was fairly busy we only had a quick stop in the cafe for a coffee and scone (which were delicious). Again, the staff were all very friendly as they sorted our to-go order. The facilities were very clean too.

Overall, we would highly recommend a visit if you happen to be in the area. We had a lovely day out and will definely be returning this year!

1  Thank EJDales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte W, other at Logan Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Dear EJDales,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review. We were delighted to read it and so pleased to hear you had a great day at Logan Botanic Garden. It is good to read that you found the staff helpful, the garden peaceful and the food in the Bistro delicious. We are open on Sundays in February for the Snowdrop Festival and then open for the new season on 1 March 2018. We look forward to welcoming you back this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Logan Botanic Garden also viewed

Stranraer, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Mull of Galloway, Dumfries and Galloway
Dunragit, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Logan Botanic Garden? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing