We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (759)
Filter reviews
759 results
Traveller rating
391
137
110
77
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
391
137
110
77
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view food was amazing swimming pool superior room steam room wedding venue exclusive use restaurant manager wedding breakfast a la carte menu daughters wedding roof terrace bar menu amazing views lounge area staff were really friendly stunning location
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 759 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2018

Been camping, the first week in Cornwall & the second week in Devon. Although Cornwall is beautiful, every day when we were visiting places we spent hours stuck in traffic which was very frustrating, whereas in North Devon traffic flows a lot easier with no queues & some of the most stunning beaches we’ve seen anywhere in the world. We camped very close to this hotel and actually had lunch in there one day, while having lunch we enquired to see if they had any vacancies for the last day of our holiday. The receptionist was very accommodating & let us have a special offer & we only had to pay for breakfast for our children, they stayed for free. We had to leave the campsite quite early in the morning but they let us have our room early as it was ready. The kids loved using the swimming pool and we enjoyed the sauna, the food was excellent & we found all the staff very helpful. There is a beach right next to the hotel called Broadsands, it is stunning but has a lot of steps down to it.....So I think it is definitely Devon that gets our vote & we’ll definitely go back to this hotel again.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank samburnett8891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

We stayed in a room on the top floor with a balcony and brilliant sea view. Firstly we were told by the receptionist that was not a lift, and our room was up 2 flights of stairs. The room was quite small as was the bathroom. Very small hand basin and narrow bath with shower over. The first flight of stairs was very old and steep with very small treads. The room and bathroom were very clean, but the bed was like trying to sleep on board. New beds are a priority in my view.
Meals were very long in the waiting but, were delicious when they arrived at the table. I would say although most of the staff were pleasant enough but, certainly lacked training. They greeted us with the phrase Hi Guys, well, as we are both in our 70s I think that might go down ok with younger guests. Most didn't have much personality, but I think that was down to lack of training. All our evening meals took at least 45-55 minutes to come out of the kitchen.

Stayed: August 2018
3  Thank N8440PDBarbaraS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for a week in high season and was very impressed with the level of friendliness from the staff they are a credit to the hotel. Fantastic views and great walks from hotel. Comfortable beds and spacious room. Lovely swimming pool and sauna steam room. Terrace is a great place for an evening meal or drink. Looks like a great wedding venue. All the food ingredients are top notch and you may wait a little for the food as it’s all cooked to order.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CommanderBiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

This hotel has an amazing view and it is particular stunning in the recent hot weather. It has several nice terraces and other areas to eat your breakfast and admire the view or simply have a drink or coffee.
However the rest is quite average especially when you look at the room rates.
In addition our room was not in main hotel but across the road and was quite poor really. Shower made a noise, shower drain was blocked, drawers were broken, kettle was faulty and we had a ‘lovely’ view of a car park/ builders yard. It was not clear on booking that there rooms were so significantly inferior to the main hotel ones. In addition it was very noisy - you could very clearly hear the adjoining room including shower running and people having a wee!! It did not feel very private. The room was certainly over priced for what it was and we were quite disappointed - however I don’t know what the rooms were like in the main hotel. The hotel did say that that the rooms across the road are only booked out by the hotel but they need to take responsibility for the rooms and how it reflects on the Sandy Cove.

Also other facilities were not as good as I expected. Pool and sauna etc did not open till 9:30 (although usually open by 9:10-15) which did not really leave much if anytime to have a swim or sauna before breakfast which stopped at 10. Also for our whole stay the steam room had a very funky aroma and clearly needed a clean. Bar even closed early.

Overall we were quite disappointed - both by our room and the facilities. I feel the hotel is living off its view.

Stayed: August 2018
2  Thank BerniBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018

After having to request a number of things a number of times to get what you wanted I was left witht the feeling that the hotel wasn't that interested in it's customers. The room had not been cleaned well and there was a brown mark on the towel. The view was amazing and room was nice.

Stayed: July 2018
2  Thank HanahM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews