We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing weekend! Superb place to stay.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berrynarbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Smythen Farm Holiday Cottages
Reviewed 28 February 2016

Just perfect! We are a party of nine with five children five and under and we couldn't have asked for more. The swimming pool was wonderful - lovely and warm and private, and outside an amazing trampoline and games room - you wouldn't need to go offsite! Glad we did though - lovely area to explore, really close to the beaches like Woolacombe. The hosts were very friendly and around for help, but also left us alone to enjoy ourselves. We would all love to come again and will be recommending to family and friends. Thanks so much - we feel really relaxed now!

Room Tip: Meadowsweet Cottage was lovely x
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank familyholiday605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill_carless, Owner at Smythen Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2016

I am so please that you feel relaxed after your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2015 via mobile

We had a relaxing and fun week in Meadowsweet cottage. All the family enjoyed it from age 5 to 70

The cottage, pool and hot tub were lovely and warm

A quiet location and loads to do in the surrounding area with family attractions, the coast and national trust places.

Amazing UK holiday :-)

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank bell_chops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill_carless, Owner at Smythen Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2016

Really please that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the local area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

We stayed in Buttercup Cottage and we were delighted with the very comfortable accommodation. We had our daughter and 18 month old grandson with us so the swimming pool and the farm animals added to the enjoyment of our stay.
This was our first visit to Smythen Farm Cottages but it will definitely not be our last. The location is perfect as all the beautiful North Devon beaches are no more than a 20 minute drive away. Highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill_carless, Owner at Smythen Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2016

We are so pleased that yo had a great time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2015

This was our first time at Smythen Farm Holiday Cottages, and our benchmark is probably high having stayed in some award winning Farm stay accommodation in Cornwall (although with a higher price I must add). The location is fantastic for a family holiday with young children; really close to great beaches and attractions such as Watermouth Castle, Coombe Martin Dinosaur Park and the BIG sheep. The cottage itself was comfortable and well equipped and a washing machine was a huge bonus. On site the pool was very warm and difficult to get the children out of! The trampoline was a hit but we felt the play area could be further developed. The indoor games room would suit older children and is a new development. We didn't take advantage of the pony rides (couldn't get the kids out of the pool in time). The owner, Bill, was very friendly and helpful. As I say our point of comparison sets a very high standard, hence my 'very good' rating for this review, but I can definitely see the potential and the investment the owners are making is obvious.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Esyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bill_carless, Owner at Smythen Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2016

Many tanks for review and we are constantly trying to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

6th year now and every year we are amazed to find Bill and Kathryn ( owners ) continue to invest heavily in the farm. ( 6th yr due to our 3 autistic children loving the place & talking about going from the start of the school hols ..see last yrs review )
This yr the indoor pool has had a major refurbishment. .it now has an adjoining hot tub & toddler splash pool & an indoor shower & changing area. We found this great for a swim at the end of the day with the kids then showered & all ready for bed.
A new biomass boiler means that the pool and hot tub are always lovely & warm and the cottages will be warmer in the winter Bill assures me.
A new purpose built games room also allows you to occupy the kids in the evening while you hopefully sit on the decking outside on a balmy summers evening.
Overall another enjoyable hol...it did rain a lot on our week...but we found things to do at the nearby and improved dinosaur / wildlife park, fishing for crabs in the rock pools at Coombe Martin, visit to the steam train at Woody Bay..etc.
Think we will be back again in 2016.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Colin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berrynarbor hotels
2.8 km away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
658 reviews
2 km away
Langleigh Guest House
Langleigh Guest House
#1 of 3 in Berrynarbor
228 reviews
3.3 km away
Watermouth Lodges
Watermouth Lodges
#5 of 8 in Berrynarbor
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Sawmills Freehouse
Sawmills Freehouse
#2 of 3 in Berrynarbor
170 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Smythen Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smythen Farm Holiday Cottages

Address: Sterridge Valley, Berrynarbor, Ilfracombe EX34 9TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Ilfracombe > Berrynarbor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Berrynarbor
Price Range: ₹ 7,700 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smythen Farm Holiday Cottages provides the ideal base for a luxury self catering holiday in North Devon. Located between Ilfracombe and Combe Martin, with stunning views of the North Devon Coast, we are perfectly placed for all the attractions that North Devon has to offer and close to the sandy beaches of Woolacombe, Croyde, Putsborough , Saunton and Braunton as well as being on fringe of Exmoor. Ideal for a family, walking holiday or relaxing break. On site facilities include, heated in door swimming pool, game room, free children's pony rides and WiFi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing