We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“TOP RATE ACCOMODATION”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old School
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old School
Converted Primary School The Old School
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
The Old School
Converted Primary School
The Old School
Sitting Area with Open Fire
Spiral Staircase
Kitchen Area
Master with Kingsize bed and en suite bathroom
Double with Double bed with en suite bathroom
Double with 2 single beds plus en suite
The back garden and view
View from back garden
View from the back garden
Local Visitor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Brechin, Angus, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
laticslad...
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“TOP RATE ACCOMODATION”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely cottage with a high standard of decor.I could not fault it.Probably the best self catering cottage I have stayed in over the last 20 years.Friendly helpful owners who even baked a cake for our arrival.Would definitely stay there again.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and that the weather was almost kind to you, it would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catrmac
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty Perfect”
Reviewed 29 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This house is just beautiful! It really has it all - especially if the sun shines!
The house is a stunning conversion from an old school house. Each bedroom has its own ensuite AND another bathroom downstairs. Everything is just so clean and new looking but I know its been up and running for at least a few years. The lower floor is an open space with a fab lounge area, a dinning area and then a superb kitchen. I wish my house looked like this! Over all excellent facilities, a garden shed with lovely outdoor furniture, a BBQ (;o)) and even bikes to go out on or even just around the massive beautifully kept lawn! The owners are extremely friendly, helpful and even bake you a yummy coffee cake on arrival! Thank you Nick and your lovely wife for a wonderful stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2015
It was a great pleasure to have you and you friends to stay, and I am very glad that you had a glimpse of the sun during your stay and were able to make some use of the garden furniture if not the BBQ. Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A-Wood201...
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Fantastic place for any length of stay”
Reviewed 16 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Myself and some colleagues stayed at the Old School for over a week, and we do not have a single complaint. Nick and his wife were extremely welcoming, the house itself is modern, clean and very spacious and the beds are really comfy.

There's a large garden with nice views, ample space for parking and it's easily accessible from the main road - although you feel like you're in the middle of the countryside.

All in all a great stay and would highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness and space
Liked least: Internet signal wasn't always great, but it wasn't a bit issue.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2015
Hi Alison, Both Fiona and I were delighted that you and your team enjoyed your stay at the Old School, Careston.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gtoneeye
Gretna Green, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“the cottaged will never be bettered”
Reviewed 25 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

we as a group spent three days at the old school and as bowlers we travel all over the country and we have stayed in many cottages but this one will never be bettered comfortable homely well equipped warm

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2015
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future if you are competing in this area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piggywigg
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderfully equipped and comfortable cottage!”
Reviewed 9 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our long weekend here. Nick and Fiona (owners) couldn't have done enough for us...including fresh flowers and a delicious chocolate cake on arrival!

The cottage is equipped to a very high standard with really comfy beds and en-suites for all rooms.

We'll definitely be back!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing